Wednesday Walk in Prague, Czech Republic

in Wednesday Walk4 years ago

While visiting Germany, we hot footed it to Prague in the Czech Republic before the quarantine rules came into force.

Walking around the city we noticed people were congregating under the large astronomical clock. The dial, represents the position of the Sun and Moon in the sky. On the hour the Apostle figures and other sculptures, including a skeleton representing death, strikes the time. This is called the "The Walk of the Apostles". According to local folklore, the city will suffer if the clock is neglected. It seems to be very popular with the tourists.

It looks like the guard dog has got a day off and the cat has stepped up!

We walked over the beautiful Charles Bridge that crosses the Vltava (Moldau) river in Prague.

A lovely city for my #wednesdaywalk initiated by @tattoodjay.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your walk I visited there decades ago and loved that tower and clock so it brought back nice memories

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

First time for me. Glad it bought good memories back. 😊

isnt it an amazing city

Definitely. Wish I could have stopped longer.

maybe you will visit it again

Wow, just wow, what an incredible #wednesdayWalk that you guys had. I just went to Melbourne...lol...

If they let me out of my apt for longer than an hour, I'll try to get a bit further past my block....

We're still in lockdown here for another couple of weeks and am not allowed to go past 5kms from out homes...So lucky in live in Southbank tight in the middle of it all 😀

And then when we're actually allowed to travel OS again- Prague it is- after Germany, Turkey, Spain, Suriname, Uganda, the US, Venzuela, Canada....so thank you for giving me another one to add to my #Hivean travel list! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

My pleasure. I don't normally go this far but decided to try and get a holiday in before things got worse again. I hope things improve for you soon. ❤