Petroglyphs and Dino Tracks

in Wednesday Walklast year

Hello Hivers

Moab, Utah

Thanks to @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk

This interesting short hike was taken a few weeks ago when I was in Moab, Utah.

Located on Potash Rd outside of town. At first I didn't see them, but....

IMG_9460.jpg

looking up about 20-30' they were visible. This is due to the scree... loose soil, stones, due to erosion settled at the bottom of the cliff. It was all removed ...

IMG_9465.jpg

when they built the highway. The older carvings are from the Southern San Rafael Fremont culture, about 600AD TO 1300AD, these are the triangles, horns, etc...the...

IMG_9467.jpg

the more recent carvings are from the Ute culture, they consist of hunting art.

Further down the road, a perilous, but short walk brings you to dinosaur tracks.

IMG_9468.jpg

Two are very obvious, recently plaster of paris was used to make a copy of them, apparently there are many other tracks in this slab of rock.

IMG_9479.jpg

Thanks for joining me on this short but interesting walk.

HiveDivider.png

wefdnesday walk.jpg

Sort:  

Woah these are some amazing rock carvings. I find them very artistic! Also makes me wonder why those civilizations depicted almost exclusively hunting scenes.. Any idea?
Thanks for sharing your Wednesday explorations, @karbon :)

Thank You @marilandia I assume it has to do with their God or Spirits, or a remembrance of a great hunt.. interesting either way, I love archeological sites..

Me too, I love archaeology, in fact I'm right now working on my next post about a super exciting archaeological site :)

Great!! I am excited to see it.... I volunteered at an archeological dig a few years ago in Italy, an Etruscan site...was an amazing experience....I'm excited to see more about your travels....

Wow how cool you got to see these and share with us!
Love this kind of stuff ❤ @karbon! :-)

Thank You!! I’m into archeology, glad others can appreciate it as well…

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @EwkaW I appreciate the support

How cool is that - really impressive !!!!
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @hoosie

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thank you ! I really appreciate that.