A City Preserved in the Spanish Era | Vigan City, Ilocos Sur, Philippines

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Vigan City!

Vigan is located in the Northern part of the Philippines, specifically in Ilocos Sur. Vigan was founded in the year 1600. The city has preserved the Hispanic character of the town such as the Capiz windows, red brick walls, and cobblestone streets.

SNOW_20220908_130521_067.jpg

Because of its captivating historic charm, the heritage village was listed on the UNESCO world heritage in 1999.

IMG_20220908_131009.jpg

SNOW_20220908_131205_277.jpg

I was not really in this city as a tourist. I have seen this city many times already but not one time did I feel palled. I was in the city because I had to process some paper in the capitol. The scorching heat was really dehydrating me. The shimmering roof feels like a hundred degrees. Too bad this time around, I did not bring my tumbler to quench my thirst.

Spanish Designed Facades

Thankfully the capitol was not packed. The process was surprisingly expeditious. I thought lunch would catch up with me. I finished the whole process around 11:45 am. I thought to myself since I’m already here, I might as well go for a walk, but before that, I will have my lunch first. My belly's cheeks were already rubbing against each other at this point.

I am contemplating between Jollibee and Chowking. I decided to have my lunch in Chowking instead. The design of modern restaurants was also based on the Spanish colonial period. Now, tourists can experience modern service in a Spanish colonial town.

SNOW_20220908_131847_287.jpg

SNOW_20220908_132734_172.jpg

SNOW_20220908_132503_379.jpg

As expected, a throng of people lined up at the counter because it was already lunchtime. The place was also noisy because seemingly, the place was small, and so the conversations of people were bouncing around the walls.

SNOW_20220908_131955_970.jpg

As I wait for my turn, I was already jotting down my orders. Also, my father and uncle joined me, so I also took their orders too.

Finally, after 10 minutes, our order arrived. Your girl ordered a lauriat because I was so bone-tired.

SNOW_20220908_132226_031.jpg

Lauriat is like the combination of almost everything on the menu. I really thought I can finish the whole damn thing, turned out that I cannot finish the noodles so I have to give it to my father, haha! I really like the chicken orange, though.

To digest the food, I walked around the heritage town. Even if it was hellishly hot, I cannot miss the opportunity to take photos of this charming place.

SNOW_20220908_132350_188.jpg

A little shop for refreshments. I should have noticed this early to at least get that Oreo overload. Also, they have snacks like siomai, kikiam, and fishball. I noticed that some students are fond of this shop.

SNOW_20220908_132321_244.jpg

SNOW_20220908_132419_858.jpg

A shop of trinkets and knickknack. I bought a hair tie for $0.10. I should had tied my hair earlier. It helped me to cool down a little bit. The heat was beating me!

SNOW_20220908_131918_138.jpg

Vigan Cathedral - Metropolitan Cathedral of the Conversion of St. Paul

SNOW_20220908_132824_313.jpg

SNOW_20220908_132915_607.jpg

This magnificent structure was also a victim of the 7.3 magnitude earthquake last July 29th. The church is still under renovation up until this day because of the great damage it took. Apparently, it was closed perhaps due to construction. Some posters were displayed at the gate for donations in fixing the church. The church opened its doors in year 1641.

My walk was halted as the clock struck one. I was lost in time for a moment. Was it because I was raptured back in 1600s? Too little time for me to show more of this beauty. I had to be back in reality… that I have work, haha! Yeah, this city is a treasure to us Ilokanos!

Agbiag ti Ilokano! Viva Vigan!

That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited. ©️jijisaurart

Sort:  

AHH makes me wanna visit there. My fave chowking food is the pork chao fan with siomai 🤣

I like the pork Chao fan too then fried siomai! Then I'll order milk tea heheh


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

!discovery 25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

An interesting and colorful city
The food looks great

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

My first post in this community! Loving the posts here! 😊

Glad to have you join 👍😎👍

Nice pala dyan noh.. Yung fast food nakikibagay sa place! I like it!
Kain ka ng jobee for meeee! I miss lauriat in chowking too!

Hehe, inggitin muna kita witty sa lauriat. Tsalap Tsalap with buchi. 🤤

Aesthetic yarn? Ganda ng place Jiji sa labas. Re Lauriat di ko sya feel lalo na yung pancit sobrang mamantika sya for me.

Ganda talaga dito parang may portal ng Spanish Era.

Mamantika nga e kaya di ko naubos, takaw tingin din kasi ako hahaha!

I really like the building there. the architectural design is very beautiful.

Thank you so much! 😊 Nice meeting you! ✨

nice to meet you too. I think I know you on readcash

oh, really? What is your username?

Dark_spirit666

Okay, I just subscribed to you. Nice to meet you! ☺️

Vigan is known for some unique taste of langanisa right? Aroma and more. Beke nemen Jiji lapit ko lang oh haha, Im on my way.

Yes, vigan longganisa to be specific. Very garlicky! Oo papadalhan kita dyan with love letter. 💕