Wednesday Walk for the Weary. Come rest 😊

in Wednesday Walk β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

It's that time again...

Time to take a deep, cleansing breath and go on a walk for Wednesday.

My friend @andysantics48 is no longer really here on Hive. hehe Ever since COVID, things have been very difficult for her in New Zealand. I won't go into those details, because we have all had our own struggles due to not only COVID, but the aftermath of all the decisions made. I will say - while she was on Hive for a brief season again, she introduced me to #Wednesdaywalk.

Now, I had already known @tattoodjay. When I say, I knew him, I mean - I knew OF him. I knew he was a super nice guy, and very dedicated to running his community, and really had a lot of love for people. But after her posts made me fall in love with the community, I actually got to meet him and fall in love with him!!! NOT THAT KIND OF FALLING IN LOVE. geez, people. what are you - in grade school? hahahaha

I mean, falling in love with the kind of spirit that he exudes. He is a very special guy! And right now - we are like two ships passing in the night lately - but I know, and he knows, that when we reconnect - it's like time has never passed!

And that's the kind of friend I adore!!!

Now, onto my walk!

This is looking across the pond. Now, in this picture, the pond has been a little churned up! So it looks muddy, maybe? But when you get close and look down - it's so clear! hehehe Either way - if you look at the right hand side, you can see a bridge and a small dam. That is so very lovely to hear the water falling over there. It's like a constant little waterfall sound. Very pleasant and beautiful and relaxing!

Here is another picture of a place to sit and enjoy the pond - looking in the opposite direction with another bridge!

I think the water looks nicer from this direction. And you can see all the little spots to enjoy different spaces to rest and just observe nature. Right now, all the canoes and paddleboats can be taken out on the water, and people really enjoy just taking a nice slow cruise on the pond.

I'll show you a bit down the way, where it goes under the bridge and curves around. It has much more of a nature feel. Come with me!

And here we are...

Taking a stroll along the road, watching the creek curve and bend.

See how even here - the water looks so much clearer?

I think it has to do with how the sun isn't shining directly on it, but only in patches, and allowing the water to pick up the reflection of the surrounding trees and bushes.

I just have such a longing to be around moving water. I love looking down into it and seeing fish. I love catching glimpses of rocks and imagine little treasures that have slipped below the surface long ago!

And during different times in the day, you can hear the sounds of the bullfrogs, and crickets. Reminds me of the sounds of the Bayou. hehehe


Here we take a further step into the woods

...and you can get the feel that you're surrounded more with the dense, lush forest creeping up around you.

At times, the water is low, and this area looks almost desolated.

But, I love when the water rises. It feels full, and alive, and ready to feed all the life around it with sustaining hydration! hehehe

See the water peeking through the center of the picture?

I love how the reflection of the sky in that little patch makes it look like it's blue.

Of course, it's not! It's the same mysterious water, dark and cryptic! hehe But still winding its way into our hearts!


And finally.... my little friend on my walk! hehehe
Coming to say hi to me, and to you!

Well, I hope you enjoyed this walk with me!
And if you enjoyed this post - maybe YOU would like to share YOUR walk with us all in the WednesdayWalk community, hosted by @tattoodjay ❀️ I'm sure you would be so welcomed!!!


Sort: Β 

I love the way you describe your walk, it was absolutely beautiful. I feel as though I was on the walk with you. I do appreciate moving waters but lack the longing you have.

@tattoodjay is indeed a super nice guy, I love the way he handles his community and engages with people's posts, making each person feel appreciated.

yes - hehehehe he is!!!
one of the gems of the blockchain!!!!

and i'm so so glad that you felt like you were with me. I always hope that I give that feel - that I"m bringing people along! :)

and maybe you will get that same longing for the moving waters someday hehehehe

maybe you just have to come visit me and take a walk for me!!! hehehehehe

thanks for coming to visit!!!! nice to meet you!

