THE REASON I GAVE UP ON LOVE AND THE IMPACT IT HAD ON ME

in Hive Learnerslast year

There are various reasons why people may decide to quit on a particular thing or another, which range from disappointment to displeasure, disagreement, or getting a better offer/opportunity. I, for one, have had several situations and scenarios where I have given up on something, and most times it isn't as easy as it seems, although giving up in some aspects might come much easier without any atom of doubt before or after taking that bold step.

pexels-photo-6147245.jpeg

image source

It was difficult to come to a consensus about which aspect of my life story I had previously quit because I had previously written about two separate instances in which I had done so. Therefore, in order to avoid continually saying the same thing, today I'll be talking about one of the hardest decisions I had to make: why I had quit despite still being heavily involved in what I had quit.

Today I'll be talking about my love life and why I quit my previous relationship. For those who know me well, most of them can attest to the fact that I literally distance myself from ladies, especially when I'm not 100 percent sure that such friendship won't go beyond the friendship line. For someone who has once been in a relationship that lasted for over 6 years, I'm sure you'll be wondering why such a person would give up on love.



Well it happened that truly I was in a relationship for some years with someone I do much cherish and adore, and mostly always put first in everything despite the fact that we weren't married, but then something came up that may have caused me to leave the vicinity in which we reside for a faraway state, and that led to us not seeing each other for about 3 months.

Because of the love I had for her and how much I'd missed her, I decided to go to the place where she lived to pay her a surprise visit, but on my arrival at her place, I ended up being the one who was dumbfounded and surprised by what I saw, and that single scene changed everything for us totally.

She obviously attempts to compose herself and begs that it isn't what I think and that everything was a mistake. Well, I was boiling within and couldn't take the anguish, so I told her to forget about us right then and there, even though we were already preparing for our wedding. It was very challenging for me to quilt that relationship because, despite what I saw, I still have feelings for her.



Yes, it was true that I still loved her despite what she did, but the pain was just too much for me to bear, given the fact that most of my friends have said similar things to me on different occasions, and I, being a fool, always jump to get defense and didn't know what they said was really true until I saw it with my own eyes.



Since that incident, which happened now about five years ago, I've kept as much of a distance from women as I can, which has made it extremely difficult for me to fall in love. Since then, I have hardly been moved by anything, and I tend to look at most situations as what's the big deal instead of demonstrating empathy. I believe that the event of that day killed my emotions.

Aside from the fact that it killed my emotions, whenever I talk with my female friends, I usually prefer to back away or stop approaching them if I notice that I'm becoming emotional. I suppose my aversion to women was caused by my worry that I would find love again and experience heartbreak.



Thanks so much for reading my article. It was inspired by the HIVE Learners community topic that asks us to talk about any event in our lives where we had to quit and the impact it had on us. You can read Kronia's post to get better information and details on what it required to write as well.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 135 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

 last year  

At the end it all a question of are you happy ?

 last year  

Yes I'm happy, never have I been better.

 last year  

I do hope you heal from the devastating scene you experienced, though I have never had such a similar experience but I know how one sided love could affect a person's emotional stability.

I do hope you give love a chance again, take it from someone who have experienced some cruelty in relationship, there is more to love than just having a partner despite the pain it cause it makes life livable and get rid of the feeling of emptiness.

Thanks for sharing, I'm sincerely sorry for the emotional pain you experienced.

 last year  

Dang this is epic love story bro, you just explained your reason for the refusal of any relationship entanglement at this moment and I think whatever you did back then was justified and it was all for a better course, I guess you weren't destined to be together...

3 months was too long for her that she ended up doing that, I guess you did the right thing by walking out and it's quite okay to love her after too, six years was not a child's play and feelings like that don't dissappear easily...

I quit was the best option bro..
Good job 💕😊 bro

 last year  

I now understand why you always distance yourself from the relationships talks and ladies. I mean who can blame you after what you went through.

6 years is a very long time and it’s understandable you feel this way. It’s just sad this has made a lovely person such as yourself stay off the market. I hope and pray you can heal fast and experience love again with someone who deserves it.🙏

 last year  

Hello there looter Vic!
If you remember, we had a conversation yesterday in the city, when we talked about love and all, and you were telling us how love wasn’t meant for you.

I didn’t even know you wrote something like this. I’m glad I came about this post.

I’m sorry you had to go through such trouble experience. No innocent person deserves to go through something as terrible as that.

But don’t you think that happened for a reason? Or don’t you think you can just forget about it? I know I know it will surely be hard to do.

The truth is love is very powerful! Who knows what it’ll do in future?

 last year  

First of all sorry to hear about everything bro! I suppose at the end of the day whatever happens does eventually happens for a reason.

But things does not really stop there. I may not know what you have went through but I have had my share of disappointment in my life. Which is why I can say from my experience you will find someone better and when you will find that person you will cherish her for the rest of your life. It will take time but all the time will be worth it!

 last year  

Hmmm we ladies are fund of that silly mistake meanwhile it is just an excuse to explain ourselves

But still everyone deserves to love and to be loved so maybe in the future try to give love a chance
The fact that you last relationship didn't work doesn't mean that your next relationship won't work

The fact that she cheated on you doesn't mean every woman you are going to date will do the same thing

Life is vice versa some ladies too are experiencing that from guys so try to give love another chance

Well done @vickoly! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click here to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners