The Realization

in Hive Learnerslast year

Mika Baumeister On Unsplash


There was a ceremony in my church coming up that year and I really wanted to get my hair done because I had been on cornrows for a very long time and so in anticipation of the church ceremony, I wanted to have a new look.

I was still new to blogging then and so I didn't yet know that I could actually raise the funds I needed to make my hair.
The ceremony was fast approaching and all my pleas for funds from my siblings and parents didn't yield positive results and I got fed up.

I focused more on blogging for the months prior to the ceremony mainly for the purpose of getting my hair done and possibly getting some accessories to go with my outfit that day.

I wasn't happy that I didn't think of it sooner, instead I had to go about getting turned down before it dawned on me that I can actually get the money myself.

Well, I was new to the whole thing and little did I know.

That all changed after I resolved to save and get my hair done, I was really bent on changing my look because I had been looking funny for a long time and though I was comfortable with it in the past, I wasn't anymore and it was time to change.

I put in work consistently and soon was getting positive returns and I was freaking happy.
I was elated that I could finally do something by myself and actually get the profit of my labour and as days went by, I didn't blog just so I could make my hair anymore, I blogged because I enjoy writing and getting rewarded for it and also that I don't go broke again.

It was an experience for me, one that I wouldn't forget in a long time.
Eventually I was able to get more than enough to get my hair done and even get accessories, I was happy and felt so responsible. I remember coming across a motivational video that advised individuals to learn to get things done themselves because no one can do it better and I related to the video because I had already done what the speaker was advising and I planned to continue doing it.

That is what I have done ever since.

Among other things, paying to get my hair done by myself is a big flex for me, and why not?

I can do my hair whenever I please without having to worry about the cost because I know already that I'll be the one paying and if I decide to go all out by getting an expensive hairdo, I can. But I won't because I don't want to go bankrupt, I'll get the one I can afford. :)

It has been uplifting for me and I have been proud of myself, super proud ever since.
I made my hair in time for the ceremony and I really rocked the hairstyle which everyone was in awe of.
My mom kept praising me and congratulating me and I felt really happy that she approves of what I did for myself.

Getting to manage my finances has been one of the stepping stones leading me into adulthood and though I still have a long way to go, I can say I have started on a good note.


This is in response to the #HiveLearners weekly contest.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  
 last year (edited) 

I guess when there’s something at stake or we have a set goal to achieve, we’re very dedicated to make our own money. You must have been looking very nice, very confident and very happy in your new hair after you made the money yourself and got it done.

 last year  

Yes I was. Thank you for your comment. ✨

 last year  

You get what you want as long as you keep trying and not give up.

Thanks for sharing.

 last year  

Thank you for reading.

 last year  

There's a kind of feeling that comes when you wear what you used your hard earned money to buy. I know you felt like the boss of your own that day👏

 last year  

Of course I did. 😌