Create a problem, sell the solution.

in Hive Learnerslast year

I’m not sure if you’ve heard this very often, but if you’re on the marketing side of social media often, you would’ve come across it sometime. This is basically a marketing strategy that involves companies deliberately creating problems with perfectly working gadgets, and selling customers the solution.

You see, a business is a representation of a customer’s needs. And a customer’s needs are his problems. So great businesses thrive from identifying problems and selling the solutions to these problems. But why wait to identify a problem when you can just create it yourself and sell the solution back to a bunch of people who will buy anything you make?

Two Tech giants have been known to use this marketing strategy, and it seems to be working pretty well for them. These two are Apple, and Samsung. These two also happen to be my favorite mobile phone brands!


Claims of Apple Implementing this marketing strategy

A lot of people say that this is apple’s motto and if you look at it properly, it makes a little sense. Apple mostly will first release a perfectly working phone with everything intact, and for the subsequent generations that are supposed to be upgrades, they remove a bit of the essential features or components.


Image from pexels

Take the issue with chargers for example, why in 7 hells will you sell customers phones without charging adapters? But it doesn’t just end there.

There’s also been the issue of removing normal headphone jacks and replacing them with lightning-port ones. This has caused complications for iPhone users who wanted to upgrade above the iPhone 6. But as Loyal and addicted apple fans, we will do anything (or buy anything lol) to get the new iPhone. So what did apple do? Well, quiet a simple thing. They started selling us normal headphone-lightning(charger/headphone)port OTGs so that you can still use your old headphones with your iPhone 7 and later. And they’re absolutely cheap, going for just $40. Isn’t that wonderful?

Image from pexels

Oh and the same OTG also fixed the issue of not being apple to charge your phone whiles using headphones on your iPhone. Awesome right? Except it actually isn’t. You wouldn’t have had to buy these OTGs in the first place of apple never removed the normal headphone jacks on the later iPhones in the first place.

Image from pexels

Should I also mention how after getting rid of the home button on the latest generation iPhones, apple has made an external home made button(which is also OTG).

So apple basically does these small adjustments to remove features that are appealing to a certain group of their customers(creating a problem) and selling them the solution at a very “decent” price. Sp you buy an iPhone 13 which already costs a fortune and a headphone-lightning OTG if you want to use your old headphones. Although, this doesn’t seem very realistic, as people that buy the iPhone 13 most likely will not want to use the old headphones in the first place. Maybe apple just went “well if you can afford an iPhone 13, you damn well can afford some lightning headphones or better yet, and air pod.

Maybe pretty soon in the next iPhone release, apple might just remove the lightning port as well, and as us to use wireless chargers(which they’ll be glad to sell us).


Claims of Samsung Implementing this marketing strategy

But this is not only limited to apple, as some people even claimed Samsung did the same thing with the early S series phones- the galaxy s3, s4, s5, s6 & s7. Some people claimed that Samsung deliberately made those phones with a poor battery life so that customers will have no options than to either upgrade to better ones or keep changing batteries.

Image from pexels


Disclaimer: I say claims because there is no 100% certainty that this is actually what is happening. That Apple and Samsung are actually creating problems and seeking solutions. This is just how I see things.

Some people could argue for example that apple removed the old headphone jacks because they saw that the world was moving away from normal headphones to a future of lightning and type C headphones as well as wireless headphone mobile devices.


The talk about creating a problem and selling the solution reminds me of a bilogical case of the scenario. A symbiotic relationship between the tongue eating louse (cymothoa exigua) and fish. Maybe I should go nerdy in my next post and talk about this. It’s a disgustingly interesting relationship.


Who Authored This Post?


Designed by me in canva

I am @depressedfuckup. The story behind my weird username is in my intro post if you have the time to read. I am a newbie and a content creator on Hive and a Biochemistry student outside of Hive. I write about my present, generally things going on with or around me. Please give this article an upvote and a reblog if you liked the content and leave a comment if you have something to say about it. Thanks for visiting my blog, have a great day!

Browse & Earn With Presearch

sharingimage.png

Sort:  
 last year  

Very interesting topic, the truth is in most aspect of business, this is strategy that is used, what is a world without solution anyway if there was no problem.

 last year (edited) 

Tell me about it. The one that pisses me off with their chargers(both companies). When an iPhone 8 down to iPhone 6 user uses a type C charger to charge his phone he wouldn’t wanna go back to his normal charger.

The normal charger takes probably like 3 hours to charge from 0 to 100. Type C takes less than 40 minutes to get to 80 per cent. Which would you choose?

For Samsung, it's the same thing, when you use their regular phones that comes with a type A charger you will be annoyed. It takes more than 4 hours to get to full charge. My brother was using an A21s recently and it took less than 2 hours to get to 100. However, it was using a type C.

So each year I wonder why they can't put all those upgrades and sell a very good phone to the loyal customers.

One other thing I hate about the iPhone is its notch. When people asked them to remove it they claimed the sensors for the face id will have nowhere to go, but after 4 to 5 years they have reduced drastically 😂.

Can we blame them, if we always want to use the “latest”

That’s the thing. Why give you you everything together when they can sell you everything else aside the phone? That just means more money to them.

Me, I don’t think I’ve charged my phone with the old lightning chargers since I bought this phone. I even feel like the old chargers will spoil my battery kraa lol.

The smaller notch is one of the only newer attractive features of this newer iPhones that some people might want to upgrade for. Everything else is almost the same.

 last year  

😂Everything else is the same bro. If you want to have similar features why not just update your software? But anyway am not one of those people to change phones when the one I have is fine.

!ALIVE | !BBH | !PGM

@depressedfuckup! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @vocup. (3/5)

@depressedfuckup! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @vocup. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @vocup

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Disclaimer: I say claims because there is no 100% certainty that this is actually what is happening. That Apple and Samsung are actually creating problems and seeking solutions. This is just how I see things.

Sounds weird but true..

You think?

Yeah very true...same way there needs to be a virus before an anti-virus can be relevant......If there are no problems , then solutions will not be needed..

Facts. Except viruses are not deliberately created to feed the need for an antivirus. At least not that I know of or have heard of.

Marketing is about psychology and these two companies are very good at it (especially Apple). It's how they continue to create new revenue streams for themselves. Instead of selling the whole package. They'll split it and sell it seperately, explaining to you how it all fits together.

And we buy it always. Once we get hooked, we get hooked!

This is the best way to put it. Lol at this point, we’re Apple junkies getting our kick from the thought of owning the latest device.

Take the issue with chargers for example, why in 7 hells will you sell customers phones without charging adapters? But it doesn’t just end there.

Lol it can be very annoying, they expect people to spend extra money to get charging adapters...

Exactly. With an excuse is that they trying to meet their environmental goals. Bullshit.

They also even had the balls to assume we have a charging adapter already. What if I’m not an iPhone owner already? Like…

 last year  

Hmmmm you are very correct my friend lolz 😂🤣🤣 you have indeed observe a huge deal of what is happening in the iphone and samsung world lolz 😂🤣...

That is marketing strategy for you, even as we know about it. There is nothing we can do than to accept it the way it is lolz 😂🤣, you can't go the apple to complain of their gadgets same as Samsung too...

These phone makers are feeding on our ignorance m, removing little of every phone features nd adding it to another series and telling us it is an upgraded version lolz 😂.

I enjoyed reading your post friend 💕💕 well done...I love both gadget too lolz 😂🤣🤣..

Haha Apple and Samsung are good at what they do. Both with the gadgets design and the marketing. They show you what you’re missing out on(which is your problem) and sell you the product(the solution).

 last year  

Heheh 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 well done bro.

 last year  

Well, at the end of the day, we will still buy so they just find the tiniest reason.
Look at this iPhone 14, I don’t see why it was necessary for it to be created cause there isn’t any significant difference with the 13. But people will buy just to say they own one

I say this thing all the time. Apple basically sells us the same phone with a few tweaks for several generations. The iPhone X and it’s series(Xr, Xs, Xs Max) the 11(11, 11 pro, 11 promax). It’s not that people don’t know this oo, but we still buy in the name of having the latest device. And some people that don’t even really need to upgrade will upgrade too even though they clearly have no use for it. It‘ll be understandable to see a youtube want to upgrade from the 11 to 13 for maybe a better camera, because they need it.

The majority of the iPhone user population here is just for clout. Smh.

 last year  

Like me😂😂😂
I have the phone and I don’t take any pictures

People keep asking why I have an iPhone if I don’t take pictures with it

Lol me, I take pictures, but only ones I need for Hive. I don’t know how to take pictures for my own, like the ones people post on Snap and others. Lol my snap is not even active.

 last year  

My snap is active but I’m just there for memes. I’ve never posted anything

I don’t want to use snap for memes because e everyone will always get notifications of me screenshotting. I’m a serial screenshotter.😂😂😂

 last year  

Yeah
I stopped taking screenshots when I found out about that
Now I just view and pass

 last year  

If there's no problem, there's no way they'll sell their products.. That's just the strategic way of creating a successful business.