There's no A in IQ

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Hi everybody, I'm trying to be more serious with the weekly prompts. The first edition for the week is

Is going to school and getting good grades a measure of intelligence? What are your thoughts on this? Do we all need to go to school to be intelligent? Or is there something else that needs to be done? Share your thoughts with us.

I don't believe grades are a measure of intelligence and I say this because I know alot of intelligent people who have bad grades. Let's break it down a little shall we.

artificial-intelligence-4389372_640.jpg
Source

Is going to school and getting good grades a measure of intelligence?

It definitely isn't a measure of intelligence. First off, grades are determined by the people who mark scripts or in this case, the school teachers. If our definition of being intelligent is being "booksmart" then maybe but even with that, there are still people out their that aren't that intelligent but have awesome grades. I'm not trying to offend anybody but my experience in the university has thought me this.

Another reason would be that alot of things determine our grades, from tests, to project, to even assignments. I can get good grades by making sure I turn in all assignments on time.

I have a friend is who is extremely booksmart and thrives in class based on what is taught but take him out of that field and he's a goner, I've seen it happen.

My definition of being intelligent is being able to adapt and understand different situations as they come. I like to think everybody's intelligent in their own way, well some more than others but if we base how in intelligent someone is off their grades then we'd be wrong.

I don't know if this has happened to you but I've seen situations where they ask for the student with the best grades to represent a department in a competition and the person flops.

Do we all need to go to school to be intelligent?

pexels-photo-5427671.jpeg
Source

We learn differently and from different sources but no one can deny that education pays a very big part, the education we get from school for that matter. What do you call school, I wouldn't confine the definition of a school to just a classroom or a lecture hall.

I believe school is anywhere learning is possible, home school, bible school and so forth. With this, I say yes, we must go to school to be intelligent. If we are being very honest, the reason we can write here on hive or even read is because we went to school.

The reason we can argue and state facts to back up those arguments is because we went to school. The reason we have the ability to understand some complicated things is because we went to school.

A question for everybody reading this, do you think you'd be on hive if you didn't go to school? Understanding web3 and Blockchain technology didn't come because someone sat us down with a phone and told us to press here when we want to write and press here when we want to delete. We went to school, picked up a few things and we applied them. After all, that's what intelligence is, the ability to acquire and apply knowledge.

Does having good grades mean you're intelligent, yeah, maybe sometimes but it shouldn't be a measure of intelligence and do we need to go to school to be intelligent, definitely.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

You sound like an intelligent person from the way you structure your writing..how are your grades?😅