First BBQ this year and a walk to Jeanne Mance park Montreal

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago (edited)

DSC_3320.jpg

What a rough couple of weeks we have had. I need the rest of my whole life to recooperate.

The restaurant where I work is getting busy everyday. We broke a record on our slowest day. This was the most we have done since opening last year. It was just myself and my partner Marc in the kitchen, serving a packed house for seven straight hours each day. We went so fast but the wait staff were not able to keep up with us. There were trainees that didn't know what they were doing.
We keep getting girls that quit. One of them texted my manager late at night and said she couldn't make it the next day. Another one worked two weeks then said she was moving out of the province. Another one worked one shift and said she would not come in anymore because she wasn't ready to work.

My manager quit and now the head chef that made the sauces, is the manager of two locations but we need her at ours now. She got a call from the new location that an employee said he couldn't make it for his next shift because he had a date.

On top of everything, Marc's mother is in the hospital. She had an operation on her legs. She will be there for a while. His father goes for dialyses three days a week and there is nobody but us, to watch the dog. The dog is a pain in the butt. He has separation anxiety and can never be left alone or he will bark and cry and destroy things. He never goes for a walk unless we take him.

DSC_3254.jpg

Last week for three days and yesterday morning, we had to get up at 6 a.m. to receive him to babysit. We go to bed late because we work late. I couldn't sleep the entire night even though my exhaustion level was thoroughly maxed out.

When he first gets to our apartment we take him for a walk then we go back to bed. He paces the floor back and forth, his nails are going click click click on the floor. He wines and barks when he hears something and then we invite him on the bed. He is not allowed on furniture at home. He welcomes the privilege of being on the bed. Finally he goes to sleep.

He spreads out and takes most of the bed. He eventually starts dreaming that he is running. I know because he's snoring and moving his feet like he is running. I can't get to sleep. After a few hours of him having a nice sleep he jumps up and I know he needs to pee.

Marc took him but I couldn't get to sleep so I get up to make coffee. When he gets back he is restless so I take him out again this time.

It's afternoon and now the overweight dog Bruce is tired again. It's exactly the way I feel.

DSC_3260.jpg

We are waiting for his dad to pick him up. I am hoping when he is gone I can catch a few winks.

After he left I relaxed but couldn't sleep so we did the opposite. We went to the park for a BBQ and picnic. It was a nice sunny hot day so we had to take advantage. Today is cool again and ugly outside.

We strolled to a park four blocks away call Jeanne Mance taking the side streets.

This home is a little odd but has a charm to it's outside garden thing. I really can't figure out the type of person who lives here.

DSC_1851.jpg

If I were to guess I would say they are quite cheerful. They like to be surrounded by cheerful clutter.

DSC_1853.jpg

DSC_1855.jpg

The park is in the middle of the city and is super popular. I had been here with the dog earlier to tire him out.

DSC_3303.jpg

Next to the edge of the park are typical Montreal homes that we always wanted to live in. We imagined how cool it would be to have the park as an extension of your yard.

DSC_3304.jpg

We almost never find a good picnic table in a spot that we like but we got lucky this time. It was weird. In the distance a small group of musicians sang and played guitar. They had an amp and a microphone so their sweet sounds were in the air. The lady singer was really good doing something kind of jazzy.

The Montreal winds were at it again. I forgot to bring clips for the table cover so I tied a couple of knots to the end and put everything on the table to keep from blowing away.

DSC_3307.jpg

A man passed by with a armload of paintings. They were fairly small and he asked if we would like to purchase one. We had to turn him down since we didn't bring cash. I just may have supported him if I had cash. He was a very cool and friendly older gent. Later a nice young lady passed by with a basket of weed brownies. I had to give her the same answer. We didn't have cash. She said she excepted crypto currency. We told her that's great but we didn't have the means to do any transactions and trading while we were there. We don't have skills to quickly do those these and no data on our phone. They probably weren't vegan anyway.

I had purchased a disposable barbecue for a few dollars. It did the job for the day. I made some tofu skewers while we sat. Who says you can't have a vegan barbecue?

People were admiring our little gadget as they passed by and wished they would be joining us for lunch. I'm sure they thought we were grilling chicken.

DSC_3314.jpg

I brought random items and assembled a salad while I was at the table. I could have prepped everything at home but I was anxious for some outdoors so I took the items to prepare while there.

DSC_3332.jpg

We had leftovers so I packed it up to take home.

DSC_3346.jpg

It was starting to cool off as the sun started moving away. I love sunsets. Last week while taking the dog I saw sunrise for the first time since Bangkok 2020.

DSC_3365.jpg

I love scenes like this dog who didn't want to pass by a fallen branch without taking it with him.

DSC_3357.jpg

On our way back I found the alley where I had met the sweetest cat weeks back. This cat has no problem with strangers.

DSC_3370.jpg

I had imagined running into her again. It was such a nice reunion.

DSC_3371.jpg

She doesn't struggle to get away when I pick her up. She's really small and light.

DSC_3372.jpg

I kills me to have to tear myself away from cats. I think I will go to visit her again.

DSC_3376.jpg

This was the perfect way to end a sleepy day that started with a dog.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

That’s a really nice and sweet cat!
Nice barbecue in the park! 🙀👍🌷💐

Thank you. The cat is my friend now. I think she knows me.

I hope things settle down for you work wise soon some crazy reasons from some of the staff

There dog sounds a right pain to look after

I have used a portable/single use BBQ a few times kind of handy

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk

Thanks @tattoodjay the portables are handy for people like us. Yes the dog is a real burden to us right now.

Hang in there

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I am sure they think your barbecue is chicken. The cat sure looks cute and it looks so fluffy. Have a good day.

Thank you @kidsisters. I know the tofu looked like chicken. Yes that cat is my favorite pet even though it's not mine haha.

I am happy for you that you met the cat again. The BBQ with the salad looks very delicious. These are real paradise.

Thank you my friend. I love my cat friend haha.

Sounds like you got a lot going in life and the restaurant too, but this looks like a day filled with joy and good vibes. Summer has arrived when BBQ is on the menu. Sounds like you had more social interaction in that park than I've had in the last two years. I think you met the most enterprising weed brownie salesperson ever.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Lol weed for crypto.

1.png
You've received a HIVE upvote & Lotus tokens from the team at @naturalmedicine! We encourage and reward content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Get one with our free referral and start earning HIVE and LOTUS! Follow @naturalmedicine, @lotusshares, and @uplotus for challenges, newsletters, curations compilations, editorials, and more!
NaturalMedicine.io II Delegate II Community II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat
divider.fw.png
Bless up, @justinparke 💚


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.