You can be a christian lady and still be sexy! Do you agree?

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Two days ago, a friend put up a question on her WhatsApp status that caused a stir. She said a lady can be a good christian and still flirt and be sexy, do you agree? Matured minds only.

png_20220925_170357_0000.png

I didn't say anything about it and even if I was to answer, I won't say anything about the flirting aspect. I read some people's opinion on the issue and one person said it's sinful, it's for prostitutes etc. I want to give my own opinion here so that all the ladies and wise men on Hive can give their take too.

First, I want to say that before one hops into an argument or conversation, please use the dictionary! A lot of us spill things from our mouth and leave people wondering if we're sick in the head or something. What does sexy mean? Merriam-Webster dictionary provides us with two meanings as seen below.

Screenshot_20220925-152008_1.jpg

A screenshot of my dictionary

It's important for someone to always refer to what definition of a particular word they're advocating for or speaking against whenever they're sharing their opinions. I'll be going with the definition that says "generally attractive or interesting". I agree that a christian lady should be sexy, it's a must.

By saying generally attractive I believe this means attractive everywhere. A lady should be a christian and have a sexy lifestyle, sexy mind, sexy outlook too, yes! Some ladies under the guise of being a Christian have enslaved themselves to being rigid and totally unappealing. Having zero knowledge about matters pertaining to sex, relationship with opposite sex and dressing.

Being a christian in my opinion doesn't in any way hinder a lady from being attractive. Have a fair knowledge about things (when I say have a fair knowledge I mean through reading, interacting with others and not necessarily practical). Learn proper dress codes for different occasions. Take care of your physical appearance, maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Let me address sexy in terms of physical appearance.

There's a thin line between being attractively dressed and being indecently dressed. A christian lady can be attractively dressed without exposing sensitive body parts. It mustn't be big gowns every time, baggy shirts and flowing skirts, you don't have to wrap your hair always to prove you're godly, a christian or decent. You can be decent and dress fashionably.

Someone even questioned if it's right for Christian ladies to put on tight dresses. In my opinion it's okay to put on shapey clothes but when a dress is too tight and outlining, one may tend to give a different impression.

Style your clothes, have a mixture of different clothings, short, long, shapey, free etc. Learn about how to combine colours, take care of your physical appearance. Wear your makeup with moderation. It's a life you're meant to live, not a prison or cage. Be all round attractive!

Looking forward to reading your opinions on this. Look out for interesting topics like this from me every Sunday. I want to be interacting with you all on issues pertaining to relationships. Below's last week's topic in case you're interested.

Chemistry and Compatabilty

I'm respectfully tagging @princessbusayo @nkemakonam89 @zellypearl @iskafan @deraaa @merit.ahama @hopestylist @eunice9200 @goodysam and @otuyanancy to share their honest opinion. It's okay to ignore the post if you do not wish to talk about it.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPMwLPSgJrzpSanWGRBEmzPXu259pni6F5vB72XSPdRUwVDMgiZTbctgQhxe7phsL9NRnjqRxgZQquRoArgfqXSraYyy5ddTmMmE6WT95262.jpeg

Sort:  

I would have said the same thing so you've said it all. 🤗🥰🙌

 2 years ago  

Alright dear, thank you for being here regardless ❤️

You are welcome.

 2 years ago  

Screenshot_20220926-052414.png


Oh, girlie.
I think before now, you must have known I don't seem to fancy being called Sexy.

There is my dictionary meaning of the word sexy. To me, it's a slap in the face if one calls me sexy. Anything but not sexy, the word doesn't settle well with me. I mean we have so many words to appreciate or compliment a lady's look so why choose sexy and make it sound like you are only finding them sexually attractive?
It's a big No for me.
And yes you are right on the point that one doesn't always have to dress in oversized dresses and all just because you are a Christian sister or brother.

We have to look good while maintaining our decency and modeling for Christ. The exposing dresses thing is not for the weak 😂(kidding though) but another big No for me.
However, because one is a Christian brother or sister is not a license to look like something fashioned against someone.
Looking good is also a kingdom principle, you don't have to come and shame God's name all in the name of being a Christian.

Dressing well, and looking good is a real deal😌

 2 years ago (edited) 

Decency and modesty is key and should be the center of it all. However, as important as they are, it is equally imperative for people (not just ladies) present themselves appealing, rather than appalling (see what I did there?) in order to actually be Christ ambassadors.

It does not make sense to make people think that God does not like beauty. Even He, when he was creating the world, "...saw that it was good." We all should represent the Kingdom of God well. We do this by being attractive too.

 2 years ago  

I see what you did there my brother 😂😉😊

Our God made all things beautiful jare so it wouldn't be fair if the creatures act otherwise.
We are beautifully made by our creator.
And yes decency and modesty should be our major focus while portraying that we are God's beautiful creation

 2 years ago  

Oh, girlie.
I think before now, you must have known I don't seem to fancy being called Sexy.

Here we go😂😂😂😂😂😂

There is my dictionary meaning of the word sexy. To me, it's a slap in the face if one calls me sexy. Anything but not sexy, the word doesn't settle well with me. I mean we have so many words to appreciate or compliment a lady's look so why choose sexy and make it sound like you are only finding them sexually attractive?
It's a big No for me.

I know this dear. I don't like it either. Of course you see how I am really always trying to avoid really shapey clothes😂 something happened to me once. I wore a red colour gown and it was a bit above my knee, it was a corporate dress though. I stopped by the Market after work and someone ended up flirting with me and tried to touch me. I was so mad and I think that was the last time I wore that gown or the colour red too😂😂

I understand your point dear. Plus I already know how you can be when it comes to this matters. Even if someone might be saying it in terms of my dictionary's meaning, you'll not buy it😂😂😂 Everybody is a suspect. I will give them synonyms, don't worry.😁

However, because one is a Christian brother or sister is not a license to look like something fashioned against someone.

