Happy National Strawberry Day 🇨🇦

in Canada • 3 years ago

Yum....

Who doesn’t love Fresh Strawberries...

Actually the best kind you will ever taste are the ones that grow wild around the lakes and streams here in Ontario.

As kids we would spend our summers picking raspberries, blueberries and strawberries along the edge of the camp roads around Lake Superior and Lake Huron. You just have to keep a look out for the hungry black bears since they love the wild berries as much as humans do. I could never remember if I was supposed to drop to the ground and play dead, stand up tall, make lots of noise, wave my hands in the air or quietly back away and not make eye contact. Lucky for us we never ran into any bears when we were picking wild strawberries....

During the winter we need to buy the large strawberries at Loblaws, but in the summer nothing compares to the smaller sweeter strawberries that grow wild.

206AA257-601D-4E8B-9CC6-9DCAD9EC701C.jpeg

Source: https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/wild-berries

Happy Strawberry day !

Here is Canadian Gordon Lightfoot performing Wild Strawberries...

Deep as the sea and as wild as the weather
We will go just you and me to pick wild strawberries together
Or be livin' on our own
In a cabin in a meadow or meanderin' alone ....

Source: Youtube

Strawberry Day : https://nationaltoday.com/national-strawberry-day/

Sort:  

Humm, seems like the wrong time of the season to have this day in Canada. Perhaps it is to make us remember what those little pieces of sweet sweetness taste like and make us long to have them into the future? Nice choice in song, classic.

Uhhh missed that one, you have a national strawberry day?

Gotta become a citizen now lol. My favs! Last year I was able to harvest those little suckers in my garden like 10 times. This year not so sure as the other inhabitants of the house are replanting my little piece of wilderness with cultivated flowers.

I will comfort myself by wearing the little Thomas Sabo Wild Strawberry Charm that I call my own lol.