THE FIRST MONEY I MADE AS A CHILD

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Imagine the excitement on my face that very day. I was barely 8 years old then, and the feeling of my first earning was awesome. I remember showing every member of my household the money, oh what a child act🤩. I couldn't contain my joy in holding money of my own. My twin brother and I in the process of making that money already planned on what we would use the money for separately.

Screenshot_20220522-152452.png
Image Source

Only if we knew that mum has another motive for our first-ever money, we may not have made the move to make the little money. You may be imagining how much this money was, well think no further, it was only #200 (not up to half a dollar) as a child, hahaha. That money is worth big money now😏

I can't forget how life dealt with my siblings and I in a hurry. Life was not fair to us at the beginning but that's a bye-gone anyways, they are all in the past now and I thank God for that. Reflecting on those rough days, I will only be smiling.

It was the holiday season, that long vacation holiday after 3rd term. I was still in primary school then, and so my mum urged my twin brother and I to go to the farm and start plucking our bitter leaf vegetables for sale. In her words, she said, " these children, why not make money this holiday? You two can go to the farm, do some work there and make some money for yourself this holiday instead of playing nonstop". My twin brother quickly processed that statement and boom, we were off to the farm. In fact, it never occurred to our mind that we can make money of our own without begging Mummy and daddy. We didn't hesitate but grabbed that idea immediately at least we would make some money for biscuits and lollipops when school resumes. These were our thoughts 🤔

Screenshot_20220522-152539.png
Image Source

We spent hours plucking this bitter leaf and arranging them separately, even though we are twins, money can cause trouble too as a child🤩, so everyone on his and her own veggies. I arranged mine so well, took them home for mum to sell as promised. She did and the first-ever money I made from my sweat was #200🤦‍♀️, the same as my twin brother. She handed the money over to us and I was excited. I went and hid mine inside my school bag waiting for school to resume so I can start chopping all I have craved for.

Screenshot_20220522-152822.png
Image Source

A few days away from school resumption, mum called my twin brother and I and requested that we submit the money so she can use it and buy us some academic materials like some exercise books, a pencil, an eraser, and co. What? I nodded my head in disagreement. She started reminding us how our Daddy has been bedridden for months and couldn't do any business again, and that she has been the only one overseeing our welfare which hasn't been easy on her. All those stories of her, we didn't care to understand because we already made plans to use the money for something else until she gave us a harsh condition, we knew she was serious and submitted that money🤣.
Oh, how stubborn we were as a child.

The last time my mum visited me in Lagos state, I reminded her about that event and how it pained me so much as a Child, depriving me of the biscuit and lollipop then, we laughed and laughed over it. She said that it was life that made her take such a decision and that I should not blame her as she was finding every means possible to attend to our needs.

So, friends, my first earning was only #200 used for my academic materials.

This post is in response to the hive learners community contest, week eleven edition one, interested in joining in, click Here

Thanks for reading!!

Remember to keep staying positive and be happy 😊 🥰💞🧡

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Oma, I understand that kind feeling. Then #200 is a lot of money na 🤑🤑.

 2 years ago  

It's a lot o
Over 20 years ago🤩

Thanks for your support my dear, I heart you 💞🤝🧡🥰

 2 years ago  

Yes na 😅😅.

You're always welcome 🥰❣️.

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha what a heartbreak for you two when she asked for the money back after all the plans.

It must have been really painful for you to have remembered to tell your mum about it again 😂 parents can do that a lot sha.

Your first earning was #200, that is a lot sha for that time but not anymore 🤪😂

 2 years ago  

It must have been really painful for you to have remembered to tell your mum about it again 😂 parents can do that a lot sha.

