A Gloomy Day for My Overdue Wednesday Walk

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago (edited)

A Long Overdue Wednesday Walk

Today I got off my rear end and drove over to Woodley Island after I got off work.
I swore I was going to start posting this week <,< >,> well actually I was shooting for last Monday but stuff happens... Right,


IMG_3674.jpg

I started off on the Northern end at The fisherman's memorial looking out over the Northern part of the bay.
As you can see it's a bit gloomy as well as cold today so my walk is going to be shorter than I planned.


IMG_3675.jpg


IMG_3676.jpg

As I begin walking along the docks the fog is getting thicker and it's probably going to start misting soon. I should have come out here yesterday when it was about 70 degrees and sunny :/ , ah well story of the last year or so lol.


IMG_3677.jpg

Since I'm at the Marina I should get at least one image of a boat lol. I'm primarily looking for the large patches of African Violets that grow along the shore by the docks and The Night Herons that like to roost in the trees at the middle of the Marina looking out at the water.



IMG_3680.jpg

The Daisies are in full bloom but it looks like they decided to close up shop early today.

IMG_3681.jpg

African Daisies like full sun so they tend to stay closed up on overcast days.

As I walked along for a bit I came to the tree I was heading for it's the only one along this side of the Island where the Night Herons roost during the day ( they are night hunters) but as I reached it I was disappointed. Almost half the tree was missing with many broken branches and debris cluttering what was left and no Night Herons.:(

Apparently the winter storms took their toll on the Island's trees this last winter...


I searched all the trees along this side of the Island but no Herons. I did turn around and shoot a few images of the Carson Mansion just across the channel in the city. Always a crowd pleaser and maybe the most photographed building in the area.

IMG_3684.jpg


IMG_3683.jpg

After walking all over the accessible areas of the Island, (most of it is a wildlife sanctuary) I finally found the Herons in a giant Bay tree at the Southeast end of the public area...=)

IMG_3685.jpg


IMG_3686.jpg

This is a big old Bay tree and it's real bushy so I cant image most of Herons that are in it. This on came out of the foliage to chase off a crow that was bothering it's nest and little one.


Well it was starting to mist and get colder so I'm going to take my lead from the Daisies and close up shop early today.
Wow had to relearn my photo editing software and how to make a post for this one lol See you all later!


Thanks for visiting my post. If you enjoyed it please consider upvoting and following

One
Unless otherwise noted:
All images original, by me.
All Rights Reserved.
Chromium AutographOnline Signature Maker

gif by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

What an interesting walk, what a cool house and as is that statue

Nice to see you back, and i can relate relearning the photo software and how to post, I went through that when I started shooting and posting again recently

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks @tattoodjay.
This was my first post in about a year and it felt like the first one ever lol.
Good thing I had a couple of templates saved.
It was nice to get out and start imaging again with all the resent madness of the last year on top of all the hours I was working.
I have another neat walk to do next week as Sequoia Park just finished and opened what they are calling the Redwood Sky Walk. Should be interesting =)

I look forward to seeing that post

The locals have already dubbed it the Ewok village lol
Its fitting as most of the Forest Moon of Endor(Star Wars) was filmed in this park and in Richardson Grove about 30 min South of here.
Hopefully it's worth the 4 million they spent on it.

SkywalkPlaceholder-750x420.jpg

Wow that’s a lot should make a very cool post

You are back! This was a really fun walk and I loved walking about the sanctuary. Your African Daisies are stunning, especially with the sun looking down on them. The island is charming and it was well worth the trip!

I totally get the photo editing thing. Some of the sites I use change things without me noticing, then I don't know how to do it.

Have a great day!

I am ! =)
Hello @dswigle good to see your still around the Hive. Wouldn't be the same without your happy person buzzing about.
Should be posting in #alwaysaflower in the next few days as well as others.
The are still cleaning up the Island and there are debris piles and heavy equipment about(stormy winter) so I didn't get as many images as I wanted.
Thanks for dropping by

IMG_3655.jpg

So glad to see you!! Gorgeous florals! Looking forward to your posting!

Welcome back @chromiumone and what a grand re-entrance you have made!! Woodley Island looks like an interesting spot and great to get some great photos! The Night Heron looks so cool and is very different from the Great Blue Heron we have here. The flowers are beautiful..terrific post and photos!! 💖

Thank You @deerjay =)
We have Great Blue Herons here as well but they hang out in the shallow marshes at the North end of the bay, The water at the around the Island is fairly deep and you will only see a few Blues at low tide right around that fisherman sculpture.

You're very welcome @chromiumone! That is awesome! I'm glad to hear they are there as well! 😊