Always A Flower - The Dahlia Walk

in Always a Flower2 years ago (edited)

On a recent visit to Biddulph Grange and its gardens, we had a walk through 'Dahlia Walk'.

The dahlias are planted in June so there's no frost around. Although, living in the UK the weather isn't always reliable.

They have 'old style' dahlias that would have been planted in the 1800s, such as the pompom, mixed in with modern ones. When I was a child, my dad always planted these old school dahlias in the garden, so it was a little nostalgic for me.

We saw some beautiful fuchsias as well. Again, flowers from my childhood.

A lovely colourful walk that brightened up a somewhat dull day.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

hehehehe look at this lovely walk!!! oh my gosh, its like a fairy tale book :) I love how many different kinds there are!

Imagine the care and planning this would take. mmmm lovely!

I saw this post thanks to @bluefinstudios sharing it on the PYPT show with @shadowspub :)

Nice one. Yes, I'd love a garden like this. Really beautiful.

I was going to ask how you come across beautiful places and flowers, like these then I remembered how often you take a walk.

You sure had a great childhood.

In my day kids went out to play. We only came back for food lol. We used to walk everywhere so I’ve carried on with it. I'm hoping all this exercise will have done me good at a later date. 🙂

Oooooh, I have not the slightest doubt of thier benefits.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Beautiful flowers! I have always liked dahlias! The stonework in that last shot is really special, too!

Thank you. Yes, they were beautiful.