Announcing a New Community!

in FightingArts3 years ago

fightingarts_banner.png

Welcome to the FightingArts community! FightingArts is a community for authors who wish to share their passion for the martial arts. I created FightingArts last year with a grand vision to do all kinds of things. However other matters in my life took center stage. I am now trying to bring attention to it again.

You may be asking, why does Hive need another martial arts community? A quick search will reveal several others like it. The difference between FightingArts and the others is I will be actively involved with posting, curating, and promoting. The purpose of FightingArts is to reflect the multi-dimensional nature of martial arts.

Combat sports are hot these days and posts about MMA get a lot of attention. However, these posts usually only appeal to hardcore MMA fans. They are limited in scope, focusing only on stats, rankings, and competition results. As much as I enjoy watching a good fight the martial arts are more than fighting. They are certainly more than a sport.

Considering that, FightingArts is open to a broad range of topics, so long as the post has a martial arts element to it.

Here are some appropriate topics:

Self-defense (obviously),
Sports science,
Natural medicine,
Health and fitness,
Healing,
Meditation,
Yoga,
Weapons,
Spirituality,
History,
Cannabis,
Philosophy,
Mental health,
The human potential,

I want FightingArts to be one of the most interesting communities on Hive. It is a home for any one wishing to explore the true nature of martial arts.

Community guidelines

  1. Posts in any language are welcome.
  2. Keep it respectful.
  3. Put effort into your posts and aim for at least 500 words.
  4. A broad range of topics are welcome, but they should have something to do with martial arts.
Sort:  

Welcome back, and looking forward to the community!

Thanks ksteem! It feels good to be back!

I'm new too Hive and one of the first things I did was to look for some active, thoughtful, martial arts communities that were more focused on traditional martial arts than combat sports. I certainly understand the overlap, but I was a little disappointed that I didn't see any good discussion around arts that I've practiced, namely karate, iaido, and tai chi.

My vocation is fitness, so much of the content I make is relevant to exercise science, strength, power, and mobility training and how it relates to traditional martial arts. I tend to avoid topics of weapons (except for what I've practiced), "street applicability" and self defense. I like to think I'm good at what I do, but I've done it long enough to know my lane and stay in it.

If you're getting this ship moving again, I'll be more than happy to post some content here and there and contribute to the discussion. I can't promise I won't be contrarian, but I can keep it respectful, lol.

Thanks for the thoughtful comment starbork! I'm looking forward to your contributions to the community. It sounds like with your background you can add some interesting topics to the discussion. Don't worry about discussing weapons, @ksteem has that in the bag, LOL. His stuff is great. Be contrarian my friend. Like General Patton says, “If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking.”

There's several weapons enthusiasts here! @starbork and @senseiphil Don't forget to subscribe to The Pew, Knives, and join us there as well!

This is awesome. I'm subscribed!

Awesome! We're building a super team! LOL

Looks amazing! Joined

Great! Welcome!