Tulip garden in the Wellington Botanic Garden

in Wednesday Walklast year

Spring is a perfect time to visit the Wellington Botanical Garden. As a plant lover, I couldn't resist the beauty of it. I have been thinking about sharing my walk to this beautiful garden many times but I have to stop myself because I know it will be better to show you this garden in Spring when it hosts a massed display of 30,000 tulips.

It is one of the oldest botanic gardens in New Zealand, established in 1868. This 25 hectare garden has 150 years of history and has been recognized as a Garden of National Significance by the Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture as well as a Heritage Area by Historic Places Trust. (Source here)

I am very lucky to live a very short distance so we can either take a long walk to this garden or jump on a short bus ride from the city. Some days when we have good weather, my partner and I prefer to walk all the way from the CBD. However, on the cold days, we just want to have a quick ride to visit this garden.

This year, we didn't have good weather for the start of the Spring. I feel a bit sad as this is my favourite time of the year to admire the beauty of new lives coming out from bare trees and flowers blooming. Then when the good weather is back, I am busy with moving places this weekend. Because I didn't have time to go out and enjoy good weather, I thought I would spend sometimes this late afternoon to share with you this lovely garden.

Before heading to the tulip garden, I want to show you the Wellington's Peace garden which is one of my favourite places to sit down and take a break after a long walk. I always enjoy looking at the waterfall and watching people feeding some ducks in the pond. There is some history relating to a rock at the entrance and the lantern in the middle of the pond (I forgot to take a photo of the rock). I remember they are related to the atomic holocaust of Hiroshima and Nagasaki but not much details in my empty mind right now so I will make sure to read it thoroughly next time to share more with you.

Yay I don't have to go far to see cherry blossoms. I love to see this rather than a garden full of cherry blossoms. I think it is more beautiful to be alone.

This is not a great time to see the Lady Norwood Rose Garden with 106 formal beds containing 103 varieties of roses. The adjacent Begonia House displays tropical and temperae plants, and a tropical conservatory displays orchids in season (Source here). Two years ago, my partner invited me to join him in his company Christmas party which was celebrated inside the Begonia House. It was an unplesant experience at that time because I was a bit sad when I thought about the plants suffering from loud music. I didn't enjoy it much so I had no photos of this glass house.

Here comes the star of the walk today, Tulip, the main reason for me to come and visit this garden this time. It was a lovely day and the tulip are in their best stage. Some of them had died because of so much rain but the staff in this garden did their best to save the tulips for us to enjoy this colourful display.

Right after the tulip garden, we followed a small path to a pond where we could see ducks and eels living there. And what's more there are baby ducks. I count and there are 10 of them. As they are so small, I guess they just hatched for a week or so. They are all adorable and I didn't want to leave the pond.

The stunning treehouse is home to the information center, and nearby you'll find a rock garden, extensive fern collection, and a camellia walk. I didn't walk up further as I was a bit tired.

Now the days are become lighter, I wants to do more walk after work. I will need to improve my physical health for my upcoming trip to Vietnam and Wellington is just a perfect place as I have access to plenty of walkways to the hills - a bit more difficult but it will help to train my body. Let's get walking everyone.

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  

Dear @dora381,
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Done. Awesome work @arcange. All the best

Thank you for your support @dora381, really appreciate it! ❤️

BTW, I noticed I miss your witness vote 😢
Without imposing, do you mind casting one to me? It would be much appreciated too!

Hi @arcange can you please check if I voted successfully? A bit of hassle for me to go through that Hivesigner as it won't allow me to use the same password I saved last time so I have to use my active key again to add another account and then vote.

Success! Thank you @dora381 🌹🌹🌹
I advise you to switch to Hive Keychain or HiveAuth to authenticate rather than using Hivesigner and entering your private key.

Oh I see. Thank you. I'll investigate to switch to Hive keychain. Have a lovely day.

have a nice day too.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1678.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hi @lizanomadsoul, thank you so much for your support.

Oh my. Not only the flowers, but that place is also beautiful. It must be nice to be there to chill.

Thanks. Yes it is my favourite place to enjoy on the weekend. Especially now it is Spring it is even more beautiful.

Such a nice place.. I wonder how tulips smell? Must be so much fragrance there.

Hmmm that's a really good question. I actually don't know. I remember being really close to them for a photo but didn't smell anything. I might have to go back and check it :)

WAOOOOO EXELENTICIMAS FOTOS... MUY HERMOSAS.. CON QUE EQUIPO LAS TOMAS?

WAOOOOOOO GREAT PICTURES.... VERY BEAUTIFUL... WITH WHAT EQUIPMENT DO YOU TAKE THEM?

Oh hi, I just used my old IP 6. I think it is because the day was so good. When it is perfect set up with sunshine and flowers, you just automatically have good photos :)

que bueno que buenas tomas.. es una camara o un iphone?

great shots... is it a camera or an iphone?

oh it is an iphone yes

Good morning and thanks for your support I am more excited for your answer I will try to get a team like this

Wow! I am truly amazed by how beautiful this place is. My eyes are wide open. It really feels like home to me, sitting here and relaxing in this peaceful paradise - what an amazing place.

Thanks for stopping by. That's the reason why I love this city. It has so much to offer for a nature lover like me.

Botanic garden ở Welly nhiều hoa đẹp ghê nàng ơi, bên này tui chỉ đi 1 vài vườn gần nhà nhưng toàn cây to chẳng có hoa hông hay tulip. Có vườn Tulip phải mua vé tham quan nhưng hơi xa, mỗi lần định đi là mưa :)

Uh cong nhan nang a. Ben nay ho cham chut may cai botanic garden. Lan nao di dao qua may cai khu vuon hoa la cu thay yeu doi den la