BUGUMAโ€” The Pride of Kalabari

in Hive Learners โ€ข last year

InShot_20230204_222237914.jpg


Made Using InShot

It's great to have you once again here on my blog. ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐Ÿ˜€
I hope you are having an awesome day? Feel free to stick around; we have so much fun

I come from Buguma City, in Asari-Toru Local Government Area in Rivers State Nigeria.

It is one of the very beautiful towns in the state, a Kalabari-speaking town as well as Abonnema, Tombia and others and is known as โ€” The Pride of Kalabari. It is part of the Ijaw tribe with the native language, Kalabari.

The dominant occupation in Buguma is fishing, followed by farming. We usually have fishing festivals and yearly Beach Carnivals during the Christmas period where people from all around the state including neighbouring towns gather for an enthralling time.

It is home to the best and biggest land crabs ๐Ÿฆ€ we call Olu and the best sea animals like lobsters, prawns, crayfish, periwinkle that make your meal something to die for especially the meal we call "Fisherman soup" in which all the ingredients are present to mention but a few.

The last time I visited Buguma was in 2005 for my Great Grandma and Grandma's burial. So many family members were around and it was like a beautiful family reunion.

The highlight of my experience at my home town was when I travelled with my Dad after the burial. Since I was the only one with him, I had all his attention and care.

That period, I mixed a little with the people, greeting "Good Morning" and answering "I'm fine" in my local dialect as they were the only simple ones I could speak then.

I was offered palm wine but my Dad said it was fermented so it was alcoholic but I could have it if I wanted. I bluntly refused because I thought it wouldn't taste nice the way a fresh one would.

THE KALABARIS

The Kalabari people have one of the most colourful cultures in Nigeria and they are are peace-loving with a strong sense of self-esteem. Even if a Kalabari man has no dime in his pockets, he still carries himself with poise and dignity.

Our local dish is Tomina Fulo โ€” a delicious fresh seafood soup with Onunu โ€” boiled yam and plantain pounded together.

We have beautiful marriage traditionsโ€” Iya, Igwa, Waribiobesime the best and most expensive being "Iya" in which BIBIFE (buying the month) is carried out. Here, the husband performs a rite to buy the wife's mouth before she can eat any food in her husbands house. This is done to signify the man's responsibility of love and care towards his wife.

In Igwa which is three times cheaper than Iya the wife and children don't have as much rights but still belong to her people. If she dies, she has to be buried in her place and not the husband's.
Our people are well educated and hold good offices in the political, financial and educational worlds.

Finally, our traditional attire is second to noneโ€” "Iriabo". It is one of the best in the country and is usually worn at traditional marriages, festivals and at important events.

This and much more make our people unique and I can't wait to pay another visit to Buguma.

Till next time...

Like my blog? Upvote, Comment, Reblog!! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿ˜‡


This is my response to the Hive Learners Weekly Engagement Prompt.

Sort: ย 
ย last yearย ย 

Awww even the title got me "Awwwing" ๐Ÿ˜‚ this is so cool and honestly, I've never heard of this place before... Now I know thanks to the HL topic ๐Ÿฅฐ

You came from a nice place dear, I can see why you're proud of it

ย last yearย ย 

Oh thank you so much sis for reading. I was also awwing at your aww ๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Yay! ๐Ÿค—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sapphirekay.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more