Super nice guy Hey are you trying to ruin my Tattooed Thug reputation LOL

and yes I do understand what your saying were both busy at times, but we will reconnect now and again as we always do

you know I love walks by the water so I love your post

funny how it was andysantics a Kiwi who lead you to the Wednesday walk run by another crazy kiwi AKA me

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

don't worry - no one actually reads my blogs except you and blue... no one will ever know, weretwin! hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

and yes - we always reconnect. I'm actually hoping to come out to the east coast sometime and meet up with you and @bluefinstudios somewhere.

maybe we can even convince @dswigle to come meet us too hahahaha

i have no plans as of yet.. but i dreeeeeeeem :)

and i'm glad that you loved this post - i was thinking of you the whole time! hehehe as you can guess! and yes - i jsut talked to Andy today! we were on Telegram talking about NZ and what's happening there. She is not so happy about the state of things :(

and i agree.. YOU ARE BOTH TWO CRAZY KIWIS! HAHAHAHAHA

Wait!!! I read them, especially if you have a few tootsies, laying out there for temptation.

You do know I don't eat candy, right? I just dream it. It tastes better that way.

NZ cannot be as bad as it is here, come on!!! Now. let's stop taking Denise's name in vain. She has one hour of computer time before she has other obligations and I need to post for tomorrow!

Bye Bye Cutie Pie ❀️

hahahahaha well - i have really stopped (or lessened) my candy consumption! hahahaha

(and NZ... i don't know - from what she said - she is just scared all the time. and she talked for about an hour about all the things happening. being an island - everything has to be imported. but no one can afford to import anymore - but they also can't afford the land to buy.... there are big land grabs happening of the farms - but all the city housing is plummeting - and only the very wealthy can afford the land now... so much more - it really does sound terrible for her!!)

so do i dare to tag you and take Denise's name in vain again? hahahahahaha

what about if i leave a tootsie roll here... LOLOLOL

Ha!! I heard you!! :)) what you say makes perfect sense. You saw the land Im buying. Just because.

Wait!!I don't see my tootsie roll!!

I am sure many read your posts :)
I have to admit I am not totally up with what is going on back in NZ, I have friends are all points of the spectrum and get such different perspectives on the state of things there

that's exactly it - isn't it.

depending on your point on the spectrum - things look totally different!!! right???

yeah - asking one person and then asking another - you get a totally different perspective! its so difficult - because each person FULLY FEELS the weight of their own experience and is trying to say that THIS is the way it really is. when... it really does change based on all those criteria surrounding us

whew. makes my head spin, weretwin!!!

Ohh yes absolutely, and these days it is hard to know where the truth actually lies

I have some good friends and family back there whose judgement i generally trust, I know what I think but I will leave it at that,

... and sometimes, if you are on that bridge, from the very first image... that bridge off to the right of the image? if you are on it, and you look down, you might see something like this:

_DSC9987.jpg

And you peer over, and get mesmerized, by the falling water.
and look around... you may see little boys and their fishing rods, and some little boy, catching his very first fish!

heheheh that's right - and they catch such large ones!!!! and then throw them back for fun another day!

well fun for them. not for the fish eek. LOL

When I was there, I noticed that the boys were using barbless hooks (MUCH easier on the fish). Perfect for Catch and release!

ahhhh only you would notice something like this hehehehe that's cool!

Or, any SMART and AMAZING fisherman, would too.

i think you mean smaaaahhht.

Wicked Smaaaahhht!

Is that your backyard!? πŸ˜ƒ It is just beautiful! πŸ‘

hehehe well - sorta!
We live at a camp! So we have guests all year round. And we live in one of the houses here - so ... it's a pretty blessed place to live- we love it here!!!

Yes, that is a blessing! πŸ™Œ

I'm glad for you! Specially and more than ever these days!

What a beautiful place to get to spend some time! Thanks for sharing your photos! :)

hehehe yes - my home is one of my happy places

right now there are 400 summer camp kids here - and the energy is totally different than when its winter and snow and groups that are huddled around the fireplace with hot cocoa! hehehehe

but each season is so special. I am so in love with the people here - and this place!!!

Awesome place and nice pictures!