Stopping To Smell The Flowers

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

First Image.png
My car died on me. The gear is stuck in P, and all I can do now is wait for the mechanic to come and take a look.

That left me with using either Dad's or Hubs' car to fetch Son from school.

IMG_2161.jpg
I opted for a walk since I could take some pics along the way for @tattoodjay's #WednesdayWalk. My daughter, who is forever trying to skive off any form of exercise said she'd follow and off we went.

IMG_2162.jpg

How huge is this Yam leaf?

It was about a 30-minute walk, a distance of 2km. If it was just me it would have been quicker but my daughter coming for the walk was delightful. Walking as fast as I usually do would have been pushing it so I walked at her pace.

IMG_2169.jpg
I checked with her later, she told me it was kinda far, but then again she isn't used to this. So of course, I had to get into my back-in-my-day stories haha

IMG_2171.jpg
My story👉 I walked to school and back all through my school years. The distance was 4 miles one way. And when I was about Std. 3 (9 years old), this suitcase looking school bag was in fashion, chequered and red was the popular colour.

IMG_2172.jpg
Of course, I wanted one and Mum obliged. It was a terrible idea, because when it rained, holding the bag in one hand and the umbrella in the other and when I had to switch hands because the bag was getting heavy - it was torture. Needless to say, that fad with me, did not last long.

IMG_2173.jpg
Story no.2👉 In secondary school, when I had Bestie-A for company during these walks, it was double-trouble. We would not use the umbrella when it rained and get to our destination soaking wet. Funnily enough, we did use the umbrella on hot days because the colour of skin was a thing (and for many it still is).

IMG_2175.jpg
I had other stories to share but I thought I'd save it for another day if she'd come with me again. I didn't want to scare her away from walks with her mother haha.

IMG_2177.jpg
Had not expected to see unfamiliar but beautiful flowers along the way, so this was fun and I must have looked silly stopping along the roads to take pics like a lost tourist, especially since most of the way, the roads have no pedestrian walk, so I am literally on the road with cars whizzing past.

IMG_2178.jpg
There were even some feathered friends hanging out by the traffic lights (not kidding). I am sure I could have taken a.better picture but they were getting agitated by my presence and so chicken-me kept my distance.

And that brings me to the end of my walk.

THANKYOU.PNG

All pics from my.gallery

Sort:  

Wow.. Looking at the pictures, I must say that your car getting stuck kind off was a blessing know?? Got some real good views and pictures there..

That's the glass half full :D

Sorry your car is having problems
Love the flowers and the view also mg the train tracks

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you. but that's okay ... it'll be fixed ;D

Thank you @tattoodjay <33

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I enjoyed the flowers... and the stories! 😁
And that yam leaf IS humongous!!!

I wonder how big the yams are ... of course it is by this big drain so ;p

Thank you @ackhoo <33

With those beautiful and colorful images, you kind of took us all along with you on your walk. A feat that would have been impossible in your car, a blessing in disguise maybe. LOL

That is so true
I miss all these trying to whizz along with the rest of the cars

Thank you @fehintolafirst

Wow the flowers and ducks look so beautiful!! So nice to see you enjoying your little walk despite of the car not working for ya. I enjoyed looking at your photos!

It was a fun walk ;D

Thank you @happycrazycon

I am glad, @kaerpediem that your daughter went with you. Times like that, are precious! You had beautiful scenery along the way as well; such nice pictures! Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

Precious and now recorded on Hive ;D
Happy you liked the walk @elizabethbit <33

So awesome! Well deserved 😃

Sorry about the car!

Love those asoka flowers!

I had to google what asoka flowers were hehe

Beautiful flowers and plants. Thanks for sharing these photos, @kaerpediem.

Thank you for dropping in ;D

Oh we did walk or cycle to schools didn't we? Children get driven by car or catch bus now not how we remember it.

Good you got to take your daughter along enjoying a chat and pretending you are a tourist in your own town, !LOLZ something I am teased about daily.

Lovely photography along the way, especially ducks keeping robot patrol!

Don’t you hate it when someone answers their own questions?
I do.

Credit: marshmellowman
@kaerpediem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (4/4)

Ducks keeping patrol hahahaha - love it

I was telling the kids, I am not concerned about the distance because 2kms is very manageable even with the school bag but the roads are not designed for pedestrians. And we love making a one-lane road into two when it is busy. And everyone's always rushing rushing
So it's taken some years but I have finally said okay to the older boys cycling to school but every time they leave the house, I say a little big prayer.

Thank you @joanstewart for making me laugh <33

Distance to boys schools when younger sometimes they walked home from school, depending on heat, or caught bus home. Too many children had been knocked off bicycles or they were stolen so we stopped them cycling before they started literally.

Have a great week, we worry about the guys going alone yet we did it, more vehicles on the roads makes this difficult, times have changed or we worry too much!