Hummingbird Moth Likes Grandmother Flowers

in Always a Flower4 years ago

This is the time of year the Grandmother’s flowers are in full bloom.


34D9C2F52029490C8C2D6B6ABBFCACD7.jpeg


Seeing Grandmother’s flowers blooming and adding a beautiful splash of color to the yard always makes me smile. They Stay blooming all summer and never need any special attention.


73F4B64537EA46FA8990BAFD2CBECEB2.jpeg


These lovely little dainty flowers are called Mallow but I always refer to them as Grandmother’s Flowers because I brought back one of the plants from her old homestead for my garden. My grandmother has been gone many years but I still have wonderful memories of her and the flowers keep her memory fresh in my mind.

The Hummingbird Moth was back for another visit to Grandmother’s Flowers.


3FBACA49AE794A69BF05DD89B41B45AB.jpeg

The Hummingbird Moth is a delight to see with a body that looks like a huge bee and wings that constantly flutter like a hummingbird. The wings are clear except for edging around the outside of them.


D1958501FED148109EA21FA915BF3DAB.jpeg


The Hummingbird Moth is a rare sight and I was fortunate to see it on two different occasions. The clear wings beat so fast it is almost impossible to see them.


2ED3BB97A096475AB8E7E8EA0554BEB9.jpeg

Nature is amazing to watch with all the different little creatures visiting the flowers.

A bee on the chive blossoms.


4BC078212A524523BBBCB8F325A941AA.jpeg


A large swallowtail butterfly joins the fun.


C1034B3B5A0E49D48349213733D15212.jpeg

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: CanonEOS Rebel T6

#always a flower is hosted by @dswigle

#amazingnature is inspired by @adalger

🌸 Flowers remind me this world has been planned for the pleasure of all earthly creatures.🌸



hive-114105
Animated Banner Created By @zord189



Courtesy of @derangedvisions


4BADDC3124E144FB97B8F9F610C7C532.jpeg

Sort:  

Love that large swallowtail butterfly and the other insects a lovely colorful post 😊

Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed seeing the insects. 😊

Beautiful Grandmother flowers! 😍 Great photos of the spinx moth! I have attempted photos in the past, but they were a bit blurred. You don't get many opportunities and you did great!

I was surprised to see the moth again Melinda @melinda010100. They move fast.& don’t stay around long. Nice he likes Grandmother flowers.😊

I know how you felt when you think you have captured something and it doesn’t turn out like you would want. I had a 2 min. video of the skunk and when I went to upload it he wasn’t clear enough to post. I hope he comes by again so I can have another go. 😗

Have a pleasant weekend and I hope it’s cooled down for you.❤️

  • 32.2 C here all week! I wanted to grill out today, but it's too hot to be out there!

I never see skunks here. I wonder why?

It is disappointing to find that the photo didn't turn out, especially when you have a one time shot at it!

That’s hot Melinda. 🔥 Peppy the skunk was by again this morning. I will have to check how the video turned out.

Strange you don’t have the skunks there. A lot of people don’t like them around as they will spray their dogs if the dogs chase them or frighten them. Peppy is a good skunk and knows I won’t hurt him.

I hope you get cooler weather. Ours is in low 20 C now.

Love your subject & photography...😊❤

Thanks Mike!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 13 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Lovely post Jo 🙂

I have no idea if I have seen this kind of flowers before, but they look very nice.

But I do know that I haven't seen any Hummingbird Moth this year, thanks for reminding me how they look like, and this Butterfly looks just beautiful 😀

I wish you a nice afternoon and a wonderful Sunday tomorrow 😄


Cheers and !BEER
!tip

The Mallow plant is a perennial And spreads quickly in the right conditions. It comes in other colors, such as, white, blue. You may know it by another name as it is native to Europe. I wonder if your parents have some growing at their place.

I’m happy you like the post Johann. Thanks for your lovely comments, tip and beer. They are always appreciated.🤗

It was nice today at 21 C. I went for a walk and saw the Blue Heron. Have a good night & great Sunday Johann😊

Good morning Jo 🙂

Now I had to look what google says and of course, I know the "Malven" flowers, but only their name. Although I'm sure my mother has such flowers in her garden too, I couldn't tell which 😉

We had about 27/28 C yesterday and today is the same. This morning I got up at 5, and like yesterday I went for a ride at 6, but I was back before midday for lunch. Maybe I'll go for another ride in the afternoon, but first I have to do some replies and have at least a look at the few photos I took 😉

You saw the Blue Heron and when I visited my parents yesterday all the birds must have known that I don't have my telezoom lens with me, because so many were around and I think I could hear them laughing ;) lol

I hope your Sunday is as beautiful as ours and you have a good time 🙂


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

Gorgeous photos Jo!! All of the flowers are pretty but those Grandmother's Flowers are my favorite and I love that you call them that..makes them feel more special. Great shots of flying beauties too!! 💖
!tip

Thanks so much Dee ❤️. it’s always special time when Grandmother’s flowers start to bloom. I’m happy you like them too.

Have a great day. 😊

You're very welcome Jo! Have a wonderful week! 💕

You really nailed this one! Well done! Those hummingbird moths are not seen that often here, I have to wonder if it is because they are so fast or if I don't recognize them right away! The first time I saw one, I actually thought it was a hummingbird, by the sound alone.

I was shocked to see it wasn't!

You hit a soft spot in my heart when you talked about going to your grandmother's homestead. I have been doing that since I got married and left home. I took pieces of home with me, and now, I put pieces at the shore house which I feel like I will keep until I am laid to rest. It has pieces of everywhere I ever lived. I even took a peach pit from Germany (in my yard there! and now I have a peach tree at the Shore House) Lilacs and daylilies... so many things... sorry. You just touched that soft spot I have for carrying forth the memories.

Your Grandmothers flowers are beautiful. I love the blooms, but, better still is the fact that they are the flower that keeps on giving, and giving, all summer long. You and nature have a good relationship. They pose for you and some even give you a smile. Nature rocks!

I hope you are having a wonderful day! Breathe in that essence of nature!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

Denise, these flowers do seem like a forever gift from my grandmother who left this earth when I was 13. I wish she could have stayed longer. Her kindness and influence stays with me always.

Our memories are all we have sometimes and it’s lovely you have surrounded yourself with articles that keep them alive. I have a few rocks i picked up from other places.

Thanks for your wonderful words and for the tip. ❤️

Enjoy the rest of the weekend.😊

Thank you... and just so you know, I believe she willed you her kindness and beautiful soul. Everything about you is always lovely.

Have a beautiful day. 💖

What a sweet thing to say Denise,💞 I hope I can live up to it. 😊

You are a beautiful caring soul yourself Denise and your excellent wordsmith skills raises the vibrations of us all. 💖

💖💕

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @deerjay!

@deerjay wrote lately about: Tiger - Two Ways Feel free to follow @deerjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Knautia To Knot : Alphabethunt Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

You certainly got some great visitors recently and everything including all the lovely insects is so colorful great party going on 😂