Sloshing and splashing puddles

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

The rain fell hard and relentlessly for hours in the early afternoon, the thunder's big hammer banged away noisily from above, and as daylight filled the sky I resorted to daydreaming so I could see lightning flashing and streaking through the clouds.

When the deluge eventually came to a stop I had the strongest urge to paddle in pools of water that I was sure had to be left on the paths. So before the water could drain away into the sandy soil I dressed in my long walking pants and water proof boots. A feel good reminiscence of my childhood days, splashing bare feet in fresh rain water pools spurred me on and out the garden gate.

But alas, it was not meant to be! The council drainage is too good, only little piddly puddles for me.

new_note.jpeg

However, other natural nature water features caught my eye, where it is usually dry and uninteresting instead there as now a creek was flowing under the walking bridge through grass and tree leaves. I liked how the water reeds, cement ledge and wooden beam formed a natural frame for my photo. Even more interesting was the creative busyness of trees' refections in the water. Nature at its best working together.

new_note.jpeg

This next photo really showed up the reflections of the trees, a phenomenon I had never seen here before. Heavy rain does not occur very often.

new_note.jpeg

When I turned the photo around during editing I had an image of trees standing in water, to me it looked so impressively real.

new_note.jpeg

I walked the beach for my return home and snapped this pic of the rain clouds off the beach, silently giving thanks for drenching the earth and creating flowing waterways.

new_note.jpeg

I left a pretty beach scene of clouds and mountain feeling contented that my little 'water' walk into nature was so worth the effort of dressing into pants and boots. Although not quite what I expected the natural water features made up for my missing the sloshing and splashing in puddles.

new_note.jpeg

So I finish my #Wednesdaywalk, a tag I regularly enjoy. Feeling grateful to the very nice fella @tattoodjay for not only creating this tag but who is a highly active voter and communicator.

ooooooooooooOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooo

88a2eaba_aba8_45d3_946a_695a8b78903c.png
A thank you to @adalger for bringing the #amazingnature to Hive.

4c17922b_ba18_4654_a2e2_c96cdaae83d1.png
Gratitude to @barbara-orenya for creative the #feelgood community

ecc271f6_e973_4747_bc60_452edf6eba13_1_201_a.jpeg
Thank you @lizelle, #silverbloggers is one of my favourites probably because I fit in./center>

ladies_of_hive.jpeg

7d164c0f_082b_461d_99ae_d51a49188971_4_5005_c.jpeg

............................................

My Santa mat is sitting at the front door to let Santa and his reindeer know where to rest and eat a piece of fruit cake and drink a hot chocolate.

Please make yourself at home Santa, you do great work spreading the joy of delivering fun presents. I love your message of giving to one and all, showing that everyone is uniquely special.

new_note.jpeg

Sort:  

Puddle sloshing such fun, still do it barefoot around the garden. Great reflection photography off the water, large thunderstorms we have had a few with weather on the move between seasons.

Love the mat welcoming Santa, have you been a good girl?

Letting the 'child' out is the best isn't it? I love bare feet sloshing and have only place to do this on the pavers near the gate otherwise the sandy soil miraculously absorbs rain water as it falls.
I am expecting Santa to visit with his bag of presents in my daughters home this year so will leave a note and directions, hahahah.

One foot hop through a pool to create a splash hopefully hitting someone close and unaware, still a trick and good fun with or without shoes 😁

No children, no decorations, no Santa visit, just a nice family meal together with no hugs and kisses either....