A walk along the Soca River over the new suspended footbridge

in Wednesday Walklast year

I have been planning this walk for some time. In October, a new suspended footbridge was opened across the Soca river, and we finally did our walk with the family. We went for the walk in the morning, because the weather forecast for the afternoon was not very promising. You know, I'd rather have a bad walk in the dry than a good walk in the rain 😏

Solkan is a small town, a suburban settlement on the northern outskirts of Nova Gorica, located in western Slovenia, right next to the Italian border. The town is best known for the Solkan Bridge, which has the longest stone arch in the world, and for organising the biggest kayaking competitions for juniors and younger on wild waters.

Let's go back to our walk on Wednesday. As soon as we got out of the car, we saw the new suspended footbridge in front of us. I have to admit that this new facility changes the view of the whole area quite a bit, in my opinion, for the better, of course.

Construction of the suspended bridge started in autumn 2020, but unforeseen field works delayed construction until October this year, when the suspended footbridge was finally opened to the public. This is the third bridge over the Soca River in Solkan, the first for road traffic, the second for rail traffic, and the third (and for now the last) for pedestrians and cyclists.

The 120-metre-long and three-metre-wide suspended footbridge has a carrying capacity of up to 1000 people. I hope the builders have calculated the carrying capacity correctly, as the height of the suspended footbridge over the river is 22 metres 😗

The view from the suspended footbridge was truly breathtaking. When you are 22 metres above the emerald Soca River, you realise the power of nature and you feel so small. On top of it all, I didn't expect the suspended footbridge to sway. I didn't feel it when I stepped on the suspended footbridge, but when I stopped to take a few more photos, I realised without a doubt, that I was standing on a suspension footbridge and not on a normal bridge. It wasn't too bad, but we continued on our way quite quickly 😋

The new suspended footbridge also connects the new cycle path with the existing one along the Soca riverbed. In the future, it will also connect the new inter-city cycle links, which will be completed soon.

The start of the route climbs steeply immediately. For less physically fit cyclists it will probably be a challenge, but for good recreational cyclists it will be a piece of cake. We warmed up quite nicely at the top of the hill and got a bit out of breath 🙃

The path is well maintained and protected by a fence. Signposts are placed in the right places, so you can find your way around even if it's your first time. Speed limit signs were not forgotten either, as the safety of all participants is the first priority.

We continued our walk for another half an hour. On the way we came across an orchard with a beehive, a beautifully decorated cottage and the ruins of an old house, showing us where people used to live. Then our walk was interrupted by rain, which made us head back home.

I hope you enjoyed today's walk. The construction of the new planned paths will provide new recreational opportunities in the area, as well as wonderful new walks and cycling trips. I can't wait 😚

🎆🎆🎆 Happy New Year! May the new year be full of memorable adventures and great opportunities! 🎆🎆🎆

Thanks for reading,
feel free to leave a comment, I will be glad to reply to.
Best regards, @miljo76

follow.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very nice view, good idea for a trip once next year 😀

I agree, maybe it really is too late for this year 🙃 You can ride your bike on the cycle path all the way to the town of Plave. See you!

This looks like paradise to me, good weather or bad weather, regardless. I would be happy to walk through the bridge in any weather. I know it's a challenge for many but I love places like that and the surroundings is just amazing. It's nice to see some green at this time of the year. Congrats on the gorgeous photos!

Thanks for your nice comment @erikah! People say, there is no bad weather, only bad clothing 😉 And I also agree. The Mediterranean climate has a strong influence on the whole region here. We have very mild winters, very little snow and the grass is still green 😉 Children miss the snow, but that is solved by a half-hour car drive to the nearest plateau. The sea is also half an hour's drive away. It really is like a green little paradise here 💚 Thank you for stopping by!

Hi there, just wondering, is this your account? thanks
https://blurt.blog/@miljo76

Hi @livinguktaiwan, this is the first time I have seen this page/site. The posts and photos are definitely mine, but I didn't post them. I post mostly through the Ecency interface, I had never heard of https://blurt.blog until a few minutes ago. I'm on Hive since 2nd Dec 2021, on this page as far as I can see someone joined July 2022. Also the dates of the posts don't match mine, I posted my first post 3rd Dec 2021, on this page it was posted 3rd July 2022. To answer the question this account is not mine and I don't manage it.
Thanks for the information, is there anything I can do to avoid such things?

Someone has been targeting Hive accounts on Blurt and it's happened to others in the past. It's best if you clarify it on Hive. If you check the below account on blurt, you will see a link to their discord channel where you can report your account as fake.

https://peakd.com/hive-165469/@occupy-mars/kradenij-kontent-z-mogo-blogu-na-blurt-stolen-content-from-my-blog-on-blurt

I've also just got their channel on Dicord for reporting plagiarism, spam, or abuse (#blurtabuse channel on OpenBlurt.Chat). I'll report it and let you know what I've arranged. Thank you again!

That's great, get it sorted out before it impacts you on Hive.

I have reported the abuse and I'm waiting for their response. Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it!

Btw, you're following this fake account who is stealing images from @belug
https://peakd.com/@vildani2022

Hi, just to let you know, the blog profile and all posts on blurt have been flagged for plagiarism/fake. Thank you for the information!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1744.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Many thanks @livinguktaiwan and @pinmapple Team!

I love your photos. The river looks so clean too.

Hi @shula14, you are right, the river is very clean. But it is even cleaner in the upper part. There, the water is really crystal clear. If you want to know more, you can read my post here. Thanks for stopping by!

I'll check on it!

I to would enjoy a bad walk in the dry :)

and WOW what a bridge thanks for sharing it withus

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, I always love seeing all the walks shared from around the world, its like a virtual world tour

It is my pleasure, @tattoo-djay! Ha ha, I believe you, but I still prefer to choose a good walk 🙃 Thank you for stopping by!

Wao i really love your collections friend @miljo76
I hope i can learn more you am happy to meet people like you to help me develope more skills

Thanks @tobywalter, I appreciate it! Just keep doing your best 👍