Always A Flower - "Container Gardens" by Sunscape

in Always a Flower4 years ago

container gardening 2.jpg


Container Gardening


Let me begin by saying that these are not my container gardens, but, my neighbors. She is a wild woman when it comes to growing her own flowers and veggies for her yard. Many of these are grown in my greenhouse for a couple of months to get them ready to be planted outside. This year, I thought I would share some of her plantings. I do not know the names of her plants but many are easily recognized by most. The Angel Wing flowers in the photo above are one of my favs.


container gardening 1.jpg


container gardening 3.jpg


container gardening 4.jpg


container gardening 5.jpg

This one is another favorite of mine. I love the combination of salmon-pink coleus and petunias.


container gardening 6.jpg


container gardening 7.jpg

A lot of the plants are just beginning to flower and soon her entire patio will be surrounded with amazing color.


container gardening 6 (1).jpg

She lost a 25-year-old cherry tree last year and she decided to save the lower half to make a fairy garden with her grandchildren. They love to decorate and plant the pots every year with grandma. The birdhouses all have birds nesting in them too so the kids get really excited watching them feed the young.


container gardening 7 (1).jpg
Here are some of the kid's succulents they planted around the tree. They put little stones and marbles in the dishes for the fairies to play with. How sweet is that?

Well, that's a wrap for today's posting. I took the photos to share with you all, perhaps they will inspire you to do some of your own. Happy gardening everyone.

a Etsy Header.jpgUntil next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Sunscapes Soap Shop on Etsy
Website - Sunscapes Soap Shop
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations

Sort:  

Lots of Hummingbird morels in there....:-)

There sure are. I think the hummingbirds like her yard more than mine. lol

Hard to believe there is someone more attuned with nature...:-)_

OMG what a beautiful collection of container plants!

It would be great to have my own greenhouse. I have a porch that keeps things from freezing all winter, but this year it was a cold wet spring. When the warm weather finally showed up, my self-seeders were just getting started:-/

Nice post. Sounds like I would love your neighborhood. I'm all about the flowers💕

Nice that you have a place to keep them overwinter. The greenhouse is way too cold and we start a lot from cuttings every year. My neighbor does a great job. Between the two of us, we grow a ton of plants for our yards.

we start a lot from cuttings every year

That's not a technique I've used very much. You take cuttings in the fall for next spring? Or how does that work?

I am so sorry for the late reply. I have been busy making jams and soaps all week getting ready for the fall line. Anyhow, yes! Cuttings are taken of many different plants from the garden every year. This is what my neighbor does to keep costs down. She is the one with all the container gardens. She takes cuttings just before the cold nights set in and she roots them with hormone powder or plain water depending on the plant. She grows them under lights all winter until she puts them in my greenhouse in March. We share a lot when growing plants to keep costs down. It works well for us.

Because you have some very beautiful flowers, I am fond of nature, many congratulations for the so beautiful photos, many successes

Why thank you for the sweet compliment.

Her garden must be such fun to visit! The plants are so lovely, and I love the fairy garden. :))

She is as crazy about flowers as I am and we make great comrades for gardening. That fairy garden is so cute with many little details.

You are so lucky to have someone nearby to share your enthusiasm with!

I sure am!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your the best, thank you!

Wow those pots are beautiful! And love the cherry tree fairy land :) Such cool idea to reuse old trunks.

Everyone loves the Fairy tree garden, it really was a great way to use the old trunk and the children just adore it.

All is so beautiful 😍🥰

Thanks, dear Denisse. My neighbor outdoes herself every year with the garden pots.

I would love to be your neighbor. I only have portulacas and some lilies

I have not grown portulacas in years. I forget how they love hot dry places. I have a few of those in my front yard where they would grow well.

They are beautiful. I had a few and they have grown a lot! Whenever I see flowers I think of you.

aase7c.jpg

Oh, how pretty and bright they are, I love them.

So it is dear. How have you been?💕

Congratulations @sunscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7250 replies. Your next target is to reach 7500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your flowers are always looking so pretty , colorful and healthy 😊

Thank you Hangin, I do my best for them all.

And you are doing a great job 👍

You are so kind, thank you.

My pleasure have a great week @sunscape 😊