#Wednesday Walk - At Umhlanga Boardwalk

in Wednesday Walklast year (edited)

This post is for the #wednesdaywalk challenge and the #makemesmile challenge collaboration. This collaboration initially took place once a month, but due to its popularity, @tattoodjay (of the #wednesdaywalk) and @elizacheng (of #makemesmile) decided to make it a weekly thing.

If you want to know more about the rules, visit this post by @tattoodjay where you will find all the rules at the bottom of his post after you've enjoyed his beautiful photos from his walk.

On Sunday my niece arrived here from Johannesburg to visit us for a few days.

We picked her up at the airport and from there headed out to the boardwalk in Umhlanga Rocks.

Arriving at the beach, the ocean was calm with a lot of ships on the horizon.
DSC_5022.jpg

From there we headed up toward the boardwalk, following the walkway.

DSC_5027.jpg

We had some beautiful views of the ocean along the way.

DSC_5028.jpg

The walkway stretched out ahead of us, taking us toward the boardwalk.

DSC_5030.jpg

You know you are getting close when you get to the information board about the boardwalk.

DSC_5032.jpg

The last stretch before getting to the boardwalk...

DSC_5035.jpg

Then we arrived at the boardwalk that takes you on a nice walk of 1 KM into the forest just above the beach.

DSC_5041.jpg

A typical scene along the way...

DSC_5047.jpg

On our way back...the boardwalk twisted and turned through the forest, taking us back to the starting point from where you can get access to all the holiday accommodations.

DSC_5049.jpg

In the garden area, just behind various holiday apartment buildings and hotels, we found this nice little butterfly.

DSC_5055.jpg

And turning around, this visitor was thinking of joining us on our walk...

DSC_5066.jpg

but then found some other company on the edge of the flower bed...

DSC_5069.jpg

That's it for today folks!

Thank you for reading my post! I do appreciate it!

Sort:  

I believe some parts of the ocean near Durban are still very polluted? Is Umhlanga one of those places?

Hi, @jasperdick. You're right, yes. The pollution is bad and Umhlanga is one of those places indeed. The two beaches in Umhlanga were reopened last week (1 December), just to be closed again a couple of days later, after we had some rain again.

As far as I know, the Umhlanga beaches reopened again yesterday (8 December), as the race is on to get the beaches open before the holidaymakers come down for the holiday season.

I have my doubts though... I wouldn't go into the water on any of our beaches at the moment. It's sad but true.

In my opinion, a lot of this could have been prevented if there was better maintenance on sewage systems, etc... And once disaster struck, there was a huge lack of interest to take immediate action. As far as I know, up on the North Coast, there are still areas battling with water problems (not having any water) since the floods in April.

I cannot see how it can be realistic to jump in now and think the problem can be solved "overnight".

Going to the boardwalk is indeed so relaxing. How I love to be there, my friend but there is one thing that scares me, heheh. It is actually the presence of those creepy crawlies on the grass. What a perfect blend of the waves and an amazing heart of nature. I so love this place my friend. Happy Wednesday walk.

It's relaxing indeed! And even with our creepy crawly friends...no need to be scared...😀, they won't harm you!

I'm glad you enjoyed the walk with us! Thank you so much for your great feedback, @pinkchic!

Have a great day!

That’s nice your niece came to visit and you all went for a lovely walk.
That path looks so well maintained. Beautiful plants and trees around.
The lizards 🦎 are just cute. All modelling for you to capture hahaha 🤣
Thanks for sharing with us @jacoalberts my friend.
Have a wonderful week further 👋🏻☀️

Yes, we had a great time going for this walk👍!

It is a well-maintained area indeed! I was actually surprised by the lizards. I started taking photos from a distance, thinking they will run away. But I came closer...and closer...closer, while I just kept taking photos. And yet, although they kept an eye on me, there was no attempt to run away...lol.

Thank you, @littlebee4! You must have a great week further too😉👍!

Wow… that’s extra special when they remained calm while you came closer and closer. Sooo cool 😎 when that happens. Wonderful. See private models 🦎🦎🦎 hehehe 🤭

You are welcome @jacoalberts 👋🏻😊 enjoy your day and week further too!

Absolutely true😄👍!

Enjoy your weekend, @littlebee4👋🙏!

Thanks @jacoalberts you too 👋🏻☀️😊🌺

!ALIVE

@jacoalberts! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @littlebee4. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you for the tokens! I do appreciate them!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you, @brumest and the @qurator Team, for your support in curating my post! I do appreciate it very much!

What a great walk to take your niece on a nice mix of the sea and nature, Love all the views and that patterned pathway

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

My niece was thrilled and filled with excitement when we took her on this walk. She loves nature just as much as we do, so we love treating her by taking her out to these kinds of places...😉👍!

Thats great she enjoys the same as you :)

You know you keep suprising me with all of these wonderful walks that are in really nice, lush, green and tropical surroundings!

I didn't realise just how tropical SA is!

As long as you enjoy being surprised, I'll keep striving to keep on surprising you...😅🙏!

Have an awesome day, @chocolatescorpi!

Love it and yes I do I love suprises- well good ones anyway...😄

Bring it on @jacoalberts 😃

😄🙏👍

Depends where you are! Here in Cape Town it's a bit more like the Mediterranean with vineyards and olives but yes, Durban is sub-tropical... And then we have grasslands and semi-desert too...

Skink and Bloukoppie in close proximity to each other quite a rare sighting along the way !LOLZ

Feel so sorry for the municipalities that are trying so hard to clean up their areas, pity the e.Coli problem is keeping visitors away, who can blame them?

!LUV

I don't want my wife any longer.
Her height is perfect.

Credit: reddit
@jacoalberts, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/4)

It is interesting now that you mention it...we see both Skink and Bloukoppies where we live, but it is always either or...always the one or the other. And here I got so lucky to get both in the same photo... It must have been my lucky day! Thank you for sharing that info, @joanstewart!

Feel so sorry for the municipalities that are trying so hard to clean up their areas, pity the e.Coli problem is keeping visitors away, who can blame them?

I do agree with you. It's a sad situation, but you cannot blame visitors for staying away...

Have a great weekend!

!ALIVE
!CTP

Far North Coast and Lower South Coast still clean clear waters, inland the mountains to welcome all, sure there will be places visited never considered previously.

Trying to cope with bad situation, no matter which municipality, all answerable under ANC provincial is where the problem lies.

!LOLZ
!PIZZA

In my past life I was a turtle.
It is slowly coming back to me.

Credit: reddit
@jacoalberts, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/4)

Far North Coast and Lower South Coast still clean clear waters, inland the mountains to welcome all, sure there will be places visited never considered previously.

That is a good point you are making about places being visited that were never considered before. Considering that, something good can come from this too.

Trying to cope with bad situation, no matter which municipality, all answerable under ANC provincial is where the problem lies.

That is very true! Nobody can argue with that!

Have a wonderful day, those who are able to afford travel should look into more options available, it is a big country.

Before going anywhere one has to check roads for incidents or repair, I read somewhere yesterday signs of old road to Umkomaas, bridge is starting to collapse, not sure which bridge.

It's a big country! I do agree. And there are definitely options to be looked at.

It's sad to hear about the bridge on the old road to Umkomaas... We haven't traveled on that road for some time now, to be honest...

We considered using the old road on our return from the mountains, freeway still collapsed inland, ended up using freeway and sat in a 10km queue.

@joanstewart! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @jacoalberts. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@joanstewart(1/10) tipped @jacoalberts (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!