From The Fabric District to Paddy's Wigwam. Liverpool August 22

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

The fabric district, just on the edge of the city proper was once the thriving centre of what is known as the "rag trade". Dressmakers, cobblers, fabric shops et al. vied for custom alongside drinking parlours and brothels. Bleak, dangerous and gloomy

Pembroke-Place-c1899-reduced-for-web_1.jpeg

Source 1899

Has much changed? Let's find out as we stroll through a run down area undergoing gentrification.

Affordable homes for local people? The fabric district adjoins the knowledge district, which houses Universities, many many medical schools hospitals and teaching hospitals.

_DSC5532.jpeg

Affordable homes for local people?

I "googled" it took me to a site in Hong Fucking Kong, an investment opportunity, come snap up these properties and rent them out at extortionate prices

Affordable homes for local people, My arse.

_DSC5534.jpeg

_DSC5541.jpeg

_DSC5581.jpeg

My main purpose for the visit was to capture the street art, which will be blogged in the wonderful https://peakd.com/c/hive-184784 community.

This is my view, my take on the streets that led me to the Wig Wam.

_DSC5591.jpeg

"Paddy's Wigwam", the colloquial name given to Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, the seat of the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Liverpool. I did pop in to have a look, soon to be blogged in the https://peakd.com/c/hive-163772 community.

_DSC5645.jpeg

Sorry I digress, yes walking tour.

_DSC5529.jpeg

_DSC5526.jpeg

_DSC5533.jpeg

_DSC5545.jpeg

Run down buildings, failed commercial enterprises, 1995 was the last year 051 was used as a dialling code for Liverpool.

_DSC5549.jpeg

_DSC5550.jpeg

_DSC5547.jpeg

Still fabric shops about, Abakhan, a small family run business has branches everywhere across the North and Midlands........ there are even three branches in Estonia!! ( I actually saw two when I was road tripping last year, small world is it not).

_DSC5555.jpeg

Love the artwork of the sign. Above: Not so much below

_DSC5553.jpeg

_DSC5647.jpeg

Seriously would anyone be that hungry?

_DSC5575.jpeg

_DSC5642.jpeg

_DSC5486.jpg

_DSC5489.jpg

_DSC5558.jpeg

_DSC5557.jpeg

_DSC5576.jpeg

Even the sally army building is now a home bargains supermarket.

_DSC5563.jpeg

Behave!!!

_DSC5562.jpeg

Though, who knows.

Windows

_DSC5525.jpeg

Come in enjoy our pic n mix medical procedures, just need rectal irrigation and we have the full alimentary canal set. Wonder if they do a BOGOF deal.

_DSC5560.jpeg

_DSC5554.jpeg

_DSC5585.jpeg

_DSC5649.jpeg

_DSC5648.jpeg

From an assortment of booze bottles to the winner of the earliest christmas decorations in the world ever prize. that yellow thing is a fucking xmas tree, I kid you not!

Chanced sticking my lens through a big window to grab a few of shots at a sparring session.

_DSC5491.jpeg

_DSC5492.jpeg

They were ok about it as i didn't get beaten to a pulp or chased off.

_DSC5578.jpeg

_DSC5583.jpeg

So leaving the back streets behind, I skirted The Knowledge Quarter of the city, It warrants a visit in itself I guess, soon maybe.

_DSC5582.jpeg

_DSC5579.jpeg

Not exactly street art, but more an indication that I was passing the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine.

_DSC5587.jpeg

_DSC5589.jpeg

_DSC5588.jpeg

Liverpool Energy Centre N0.1

_DSC5594.jpeg

Liverpool School of Veterinary Science :Yes the architecture in this area is without doubt worthy of a few snaps in the future, (and a bit of who what why and when).

_DSC5641.jpeg

I was getting hungry by now, but feared for my life when I wondered just what original chicken could be, something pre-history or just an egg?

_DSC5487.jpeg

....Up ahead in the distance, I saw shimmering light.

_DSC5591.jpeg

Paddy's Wigwam!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

cheers @qurator thanks for your support

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

cheers @ecency thanks for your support

Rivals some of Don McCullin's photographs of Liverpool and other parts of northern England. I lived just east of the fabric district for a time.

wow @shanibeer a local 😂 there is a lot of character "up north",

Affordable homes for local people?

I don't think that such a thing exists anymore, unfortunately.

sad times I guess

Old buildings add character to the city, pity not all are well maintained.

Average housing looks drab nothing entertaining at all, B&W photography with cobblestone turned out super effective.

!BEER

cheers @joanstewart , i was feeling 'creative" lol


Hey @grindle, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @grindle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war

Always great to see your photos and fun to read your commentary,
I think all over the world the term affordable housing is abused and used as a justification for the rich to get richer while only helping themselves,

I remember reading the guidelines a few years back on what was required to make a new project fall under the benefits given to affordable housing projects and it was ridiculous and varied so much from place to place, I remember in one place only 1% of the units had to be at a lower rental rate to be considered affordable what a scam

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

cheers @tattoodjay your sentiments are true, sadly. Most of the UK's cities are snapped up by china, saudi or russian oligarchs, and to a lesser extent british financial institutions all as investments rather than actually providing for normal people and the local economy. Anyways enough venting our spleens!!!!

Yes indeed venting only helps for a brief period we have to keep on keeping on

I've always wanted to visit Liverpool and love the old-school architecture.

cheers @bloghound it is a big old city with so much to see and point a camera at. The city, the waterfront even the suburbs have some great thins to see, I shall have to show some more it is only an hours drive away.

I love everything vintage @grindle and I am having fun with your virtual tour. Keep em coming, my friend!!

Oh this is new for me! I didn't know this place that's why I looked at your photos with amazement on my eyes. Why I feel like it's a quiet town? A few cars and people are on the street. But aside from that, I loved your shots especially the sparring part. The face though, it's intense!

cheers @dennnmarc it does seem a quiet part of a very busy city, thanks for engaging.

So many great shots. Love the design on those buildings.

cheers @derangedvisions , it was an interesting morning, it surprised me the variety to snap at

Great captures @grindle looking forward to the StreetArt 🤓😉
You showed us such a variety from you walk around here… seen through your eyes, your comments are just adding so much to them. Great highlights, it tells a story.
Yes, affordable housing you won’t find anywhere anymore, unfortunately. Driving the locals out of many places.

cheers @littlebee4 , when I first joined hive I would post just pictures, then my guru @slobberchops took me to one side and gently beat me round the head and suggested I add some words to bring everything to life. problem is once I start sometimes I cant stop. I am Glad that it is a bonus to the snaps I guess.

It is 'the way' here, the wording flows. Look at your image and the words will float out.. enter your fingertips and then on to the canvas, oops peakd session.

It so works… 😉😎
Have a great weekend both 👋🏻

and relax......

Cheers @grindle 😎
Yes, it is figuring out what works best and having such great people around that help, makes HIVE special 🤓
It sooo adds to it in a good way, and is rather funny at times 😉🤣😂 so much it makes me chuckle 🤭
So keep doing what you are doing 😎

Nice photographer 😍🐱

I love looking at the buildings in Liverpool. I also really like to be able to visit Liverpool like traveling friends do this.And there I think there are a lot of famous football players.

cheers @mnurhiver thanks for engaging, It has some great buildings that is for sure

Yes friend, you're welcome. Have a nice day.