Day10, Breadfruit

in We Are Alive Tribe3 years ago

I never thought that I would eat breadfruit again after my grandma served it once as chips, it was delicious but I didn't liked the breadfruit-flavor. Until today! My mom got a breadfruit from someone and she knew that no one at home like the taste of breadfruit so she tried to make a snack of it! As always I am open to try new things. (I doubted if I would like it🤣)

breadfruit.jpg

First I peeled the fruit, cut it in little pieces, washed it and then put it in a pot with boiling water and a little salt to cook.

WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.17.jpeg

When the breadfruit was soft, I turned the stove off, poured the pieces in a bowl so I could mash it
WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.17 1.jpeg

Putting all of this aside, so I could do the rest. I chopped half of an onion and 6 cloves of garlic. I baked this in oil. Doing this would make the flavor of the snack even better. It wouldn't get a raw onion/garlic flavor.
WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.16.jpeg

I baked the onion and garlic until it was golden brown and then added it to the mashed breadfruit

WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.16 1.jpeg

I also added some shredded baked chicken breast.

WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.16 2.jpeg

And now it was time to add the spices on mom's advice. First I went outside to get some celery, chopped it and added that first(I love the celery flavor)
I added black pepper, salt, piment powder, kencur powder, Galangal powder. I mixed all of this well and splitted in parts shown in the photo below.

WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.16 3.jpeg

Then I made a mixture of cornstarch and water and dipped the parts in the mixture.

WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.15.jpeg
Right after I dipped it in the mixture I rolled it in breadcrumbs
WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.15 1.jpeg
The croquettes are ready to be baked!
WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.15 2.jpeg

And now I was tired, so I didn't baked them. My brother did. I like hot sauce, thus I topped it with hot sauce
Bon Appétit!!!
WhatsApp Image 20210130 at 19.38.15 3.jpeg
Oh yes, I did everything. Mom only gave advice!🤣

Thanks for reading! I hope to see you around on the #IAmAliveChallenge .

Photos taken by me, @raishmi. I got the first photo from the internet.

This challenge is inspired by @flaxz. Thank you to the HIVE community.
Four points to join the #IAmAliveChallenge :

  • Tell the world that you are alive in a video, photo, and publish on Hive.

  • Use tags #iamalivechallenge and #hiveisalive

  • Share your post on Twitter and other social media.

  • Celebrate your victory every day.

Sort:  

@raishmi - Very surprised that I saw the breadfruit tree on your post. Once I read it through, this is very interesting way to cook the the breadfruit. I will try your recipe at home. Normally we cook breadfruit in different ways in my country including the breadfruit curry. But what I like the most is to cook breadfruit for sweet treats such as boiled breadfruit in sweet coconut milk, crispy deep fried breadfruit chip, candied breadfruit and etc.

Moreover breadfruit is rich in natural source of antioxidants. Breadfruit tree is a great shade for sun if plant nearby the house. Be careful of not to plant the breadfruit tree too close to house as the fruits will fall over the roof. Thanks for sharing and have a great Sunday.

Cheers/!WINE
.


Cheers, @andyjim You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @raishmi.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.100 HIVE

 3 years ago  

!ENGAGE 50 Thank you for meaningful engagement in our Hive Community.



Made in Canva

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator


Check out the Alive Engagement Contest on @iamalivechalleng, daily prizes of 200 Hive Power, every day!

#IAmAliveChallenge, check out our guide, I Am Alive Challenge - The Guide

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hey @andyjim,
try it and feel free to share the result with me!
I have heard multiple times about the breadfruit curry but I've never tried that because of the breadfruit itself. I should maybe try that! because the croquettes were good!
Breadfruit in sweet coconut milk sounds delicious, I've never heard of that one! If you share you recipe with me, I can try that one!
The breadfruit will fall on the roof or on my head!🤣 HAHA, just kidding.
Have a wonderful day!

hello dear friend @raishmi good day
I really appreciate that you let us know your mother's culinary secrets, it's good that you did the whole process. Congratulations
To be honest I had never known about this, I appreciate that you let us know
have a beautiful sunday

 3 years ago  

!ENGAGE 25 Thank you for meaningful engagement in our Hive Community.



Made in Canva

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator


Check out the Alive Engagement Contest on @iamalivechalleng, daily prizes of 200 Hive Power, every day!

#IAmAliveChallenge, check out our guide, I Am Alive Challenge - The Guide

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow! It looks delicious and yummy.

When I was in Maldives, I found this breadfruits. It was abundant in number in the Island I was in. The Maldivians used to make various food items from the breadfruits. I also used sometime to make curry from it. I ate chips made of breadfruits as well.

Seeing your post, I became nostalgic for a while.

 3 years ago  

!ENGAGE 30 Thank you for meaningful engagement in our Hive Community.



Made in Canva

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator


Check out the Alive Engagement Contest on @iamalivechalleng, daily prizes of 200 Hive Power, every day!

#IAmAliveChallenge, check out our guide, I Am Alive Challenge - The Guide

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.