3 Day Solo Camp: Orongorongo River

in New Zealand2 years ago

do the bush tracks

A Nice Way To Finish Of the Year

Most normal visitors to our region would drive down to the Remutaka Forest Park then hike to the river on the Orongorongo Track (family-friendly). But for me, the start of my journey would be either the Whakanui Track or the McKerrow Track, Trail heads less than an hour's walk from home.

All 3 tracks are DOC maintained tracks, which means along the track are various fluorescent plastic markers, The orange markers are the ones we follow, that represents the track and can be found on trees 5 to 10 trees apart.

Whakanui Track

Planning

To the River
Whakanui Track: DOC Estimate 5 hours Actual time 7.5 hours
I was not in a rush, throughout the journey I met 3xcampers, 1xhiker, 4xtrail runners and 1xDOC volunteer.

Return Home
McKerrow Track:P Doc Estimate 8 hours Actual time 12 hours
This was tough going, while camping on the river there was 2 days of heavy rain which eventually made these tracks boggy and swampy. It did not dampen my enjoyment, the outdoors has to be experienced in all its glory!

many places to filter water

Camping

This is the least favorite part of the journey for me. I did set up camps for the 2 nights 3.5 hours walking distance apart but you have to let your body recover. What did I do while at camp? nothing really but plan my next hike. I even walked down the river bed to discover where the Orongorongo Track ends, here I found DOC toilets, must look after our tourists :-)

many places to camp

There are a few DOC huts here in this valley that can be hired but are heavily booked during the summer holidays. I met a trapper and his family, who owns one of the huts here. He told me the 2 tracks I'm using are quite popular than one would expect.

My brother wishes to come out with me one day, so who knows, I might do this again soon. He has never been inside a sleeping bag LoL. Challenge accepted!

Photos were taken with Samsung Galaxy Phone.

  • with every post comes experience, as we all strive to do better.
  • curate/up vote, let's encourage/reward and inspire each other.
  • as always, thank you for viewing my post.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @opochtli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!