MY EARLIEST MEMORY OF BEING DUPED BY A PERSON I SAVED WITH

in Hive Learnerslast year

One of my favorite, most enjoyable, and exciting phases of life was my childhood. Even though there were a few slip-ups, I treasure the memories I have of the experiences I had when I was younger more than anything. Every time I think back on them, I can't help but smile at the things that happened in the good old days, and most of the time, I even wish I could go back in time to experience them again.

pexels-photo-551573.jpeg

image source

I had to chose which of my numerous childhood memories to share with you all, but in the end I decided to write about one of them. It happened when I was in elementary school and attempting to save money as a young kid to buy a special device all my friends had, but my guidance couldn't get me.

It so happened that those kinds of cursor games were very popular in those days, and most parents bought them for their children to satisfy their need to at least keep them occupied. However, since I was living under my guidance at the time and they not being able to get me one, I had no choice than to go to my friends but despite my pleading, most of my friends wouldn't let me borrow or play from theirs, I can't really blame them since the games were so addicting.



One of the reasons I decided to save up and buy the game myself was because I got tired of pleading with my friends for permission to play, and they would only give me a few minutes before taking it away. However, this decision caused me some anxiety.

The concern is that, given their reputation for cunning, my guides would outright claim ownership of any money they discovered if they happened to uncover it by chance. I needed to come up with a way to save without their trouble since if I told them I was saving it, the most likely response I would get is that I'm stealing from them.

The second idea I have is to pool my savings with a buddy of mine who is a little over four years older than me and also resides in our home. I went up to Ndubisi and told him about my plans to save money to buy the game; together, we went to the seller and were able to determine the actual cost I needed to save money for, which was only ₦500.

pexels-photo-3491940.jpeg

image source

I had to save ₦20 from each of my ₦40 daily allowances as a child in order to get that money, which required me to walk to school rather than take the bus. With the money I was saving, I was expected to be able to save up to ₦500 after five weeks of working the days I would be receiving allowance.

I went to Ndubisi on the fifth day to ask him to give me my savings so I could buy the game, but instead of doing so, he started making excuses for why he had to borrow from them. He later apologized to me for this, so I decided to let go of the other amount he claimed he had spent from my savings, and I continued saving more into his hands in the hopes that it would finalize soon.

Savings that were supposed to last for five weeks ended up lasting as long as three months before I realized what had happened. When I finally lost patience with his endless justifications and demanded that he give me whatever was left of the money I had saved with him, he was unable to comply. We almost got into a fight because I was so dejected and upset, but I know I can't handle him and I can't let my guidance know what almost caused us to fight.

pexels-photo-7114680.jpeg

image source

I decided to leave him alone, and I haven't spoken or played with him since. The sadness of having to inconvenience myself in order to save money for something only to have it stolen by someone else forced me to abandon my quest to acquire the game.

The way I was able to recall everything that occurred during those years is still amusing, even though this recollection ended poorly. The fact that children often have a retentive memory and will always remember how you hurt them is perhaps one of the reasons it's not advised to upset them.



Thanks so much for reading through my blog post. It was inspired by the HIVE community topic that encourages us to speak about a notable childhood memory. You can read Kronia's post to get more information about the topic.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 134 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

 last year  

Na wa oo, this thing that happened to you was one thing that was really rampant then in schools because most children were living with their guardians and they had the same fears of them thinking they are stealing from them and do they started doing contribution in school but in the end they never got those money back.

Indeed that experience is something that will be really hard for you to let go because I can imagine the stress you went through to accumulate that money, Mr man was just there catching cruises with it, lolz.

!PIZZA

 last year  

Yea it was so common then, even till now we still have students doing contribution between themselves, I'm disappointed with his act, because I trusted him beyond that level.

And I guess he thought me a valuable lesson not to trust anyone.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, I really appreciate.

 last year  

Yes, I'm very sure it still exists, it will hardly stop sef, the only thing is we should be educating the ones we know so they won't end up like you, hehe.

Yes, it's a lesson that gives us the idea that no one is to be trusted, not even ourselves and that is why we have to be ready to take responsibilities for our actions and do not blame people.

I'm so glad I stopped by to see my GP, it's been a while and I did not want to miss the opportunity, hehe.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@hopestylist(3/5) tipped @vickoly (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

How sad this happened to you. Unfortunately, there are others who seek to take advantage of a trusting individual. It's good you learned a valuable lesson from that experience. It was best to stay away from that person in the future. Sometimes people mistake trust for vulnerability.

Thanks for sharing and take care.

!LADY
!ALIVE

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @vickoly and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@vickoly! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @justclickindiva. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 last year  

Yes it's quite unfortunate that I had to be repaid with such for my trust, I learnt the hard way and since then distance myself from him.
I really appreciate your wonderful words of encouragement and advise, thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

 last year  

Those games that year, I remember promising a friend my lunch just so he can let me play game 😂.

Childhood memories is just fun.

Well done @vickoly! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click [here](https://hivebuzz.me/rankingWC) to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the last day of the group stage.
Well done @vickoly! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click [here](https://hivebuzz.me/rankingWC) to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the last day of the group stage.
 last year  

Yeah... As a child we can be quite naive when it comes to certain things and we can be quick to trust. But once we are taught a lesson, it stays with us for a long time. Many times even to adulthood.

Thank you for sharing this with us.