Wednesday Walk: Bicycle ride. Looking for a monument

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Hi everybody!

Today I want to talk about how I was looking for a monument to the deceased pilot in the vicinity of the city.

20220904_123054.jpg

In mid-August, the city community on VK was reminded of the tragedy that occurred on August 16, 2009. On that day, the Russian Knights aerobatic team was making a training flight before the air show at MAKS, and at some point the two planes collided. The pilots ejected. Two survived, and the commander of the "Russian Knights" Igor Tkachenko died. His parachute did not open.

The pilot himself was buried in Kubinka (there is the base of the aerobatic team), and a monument was erected at the place of his death.

As it turned out, this monument is not so far from my house, about 14 km. The road was generally clear and I rode a bicycle.

The first stop to check the map was at an unnamed but very pretty pond:

20220904_115130.jpg

After the pond, after 500 meters, the most unpleasant section of the route began.

20220904_115552.jpg

I had to drive on a narrow road with no shoulders. I'm always nervous on such roads and I don't like to drive on them!

20220904_115908.jpg

I am afraid to ride a bike on the roads, but I overcame my fear and went. The scenery along the way was the most ordinary. To the right and to the left, fields, mostly cornfields, and only the sky was extremely picturesque.

20220904_122510.jpg

20220904_123058.jpg

At the village of Malakhovo, I again slowed down to look at the map and photographed the local church of Dmitry Solunsky.

20220904_125550.jpg

About an hour later I reached the desired village:

20220904_130614.jpg

The monument was found very easily, it was visible from the road sign.

20220904_130932.jpg

After inspecting the monument, I set off on my way back. I stopped on a hill to take a picture of my city:

20220904_132828.jpg

And she made one more stop when she noticed bouquets of fresh flowers on the side of the road. This is another tragedy that recently happened in our area. A young couple in a car flew off the road at a sharp turn and the car fell into a ditch with water so that it was not visible. The guys were looking for a month and that's just the other day found.

20220904_133818.jpg

Then, almost all the way, thoughts were spinning in my head about how fragile life is. A moment and that's it, there is no man! People, take care of yourself!

However, I do not like to linger in such thoughts for a long time. At some point, mentally wishing the Kingdom of Heaven to all the dead, I switched my attention by an effort of will.

On the way, I came across a farmer's shop, and I looked in there. I bought delicious bread and natural kefir. Tried at home, I liked the products of the farm.

And made another stop near the local hippodrome. I wanted to see the horses.

This beauty even allowed herself to stroke her nose. In horses, it is warm and velvety.

20220904_143716.jpg

From the hippodrome, I drove non-stop to the house, had lunch and collapsed on the sofa.

In the end, I rode a bike for about 30 kilometers. As planned, I found a monument at the site of the death of the pilot, visited the farm and the hippodrome. 30 kilometers is not much for a bike ride, but due to the busy road and strong wind, this distance was difficult for me.

Thank you all for your attention and support!

Have a good day.

Sort:  

I love that little pond especially with the reflection, riding on those roads with no shoulder must be concerning

glad you found the monument

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @may2015.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more