Loud it!!! 🔊🔊🔊🔊

Looking good is also a kingdom principle, you don't have to come and shame God's name all in the name of being a Christian.
Dressing well, and looking good is a real deal😌

Thank you so much for reaffirming this point. I appreciate your honest opinion. ❤️

 2 years ago  

Why don't comments have laughing reactions on hive?😂💔

However, sorry about that flirtatious experience, like them born that human being well?🙄 or is that one still from Adam's generation?
Some guys can be so annoying, see another disadvantage in being all sexy? It will always attract some scumbags to oneself.

I understand your point dear. Plus I already know how you can be when it comes to this matters. Even if someone might be saying it in terms of my dictionary's meaning, you'll not buy it😂😂😂 Everybody is a suspect. I will give them synonyms, don't worry.😁

I won't buy o😂 my dear, you know this💔😂

Meanwhile, it is an interesting topic to deliberate on with different opinions. I hope you get all the honest answers you want😉
See you around!

 2 years ago  

Thank you girl, see you too!

 2 years ago (edited) 

There's a thin line between being attractively dressed and being indecently dressed.

My dear, many people have taken some words to mean something crazy and bad and that is the life we live in. To me, I don't see anything wrong in dressing sexy as a Christian lady. Just because you are a Christian doesn't mean you shouldn't take care of yourself or not dressing decently. At least it's good but too much of it is bad.

You shouldn't dress to reveal your cleavages or ass but doing that moderately and in a polite manner. We are all ladies and it's good to dress well and look sexy (thank God you provided a meaning from the dictionary) People really need to always check for the meaning of a particular word before making their opinions.

I have a friend and whenever we talk about sex, she would always act holy holy and I would be like "Is there a crime talking about sex?"

For God's sake, we need to ignore some meanings to something and learn for our own good. Talking about sex doesn't mean we are dirty or commiting any sin. We are learning!

Thanks for the mention 🤗

 2 years ago  

I have a friend and whenever we talk about sex, she would always act holy holy and I would be like "Is there a crime talking about sex?"

Exactly what I'm talking about.

Talking about sex doesn't mean we are dirty or commiting any sin. We are learning!

I'm you concur! We can do nothing but hope people get to adjust eventually.

Thanks for the mention 🤗

I'm glad you didn't mind. This means a lot. ❤️

 2 years ago  

♥️♥️

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hmmm... I am just passing by, but lemme just say this:

I never will attribute the term "sexy" to a lady, if I do not want to be offensive. The word is subjective, but the general notion relates to something sexual.

On the contrary, I do agree that a lady should present herself appealing enough, not for the beholding of the opposite sex, but for herself. And besides, people who are attractive tend to attact more favour.

 2 years ago  

I never will attribute the term "sexy" to a lady, if I do not want to be offensive. The word is subjective, but the general notion relates to something sexual.

I understand dear. Same here. Like I said it was something someone put up and I saw a comment totally ruling out the word as bad.

But in the true sense different dictionaries present different meanings of it so it's necessary to always state clearly a good reason why we are against something and make reference to what definition we are speaking from just like @zellypearl did.

Some christian ladies are not trying at all in terms of all I put out there that's why the question came up in the first place. You said everything right in the last paragraph. Thank you for your honest opinion. ❤️

 2 years ago  

I believe there are much appropriate words to use to attribute a lady than one that would be controvesial. I don't like wahala...

 2 years ago  

I understand dear. Normally Christian women don't like to be addressed with it. It will always give the impression that someone is being carnal. Thank you for stopping by.

 2 years ago  

Decency and modesty should be the watch word.
Dress how you want to be addressed.
I personally wouldn't use the word sexy to address myself or even someone else.
I appreciate the tag I hope to read more if this.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much for your input.

I appreciate the tag I hope to read more if this.

This means a lot to me. I'll sure have something else prepared for this Sunday. Thank you!

 2 years ago  

When it comes to matters like this, I don't always like to say anything because some people might even find it offensive or probably going the wrong way, but nevertheless, I will still share my own opinion.

I actually liked everything you said, I totally agree with you in all, because you're a Christian doesn't mean you will have to put on only big clothes, there are many ways you can dress in an attractive way and still be holy.

Nice write up.

 2 years ago  

When it comes to matters like this, I don't always like to say anything because some people might even find it offensive or probably going the wrong way, but nevertheless, I will still share my own opinion.

I understand dear. We're just stating opinions respectfully, we are entitled to that. I appreciate you going out of your way to still give an input.

Thank you so much ❤️

 2 years ago  

Being a christian in my opinion doesn't in any way hinder a lady from being attractive

This was very well said my dear.
Another opinion I want to bring to the table is that, when you are decently and beautiful dressed, it can turn some men on, making them see you as attractive.

As they say, beauty is in the yes of the beholder, a man can view you as sexy just because you are beautifully dressed in the way he loves so yes, a Christian lady should must must pay attention to appearing attractive without going to the extreme and why? You can be preaching the Gospel through this means.

She should also maintain a good personal hygiene and health care.

Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

You can be preaching the Gospel through this means.
She should also maintain a good personal hygiene and health care.

O yes! This is a very good input. We should represent Christ well in every aspect.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for your input.❤️

 2 years ago  

You're very welcome dear 😊