Wednesday Walk | Christmas Decorations everywhere but it's not a Public Holiday

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

Variety of Christmas decorations are hung everywhere and everyone seemed to be celebrating it in a big way however, it's not a recognised Public Holiday. People still go to work and children are still in school just as any other day. And yet, it's a big deal to have Christmas decorations in everyone's home, offices and especially shopping malls. I never understood how a country embraces the western culture so much and yet do not embrace it enough to accept it as a Public Holiday.

IMG_20201206_113326.jpg

Foreigners such as me are a bit lucky as our organisations embraces this day and we are allowed to take this day as a paid Public Holiday. However, if this is your first ever time to work here, you would be shocked just as I was. Walking around the shopping malls, it's amazing to see the amount of marketing funds put in on the Christmas decorations. I presumed apart from the TET Lunar festival, Christmas is the next big thing here. Well.. for a country that has only 10 days of Public Holidays, work is definitely round the clock here.

I didn't do much walkabout these past few weeks as it reminds me so much of home. It can be rather sad seeing all these decorations; at least for me. I've just been on my own, keeping myself pre-occupied with work and of course because I've just started my classes.

IMG_20201206_113406.jpg

Nevertheless, when I do go out, it is nice to see all these decorations. There's no harm to enjoy the creativity and beauty of others. It's all about appreciating others talent, no matter how good or bad they can be. 😆

Well.. tomorrow is Christmas Eve. What are your plans ?
Stay home like me or out with family & friends.

Black White Women's Fashion Facebook Cover.png

Blue Dynamic Fitness Youtube Thumbnail.png