You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whipped Up Beaches

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Such incredible beaches, Joan! @joanstewart especially Maphelane Beach. Is that pink sand on it or am I just seeing things?

I have to say that I didn't realize hippos liked the beach. I thought they were more freshwater animals. Shows you how much I know.

The flowers on the bottom are boneseed ( I am pretty sure) and the top are bush tick berry. Is that coccinia? it is an edible fruit or is that a seed pod?

I always wondered how you kept the Braai so clean!!

I'm mysterious? Really?

I hope you are having a great Thursday, Joan!

Sort:  

Hippo that walked the coastline Huberta the Hippo story of escapade down the coast, perhaps it was normal before humans arrived. It is evident early mornings to find tracks on the beach, beach visits not allowed after sunset or before sunrise.

First flower appears to be Osteospermum moniliferum (Chrysanthemoides monilifera) Tick-berry/Boneseed.

Fruit/seed pods, Coccinia a strong contender, have not seen previously not able to find in research, anyone who recognizes let me know.

Second flower possibly not local coming closest to Bidens micrantha subsp. micrantha (flowers), not sure don't know!

Thanks for pointers Denise some more detail always helps, as for the Crows being caught out in the open was fun watching them haggle over some drippings.

Knowledge in plants, you find answers each time asked, content accompanied with beautiful whimsical poetry to enjoy! Yes mysterious in depth of knowledge 🙂 !LUV to you and yours!