Scouting the area, Moor ruins with πŸ• and 🐈

in Wednesday Walk β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

birdview ruins.PNG
this is from gooogle, but I won't share the link for obvious reasons

Not too far from our home, there is ancient Moor ruins and a castle, so I wanted to scout to see which way it's reachable.
It took me a while to find a path, once on the path, I decided to let the dogs off the leash as it was getting pretty steep...

IMG_20220920_111617.jpg

IMG_20220920_111653.jpg

I think it doesn't go too high, roughly 300 meters, but the view is still pretty impressive up there.
As it was a first for the dogs and the cat (that decided to follow us), I decided no to go all the way up there.
I've heard from the locals that I have to go around the hill to find the castle, though the trail seems to dissapear higher up.

IMG_20220920_112219.jpg

I thought this stone looked a lot like a Skull

IMG_20220920_112947.jpg

IMG_20220920_112702.jpg

Naledi stopped in her track, and probably found a snake!
Yesterday, my daughter also found one on the stairs outside of the house, apparently only slightly venomous & dangerous for small animals, but still we got to look out, as the weather is still quite warm and these rocks are the perfect hideout for them.

IMG_20220920_112323.jpg

I finally found a path, and decide to venture in.

IMG_20220920_112616.jpg

Jack the husky, Charlie the sheep dog, and Naledi the fire cat are still following me, still very weary of their surroundings and paying attention to every sounds.

IMG_20220920_113722.jpg

IMG_20220920_113536.jpg

The path now is much harder to find, and we decide to climb where we can, Charlie the sheep dog leads the way, and Jack follows him.

IMG_20220920_113153.jpg

IMG_20220920_113036.jpg

Surprisingly, we found a smart guy that set up his antenna up there, he probably has the crispest reception 😁

Wednesday walk gif 2.gif

IMG_20220920_120352.jpg

Once we got up there, the dogs wanted me to throw them a stick, I was super careful not to throw it downhill, I know Charlie, he would jump through a wormhole to get a stick, if he has to.

IMG_20220920_120446.jpg

PANO_20220920_113807.jpg

I snatched a panoramic picture of our surroundings, and I could see that the cat was panting, and decided as it's around 12am, it might be better just to walk back down, and explore the rest another day.

IMG_20220920_114023.jpg

IMG_20220920_113910.jpg

IMG_20220920_113855.jpg

Wednesday walk gif 3.gif

IMG_20220920_113952.jpg

IMG_20220920_113750.jpg

I could tell that the dogs were super happy to do something different, and the cat too!
In the last few days we did a lot of travelling, and they've been through some stress, so the openness, nature, and being able to go wherever they want was a relief for them.

IMG_20220920_115452.jpg

On the way back, Naledi is more confident, and relaxed. I still have to wait for her a little, but she eventually makes her way back down after calling her name numerous times.

There's something funny about a cat behaving like a dog, panting, and following the pack.

IMG_20220920_114044.jpg

IMG_20220920_114910.jpg

IMG_20220920_115039.jpg

IMG_20220920_115141.jpg

IMG_20220920_115413.jpg

We finally made it! We are all the way down! All sweaty too! Yikes!

Thanks for following us on our morning stroll! There was supposed to be some mighty gifs, as I also made a video of the hike, but they don't seem to load properly, so it will be for another time, I might have reached the limit!

Sort: Β 

Awesome! My cats usually follow me around if I go walking around on the hill. Cats don't pant from heat though: it's a sign that they are out of their comfort zone and becoming stressed. They are also happy to go with me for a couple of 100 meters but there's also a point where they will start panting and want to go back to more familiar territory

They do pant from either heat, stress, and even sometimes out of exertion in some rare cases.
It could also be a sign of heatstroke, but there's a lot of panicky people online so I refrained myself into dig deeper, I understand if it's combine with lethargy signs, then it's worrying, but other than that, they're smart creature and they know how to regulate themselves.

Truth is, she did it once in the car during the 8 hours drive from France to Spain, and today while being all the way up there, in the midst of the heat.
So from what I've understood, it's a last resort situation to try to cool off.

I still don't like it though, very unusual.

There's something so fun about a cat following, my cousin had a ginger cat called Ginger (lol), he use to follow us on trails, and moew the whole way haha.

She does the same too, the meowing is so cute, like "wait for me!!!"

I thought that rock was a skull when I first saw it

Quite an adventurous hike, you cat did pretty well getting as far as she did

the views are wonderful

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks for the opportunity, it's always nice to know there's a place to post about walking, which is our main thing, us humans πŸ‘Œ and animals!

yes so true

take care and have a good day

You too bud!

So cute to see the cat followed you too.
It truly must have been a wonderful walk for them. 😊😎
The views are stunning…
Thanks for sharing @edprivat πŸ‘‹πŸ» Happy Wednesday!

She loved it! She always joins us in our adventure, the same on our farm in France. Thanks for the comment!!

Just soooo cool, not many cats like that. To follow along. Yes, they do go out… but disappear quickly until they show up again.
You are welcome πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘‹πŸ»

And happy Wednesday of course πŸ˜πŸ‘

Thanks πŸ˜„πŸ˜Ž

Wow ,hiking with pets😍
The dog and the cat looks so cute😍
Enjoy and be safe!

Hey Mitch thanks πŸ™ so much, yeah we gonna be safe out there, as much as it can be πŸ–οΈπŸ˜‰ take care!

What a cool adventure! I was just listening to some stuff about ancient history so this was a neat coincidence or synchronicity to see.
Looks like a beautiful area and you have some beautiful animal friends to join you as well! I love seeing the cat join along!
Also... This part made me laugh.

he would jump through a wormhole to get a stick, if he has to.

What a cool adventure! I was just listening to some stuff about ancient history so this was a neat coincidence or synchronicity to see.

Lol I love when the universe does that, everything just makes sense.

Yeah man, we're lucky to be in Spain for a while! The weather is still warm up until November down there!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!!!

That's pretty cool and funny that the cat tagged along for the hike. Awesome! Great views from up there.

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

How close are you to Paris right now? If I remember correctly we just missed each other. Next cup of coffee's on D and A if you're around.

I was a 40 minute train ride but I moved back to Canada last week so I'm a 7 hour plane ride at this point πŸ˜†

My bad dude. I've been on one of my blogging siestas so I'm outta the loop. Feel good to be home? How'd the dogs do, they good?

No worries. I'm half on one of those as well. Lol. The let's made it fine and are doing well. Thanks. It's bittersweet to be back. We really liked Europe.

Hey man thanks for taking some time in your busy schedule 😊☺️ for interacting with Europeans πŸ€”πŸ§... How r u? Are you more adjusted? Any jet lags?

Getting there. I think the jet lag has worn off now. I'm no longer waking up at 2-4am and wanting to go to sleep around around 4-6pm haha. Back on a normal schedule now.

Greetings Ed! How have you been? Well, it looks like you're in a pretty nice place to walk, and what better way to do it than with your beloved cat and dog. Excellent tour my friend. Many blessings and successes. πŸ™πŸ˜ƒπŸ™ŒπŸ’₯πŸ’―πŸ‘Š

Hello my brother! I need your help I am at burger king and they don't abla Engles, they think I want nuggets, why would I want nuggets at Burger King? This is insanity...πŸ˜‚

🀣🀣 the truth I don't know, I think what you can do is enjoy your nuggets πŸ™ŒπŸ€©.

It's ok all sorted! THey have machines inside, we don't need people anymore πŸ€–

Great pictures, an interesting and somewhat challenging walk for sure.

I'm impressed, traveling with a family and pets, exhausts me just to think about it, haha.