My creative contest sunday : Egusi soup

in Hive Learners β€’ 2 years ago

Hello everyone πŸ‘‹ πŸ‘‹ and happy Sunday to you all. Hope you all enjoyed today's church service. My creative contest for today is how to prepare Egusi soup and I will make sure to guide you step by step.

Egusi soup(Melon soup) is my favorite when it comes to soup and it's popular in Eastern Nigeria. Today, I'm going to teach you all how to prepare Egusi soup. I'm gonna list the ingredients and procedures involved:

INGREDIENTS:
Egusi(melon)
Palm nut
Bitter leaf
Pepper
Crayfish
Onions
Meat
Azu okpoo(Dried fish)
Okpei(castor seed)
Maggi
Salt
Ofor(soup thickener).

InShot_20221016_150016946.jpg

METHOD OF PREPARATION:
First pound palm nut and sieve the water in your pot, reason is because it serves as palm oil. So if you don't want to use palm oil, you can make use of palm nut, they do the same work.

IMG_20221016_141811_154.jpg

Put the grinded melon in a bowl and add little quantity of salt, Maggi, onions, cameroon pepper, warm water and turn.

IMG_20221016_142440_148.jpg

After few minutes, mould the melon in small balls and add in the pot, also add the cooked meat and dried fish and leave for about 30mins.

IMG_20221016_145209_646.jpg

Pound castor seed, fresh pepper and crayfish and add.

IMG_20221016_150435_450.jpg

Mix the soup thickener with very little quantity of palm oil and add to your pot. Leave it for 5mins. After that, crumble the melon into small bits and put it back to the pot.

IMG_20221016_152014_457.jpg

IMG_20221016_152038_127.jpg

Turn it and cover your pot for few minutes.

After some minutes, add your sliced bitter leaf and turn the soup.

IMG_20221016_152606_082.jpg

Leave it for a minute or two, your melon soup is ready.

IMG_20221016_152940_245.jpg

It can be eaten with wheat,fufu, garri or semovita, but I prefer fufu.

IMG_20221016_153402_214.jpg

Cooking and eating this soup gives me happiness and satisfaction, and one thing I like in this soup is that its not difficult to prepare.

IMG_20221016_153608_252.jpg

Thanks for reading and visiting my blogπŸ€—πŸ€—

PLEASE NOTE :THE PICTURE IS MINE.

Sort: Β 

Congratulations @neckkyjane15! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I'm a little bit confused though. The melons was molded into balls right?

Was water added to it before the bitter leaf or was there water in the Melon already?

It might be a dumb question but it's coming from a guy who doesn't know how to cook so πŸ˜…

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Yes,the melons will be moulded into small balls before adding it.

And before that, you must have put water that will be enough to cook your soup. So, there will be water in the pot before you add your melon, also remember that you will mix your melon with little water, before you add it.

Its not really a dumb question. I'm even happy to know that you were interested while reading it.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Ohh okay.. Now I get it. Glad to know it wasn't really a dumb question πŸ˜…

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Chai! Now, this is what I'm talking about. I also prepared egusi soup last week Sunday. Egusi soup is very delicious and one of the best Nigerian soups. I hope you enjoyed it.

Thanks for sharing.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Egusi soup is my favorite and one of the best in this East, my dear I really enjoyed it.
Thanks for dropping by.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I sight you Mr chef πŸ˜‚
You are now like MTN... everywhere you go ..lol
That's nice πŸ‘

I hope you will cook your egwusi next time using palm nuts

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Hehe. Thank you nkem.
LolπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I'll try

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Wowww
This is very nice Nneky....you guys enjoyed last Sunday oo
I missed your mummy egwusi soup with akwu πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
I think I should consider this method here in Lagos since getting a good red oil is like looking for an American visa πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Good job sis πŸ₯°
I found this post via #dreemport

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Thank you aunty 😊 😊

Also,instead of using red oil that will spoil your soup, you should just use akwu,which is better than most oils.
Thanks for dropping by.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Thanks for this tip nne πŸ‘πŸ‘Œ

Very creative. Good work.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Thank you

Β last yearΒ Β 

Thank you.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I do not need to have a taste to know that it is delicious. Well doneeeee

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

πŸ€—πŸ€— thanks dear

Β last yearΒ Β 

You're welcome

I have never tasted this soup but I have heard of it.
It looks great as does your tshirt!
Popped in from Dreemport tonight πŸ™‚

Β last yearΒ Β 

Thanks for the complement.

You are so very welcome

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I had never heard of egusi melon before your post, wow! I did not know some melons are bitter, now I want to try and find one where I live :)

Thank you for sharing, visiting in from dreemport!

Β last yearΒ Β 

Thanks.

Β last yearΒ Β 

Igbo gurl with the sauce hehe... although I know that Palm nuts can serve as Palm oil but I definitely prefer Palm oil than running around palm nuts.. quite stressful I must say. This taste differs alot from palm oil.
With your pattern I am definitely sure that you are a native babe.... well-done.

I found your post through dreemport

Β last yearΒ Β 

Haha, abi? using palm is quite stressful because of the processes involved in pounding it and all that, but if its palm oil you don't need to go through all the stress. I've heard that using palm nut tastes better than palm oil, and for me its true oo.

Lol... Native babe, if that what you call it, I am.
Thanks for dropping by.