I WAS NEVER PROMISED A ROSE GARDEN, BUT I HAVE ONE NOW!

in Always a Flower2 years ago

My very first long stem white rose

IMG_1451.JPG

I have grown roses for years. One of the first flowers I planted in our starter home garden was a red rose bush that never disappointed me. It grew and flowered every year we lived in our very first home. I just loved cutting roses and arranging them in homemade jars and vases, decorated by me and then my little girl. Special times they were, just Erica and I, in the gardens together, clipping flowers, enjoying nature. She loved the scent and always bugged me with, "smell this one mommy".

IMG_1453.JPG

Boy I miss those days. Now I feel like the expert when my daughter or daughters-in-laws ask me about growing stuff. They know I have done the research and have the experience to guide them. I am just so glad they learned how to take care of themselves as well as mother earth.

IMG_1443.JPG

You are seeing it first folks, my next project, growing long stem Yellow roses. So far the root stock has been fabulous, it took to my compost beautifully, all systems a go. This bud should fully open in a day or two. We will see what happens and be sure to smell the flower if it chooses to grace our presents.

IMG_1447 (2).JPG

The last update is the hibiscus, started with a slip of root, I have two that have already produced several gorgeous flowers.

IMG_1441.JPG

FLOWERS MAKE ME HAPPY

It may seem a simple pleasure but truth be told, I find a mindful peace with flowers. When those buds open and smile at the sun, I smile with them. Call me crazy, but #alwaysaflower makes sense to me.
Hugs @dswigle.

.

Sort:  

They are just beautiful!!! Thank you for such a wonderful flower display, and one of my favorites! The long stem rose! There is just something so graceful about them. Perhaps because when I was younger and still single, they were most coveted to receive on Valentine's Day or your birthday. They smelled divine! Let's face it, they are gorgeous!

I wish you much luck on your yellow long stems! They are sure to be a winner! Look at it already!

I am crazy! I am always and forever about #alwaysaflower! XO

Thank you, @farm-mom!

I just love flowers; they really do make me happy. I am hoping the long stem yellows makes it. That one is my newest addition. Fingers crossed.

So nice to hear from you have a wonderful day tomorrow, TGIF.

Yes!!! I know exactly what you mean! I am hoping your long stem yellow makes it!! Fingers are crossed for sure!

Thank you for using #alwaysaflower ! TGIF!! For sure~

This is really inspiring. :)

Thank you so much.

It may seem a simple pleasure but truth be told, I find a mindful peace with flowers.

Anything that you grow, has a whole different feelings of achievement.

That is so true, when I see flower or veggie seeds take hold, I feel connected to mother nature. Happy, happy, joy, joy.

🌹🍃♥️🌹🕊🌹♥️🍃🌹

Gorgeous! @farm-mom
And that is one very dreamy looking long stemmed white rose to have as your first!

Congratulations on your newest project.
Every year Mom and I always have issues with aphids eating our gorgeous blooming roses and leaves starting at this time of summer. Rost dust helps but has to be reapplied frequently. Ladybugs are the best natural deterent as they happily eat the pests. Maybe you can buy some; 🐞 ideally you won't have the same problem!

🌹🍃♥️🌹🕊🌹♥️🍃🌹

Hello there @ninahaskin, nice to hear from you. I know about using the rose dust, so far I haven't noticed too much damage from those buggers, but I am going to pick up some dust today, thanks for the reminder.
Lady Bugs huh? I wonder how I can catch some, I don't see many here, maybe I CAN buy some. Ok, now my wheels are turning.😁

Remember to take time for yourself and smell the roses, they really are a work of art. Have a great weekend my friend!

Always fun to drop by and see what you and @thebigsweed are up to!

I know of no way to capture wild ladybugs. Fortunately there are many places you can purchase lady bugs online and have them delivered directly to your house.

Interestingly, one half pint — 4,500 ladybugs — treats an average size garden 🐞🐞🌿🐞🐞

"...ladybugs eat aphids, chinch bugs, asparagus beetle larvae, alfalfa weevils, bean thrips, grape root worm, Colorado potato beetles larvae, spider mites, whiteflies, mealybugs, among other insects." source Hungry multitaskers!

I think I will give internet bought ladybugs a try this year. Thanks for the reminder!

Have a wonderful weekend! @farm-mom🌹

Love your roses and the great bed you made for them, Robin.

Good morning, Jo @redheadpei, the roses are really thriving so far this year, when we built the bed last fall, we used some excellent soil and compost. As we say on the farm, it's all about the dirt.

Enjoy the weekend !

What wonderful roses you have and the hibiscus in the end. I do like the smell of roses. I was hoping that the roses at the park will bloom again all at the same time. Lots of kinds of roses there too that one can surely enjoy :)

Hello @leeart, thanks for stopping by. I just love to work in my flower beds, especially with the roses, as the air is wonderfully perfumed with their scent.
Have wonderful weekend.

I can only imagine how that is. It's one of the reasons I hope that the roses in the park will bloom at the same time.

Happy weekend!

Your flowers are beautiful, I also like roses very much. I wish you much success in your project for the long stem yellow roses.

A real rose garden! Boy am I envious... Can't wait to see the yellow rose in its glory...

Hermosas flores y comunico esta comunidad gracias a ti de seguro estaré publicando allí para explorar nuevas líneas y mayores amistades.

Beautiful flowers and I communicate this community thanks to you for sure I will be posting there to explore new lines and greater friendships.