🤣🤣🤣very painful oo, even some money our relatives do dash us then during chritmas, she will collect them from us , saying what do we need money for🤔🤩🤩

Will I even forgive her?🤩

Your first earning was #200, that is a lot sha for that time but not anymore 🤪😂

Yes, datz over 20 years ago

It's nothing now...but something then🤩

 2 years ago  

Hahaha try forgive her abeg 😂😂

 2 years ago  

I have of course 🤩🤩, just joking 🤩

 2 years ago  

For the age of the children, no matter how small the income that we get the first time will definitely be very valuable, like what you get is #200 , not the amount of money that we see at that time is happiness because we managed to get money myself I can feel that fun

 2 years ago  

You are right Vic
I valued that money so much as a child

 2 years ago  

Wow i had no idea you are a twin...
So nice to know.

Your hustling skill self is in the blood.. from childhood days...😂

 2 years ago  

Your hustling skill self is in the blood.. from childhood days...😂

Hahahahaha🤣,yesoo I got no choice

Oh I am a twin , verrrrryyyy handsome guy🤩...you might get to see him here someday🥰

 2 years ago  

Hahaha, that's so funny you know, don't tell me you even dreamt about enjoying in school 😁. You are actually a good child to have kept the money that long some children will just spend it immediately. Thank for helping your Mom too against your wish.

Thanks for sharing

 2 years ago  

Oh yesooo
Hmmm, submitting that money was painful , let me not pretend .🤣

 2 years ago  

Hahaha, I can relate

 2 years ago  

Big woman chilling with #200...😂😂😂😂...At last you submitted it😂..African Mothers and this trick

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣🤣, chaiiii why did you read me? Oya unread me nah!!🤣🤣🤣🤣

African mother's eehh, even me too, my baby made almost 400k after I gave birth to him last year, I sqaundered the cash🤩, I would have saved it for him in the bank like opening an account for him but then, it's pay back time🤣🤣

It is great to earn money as I child, I remember earning mine, it was great, but giving some away hehe not so good!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

Yes, the feeling on the earning was amazing, then giving out the money again , I had no option though still for my academic materials then . So it's still a win win!🤩

Thank you so much for visiting

Well at least the money went to a good cause, your academic materials hehe

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha!
Nigerian mothers will never cease to amuse me😂

Well, she had a good reason for collecting your first earning from you. Good you finally agreed to help her with your hard earned money😅

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣, you understand them wella

My poor hard earned money, chaiii..it's well🤩

 2 years ago  

Hahaha😂

 2 years ago (edited) 

Wow.
So you are a twin too??
How cool.

I can imagine the joy you felt when you sold all those veggies..😁😁😁

Earning at age 8 would have being a big deal too for many of us

Am sure your mom would be proud of you now

 2 years ago  

Yes I am a twin

Are you too?The earning was a nice feeling though I didn't use the money on what I planned n

 2 years ago (edited) 

Yes I am.. I have a twin sister☺☺🥰

The earning was a nice feeling though I didn't use the money on what I planned

So sorry about that sis.

 2 years ago  

Wow🤩🤩, good to hear...now association of twins on hive in my mind🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Lolzzz
That would be so nice....

 2 years ago  

😂😂😂chaii.... #200

Well, your mum did the right thing by investing the money into your academics rather than your stomach.

I'm sure the little items that money could get must have helped in your academics.

Our parents are much wiser.

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣🤣, oh you support her abi🤔

 2 years ago  

Yes na😂😂

 2 years ago  

Wow 200
It was a lot then sha esp
For a young child

 2 years ago  

Yes it was...it could buy a carton of biscuit 🤩

Wow... just like my Mom.
I guess all Moms are like that.
But your first business venture was quite a success and you and your brother showed you have a knack for business. Hope you still have it.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

African mothers can be so funny and calculating🤩

Including meoo🤔, all the money people dashed my boys, I chopped all🤣🤣, it's payback time..lol

Oh yes, I still have a knack for business once money will come out🤩

Thanks for visiting, I appreciate it

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Yes, it was, but looks big in my eyes then

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Yes, it's a mixed feeling , good and bad🤣🤣

Thanks for visiting