Wednesday Walk - SUNNY MORNING AFTER THE RAINY NIGHT

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

It wasn't a strong rain, just a few short summer showers that I didn't notice because my sleep was deep and undisturbed by cats.

img_9792_malo.jpg

Only in the morning, an hour after awakening ...

img_9839_malo.jpg

... I noticed droplets ... and other traces of humidity on the vegetation.

img_9794_malo.jpg

These shots were taken early in the morning, in the woods just outside the city of Pula, after the last suburban houses along the road that leads to my hometown.

img_9787_malo.jpg

The morning light did a great job at accentuating the interesting shape of this plant's seed pods ...

img_9790_malo.jpg

... while the hooded crow was guarding the place from the top of the tall cypress tree.

img_9786_malo.jpg

Lunaria annua is the name of this cool plant. Some minutes ago, while writing this post, I also found that in English language Lunaria annua is commonly known as Honesty ... which sounds like a strong word for a common name of some plant.
Right now, I read in the Wikipedia article that is also called the "money plant", "silver dollars", "Chinese money", or "Chinese coins"

img_9826_malo.jpg

This minuscule snail with a flat shell looked like it could be called " slime coin" or "slow money" ...

img_9821_malo.jpg

... definitely it looks like some kind of precious coin with a spiral galaxy engraved on it.
I found this Discus rotundatus snail under the bark of the big fallen branch of an old pine tree.

img_9806_malo.jpg

On the same piece of rotting pine ...

img_9805_malo.jpg

... I found another interesting snail ... with a cool face and snout.

(Enlargeable)

Pomatias elegans is the name of this species from the Pomatiidae family.

img_9819_malo.jpg

Although terrestrial, these snails resemble some snails from lakes, rivers and the sea ... with which they are not closely related.

img_9808.jpg

While the snail was slowly crawling across the large branch ... this small spider was running fast ... and it soon disappeared in some crack.
Although all, or practically all, photographs from this walk are about nature, small details of plants ... small invertebrates ...

img_9785_malo.jpg

... the journey actually started with the supermarket. I had to buy a few things in the big store at the outskirts of the city ... and I photographed this worker on the facade there. After this shot, I was ready to drive directly home ... but after a kilometer or so, when I was passing by the last houses of that neighborhood, I thought that a short stop in the woods could be a good idea for a Wednesday walk ...

img_9837_malo.jpg

... and so, some minutes later ...

img_9838_malo.jpg

... I was walking along the narrow, shady path surrounded by various trees.

img_9863_malo.jpg

Some leaves ...

img_9864_malo.jpg

... were covered with colorful stains ... probably provided by some kind of plant disease ... if so - it's a surprisingly decorative disease.

img_9843_malo.jpg

I found a different kind of stain on another kind of leaf ...

img_9844_malo.jpg

... and when I came closer to take a better look through the macro lens ...

img_9852_malo.jpg

... I saw a springtail there ... a well camouflaged springtail from the Sminthuridae family ...

img_9860_malo.jpg

I don't know the exact species.

img_9868_malo.jpg

About hundred meters further ...

img_9875_malo.jpg

... a minuscule star has fallen on the green foliage ...

img_9877_malo.jpg

... and that's the last thing I photographed on this walk.

img_9867_malo.jpg

As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work - THE END.

Sort:  

@tipu curate 💚

Cool photos! It is good that you are staying in the forest. In addition to the emotions from the walk that you received in the world, there were several dozen more beautiful photos :)

The many things that you see on your walks!
It is fascinating!

:) There is plenty of interesting stuff around in this time of the year.

I have money plants all over. They seeded last year and I didn't get the weeding done.... They have pretty pink/purpley flowers in spring. Liked the "coin" snail.

The leaves with the seeds on it. Very cool. 💚 Nice Photographs

Nice sunny morning photography.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment