Wednesday Walk - A Nice Walk in Point Waterfront, Durban.

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

This post is for the #wednesdaywalk challenge and the #makemesmile challenge collaboration. This collaboration initially took place once a month, but due to its popularity, @tattoodjay (of the #wednesdaywalk) and @elizacheng (of #makemesmile) decided to make it a weekly thing.

If you want to know more about the rules, visit this week's post by @tattoodjay where you will find all the rules at the bottom of his post after you've enjoyed his beautiful photos from his walk.

Last weekend I headed out to the harbor area and Point Waterfront in Durban.

The photos I would like to share today were all taken in the area of the Point Waterfront Canals area.

These canals are a very popular attraction for both tourists and locals alike.

It went out in the late afternoon in the hope of getting some nice photos in the late afternoon sun.

We normally park lower down and then walk up to the starting point of the canals where you can rent the paddle boats or book a trip on one of the other boats.

This time I parked higher up in the road, closer to the starting point, and decided to start my walk from there.

As I got out of the car, the reflection of the late afternoon sun caught my attention in the windows of the building on the opposite side of the canal.

DSC_2535-2.jpg

I also noticed this nice little area where you can be seated at some tables. It's a nice place to just sit down and relax while watching the activities on the canals down below. There is no counter or anything for sale...it appears to just be there where you can bring your own stuff and sit down to relax in the open.

I wasn't aware of this area, as we normally park at the bottom end of the canals and take a walk through the garden/park area alongside the canals up to the starting point. Normally being down there, I never really paid any attention to what is happening on the street level. But this is how we discover new things every time...

DSC_2534.jpg

From there I went down to the canals to take the next photo. This is basically the starting point of all the trips on the canals.

DSC_2543.jpg

Walking down alongside the canals, I liked the brightness of the buildings in the sun, while I was standing in the shade.

DSC_2542.jpg

While my main focus was more on the building, one of the bigger boats is visible in the next photo. These boats can be rented if you are in a bigger group or maybe for a family. You just get on board and you are taken out on a 30-minute cruise on the canals.

DSC_2547-2.jpg

I took a walk right to the bottom end of the canals, where I found a nice spot to take the next photo, catching the reflection of the late-afternoon sun on the water, with the silhouettes of two people on a little paddle boat.

DSC_2539.jpg

As the day was coming to an end and the shadows grew taller, I managed to get the last photo from the shadows, with some activity in the last sunlight of the day on the water.

DSC_2537.jpg

And those are the shots for today. I have taken some more photos around the harbor, next to Wilson's Wharf, and also alongside the Marine Parade, but I'll share those in another post.

Thank you for reading my post. I do appreciate it!

Sort:  

Early sunsets with amazing clear skies good time to be out doing photography, nice walk along the canals and captures.

!BEER

Thank you, @joanstewart! I had a good time doing this walk! I'm glad you enjoyed my shots too👍! Thanks for the beer, I'll sit down on one of those benches in my photo to enjoy it...lol!

Have a great day!

Believe it, I have not seen those canals, my brother is forever telling me to go, really don't enjoy travel through city rather stick to the beaches...., who knows perhaps one day!

Hence I enjoyed seeing the photography and what they offer in the area now. Enjoy the lovely weather on offer at the moment, winters are magnificent!

Yes, the weather is beautiful indeed.

I hear what you say about traveling through the city...especially if you go down via Victoria Embankment...that end of the city is very dodgy. But we sometimes go around the top end and come down the Marine Parade from the North Beach side. You can access the Waterfront from there.

As you say, maybe one day when you feel up to it...but I have to say, once at the Waterfront, it's a nice area and the canals are beautiful.

Will have to consider a different route perhaps, used to love going through Durban in earlier years.

Yes...Durban is not the same anymore... We often talk about the same things. A while back I found a photo of Durban's main beach on the internet that was taken somewhere in the mid-sixties...it was so clean, neat, and well kept...nothing like today!

A lovely walk thats cool that they have those seats there where one can relax and enjoy the views

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks, @tattoodjay! Yes, I also thought those seats are a good idea👍

when I am out walking I seldom stop and sit I like to keep moving but i know my wife would love them and sit there while I wonder about

That sounds so familiar...lol. It's the same here with us too.

👍😎👍

Alas, my weekly good vibes of seeing your Wednesday Walk post! Thank you for sharing your beautiful place. It's a treat for me, since I hardly go anywhere these days. I'd love a walk closer to nature without the hustle and bustle of city life. LOL! An advance happy weekend to you..


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.
!hivebits

Hi @iamraincrystal! Nice to see you👍! I'm so glad you enjoyed my Wednesday Walk again!

Yes, all the hustle and bustle of city life can be tough and demanding. We need that break and the time to just get in touch with nature again...

Happy weekend in advance to you too👍!

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

Entry period ends Sunday July 3. Contest to name the smallest unit of an HBIT (40+ HBIT prize). Info or enter here.

@jacoalberts! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (1/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Such a beautiful area to walk @jacoalberts 😁 the reflection is stunning and you framed it well with all the surroundings.
I could imagine me walking along there. I can imagine tourists and locals alike like it. And I see why.
Beautiful photographs.
Have a wonderful evening 👋🏻😁

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, @littlebee4! I really do appreciate it!

I could imagine me walking along there. I can imagine tourists and locals alike like it. And I see why.

I'm sure you would love walking there. It's quiet, neat, and peaceful. I really find myself forgetting about everyday life and all the hustle and bustle when I walk there and just live in the moment...while capturing those moments through a lens of course...lol. But I'm sure you know what I mean...lol😄.

Yes… not to forget to capture those moments through the lens hehehe 🤭 😉

Yes, it looks just like that, where you can forget about things and just switch off and enjoy.

You are welcome @jacoalberts anytime 👋🏻😎

😉👍

Enjoy your evening 😁

Thanks, @littlebee4! You too😄👋!

Thank you kindly, I will 👋🏻😁

What a lovely walk that is. I would love to just sit on those tables and watch the world come to a close but most probably rent one of those boats. You probably rented a lot boats there, huh? :D I do like the photo with the reflection of the sun and everything in the water.

Believe it or not, we've been enjoying some boat rides of this nature further down on the south coast, but we haven't been on the boats here at the Waterfront. It is on our to-do list though...want to take the grandkids on a little joy-ride on the water sometime soon...lol.

Thank you for your positive feedback. I really do appreciate it! I'm quite happy with how those photos with the reflection in the water came out. I'm glad you liked it, thank you.

That's surprising in a way but somehow I can relate. We do have boats for rent at the park's man-made lake and for my entire life, I believe I've only rented a boat with friends once or at least twice lol!

So it's not just me...lol. At least it's our list to do soon...as mentioned with the grandkids!

Lol! Yes, let's do that :D

Have a great weekend!


Hey @jacoalberts, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the beer! I appreciate it!

Some great shots! Thanks.

Thanks for stopping by!

I've never been to Durban. Thanks for the photos.

You're welcome! Maybe you can put it on your to-do list/bucket list and consider visiting Durban sometime😉👍!

Thanks! It's for sure on there! 😎

That sounds great👍!