My Wednesday Walk, May 20th, 2020

in Wednesday Walk4 years ago

I'm cheating a little with this post...

This walk took place yesterday, and I'm happy I was able to go out because today, Wednesday, the weather is not very nice. It's windy and the amount of pollen in the air is really aggravating my allergies today.

P5190140.jpg

Ah, but yesterday the sun was shinning and it was warm and the flowers looked beautiful.

P5190137.jpg

I took a walk with Cathy to the nearby Spring Ridge Commons which is a community garden a few blocks from home.

eagles_edit.jpg

Overhead, we heard the distinctive cry of a bald eagle. I looked up and very high above us I saw a small bird dive-bombing an eagle. This was far too high for me to get clear photos, but I made this image from three shots to give some impression of the action. I can't identify the smaller bird but it might be a coopers hawk. I'm always amazed at how brave the small birds are as they attempt to chase eagles out of their territory. Seagulls and crows do this quite often.

P5190155.jpg

Quite a bit closer, I found this lovely caterpillar on a leaf.

P5190172.jpg

Next, we headed downtown to an art store where Cathy purchased a new paint brush. The store was allowing one customer at a time inside so I waited on the street where I found this cool old car.

P5190193.jpg

Returning to our neighbourhood in Fernwood, I noticed the small grocery store was doing a brisk business. I've always found this store to be quite picturesque.

P5190163.jpeg

Apparently, I'm not the only one to think so. Across the street the artists were lined up two-deep to make oil paintings of the store. I asked permission to take this shot and the woman agreed but then laughed and started fussing with her hair. "Five dollars" she said, "I want five dollars!"

P5190190.jpeg

Finally, we stopped at a sidewalk cafe for coffee. I'm so happy to see that patios have been re-opened, and seating was also available inside - at half capacity. We were the only customers, but it seems that businesses are beginning to open up again!

All photos were taken by me, @keithboone. Thanks very much for visiting!


The Wednesday Walk community was created by @tattoodjay. You can find his post for today here.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thanks so much, I appreciate your support!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 6 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

this time of year plays havoc with my allergies as well,

and BTW not cheating at all the walk can be any day :)

amazing how small birds seem to sometimes fearlessly attack larger ones

LOve all the shot son your walk it sure looks like it was such a pleasant day

That car is so cool for sure

things are opening up here for Restaurants only outdoor seating at the moment but its a start

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you for running this community, it's a lot of fun!

I do love running, but I am thinking about having a break from Hive and online for a day or week

Everyone needs some time off and too much online activity can be tiring after a while. Come back after a rest!

Such an interesting post @keithbone with so much variety. We just have to make the most of fine days and get out to appreciate the fresh air and take in what's happening around us.

And isn't it encouraging to see more action on our streets once more?

I really love that capture of the caterpillar with the fine detail on top of that green glossy leaf.

Have an awesome weekend my friend.