Wednesday Walk | Shoe fixing at the street side cobbler

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

I'd like to consider my feet to be an important part of my body. Especially when I'm in this city whereby walking is very important. Wherever I go, both my feet will bring me there. Partly because taking public or private transportation can be very costly. As such, having a good pair of shoes is important; just as finding a reliable cobbler is too. After all, how many pair of shoes can 1 person own...

So, when the heels of my work shoes began to fall apart, I knew it was time to visit the cobblers. After all, it's far cheaper to pay VND50,000 to fix it as compared to buying a new pair of shoes that cost almost VND500,000. I've only found one place in this city that has cobblers and not just one but three. And they are all located in one street.

IMG_20201204_150428.jpg

It may not be the best sight if one were to compare with those in the shopping mall but they have the same exact expertise which is good enough for me. It does seemed like they occupy the entire side walk of the street and passerby would just park their bikes and hand them their shoes that needed to be mend.

IMG_20201204_150424.jpg

These are just some of the shoes laid on the ground - those that needed to be fixed. Like I said, not an ideal sight but it does the work and is broadly accepted by the locals. Although I don't speak the language, one just needed to show them what needs to be done and its good enough. I do somehow think that they charge me a bit more as compared to the locals but what the heck! For VND50,000 to fix my work shoes, I think it's fair.

IMG_20201204_150450.jpg

These bags are filled with shoes; not sure if its already fixed or waiting to be fix. However, it may be, these cobblers definitely have got lots of business. If you can get the job done, it doesn't matter where one would set up their business. This is indeed the life of the locals - anywhere and anytime, one can set up their stall or cart and business is ready to begin.

Would you patronise such stalls or go to a proper cobbler in the store?

Black White Women's Fashion Facebook Cover.png

Blue Dynamic Fitness Youtube Thumbnail.png