Wednesday Walk - River Algar

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

IMG_20210331_090319.jpg

In these beautiful weather conditions, it is best to go for a walk in nature and recharge your batteries with the positive vibrations that a green environment can give us. Of course, if you have the time or you are in good health. During the whole last week, I was not in my best shape. This time my migraine stayed with me many days, so on Saturday, I was still under that condition. However, in the afternoon we decided to take a short walk, the fresh air can not harm, just help.

IMG_20210331_090359.jpg

We went to the small river we have in the nearby village. That is a place I sometimes mention in my Actifit Reports with @mipiano.sports , so the last Saturday, we went there for just a small route. We usually do the bigger route, along the river and then we go to the orchards where orange and loquat trees are predominant. Also, there are olive, almond and carob trees, and some gardens where there are vegetables.

IMG_20210327_190410.jpg

Despite being one of the shorter versions of our walk, this Saturday I saw many things I would like to share with you here. The plot where there are goats and a horse, some small flowers and one place where is explained how the vegetation around the river has changed during some decades.

IMG_20210327_190402.jpg

Some small flowers made to catch my attention too. I like this bright-purple one, it is has a tender way of looking at me. Asking me, do you want to take a photo, look how pretty I am.

IMG_20210327_190416.jpg

This white made the same with me, passing by it I couldn't resist. So the phone approached the multitude of these white small petals that grow on a tall stem.

At one point I saw a white carpet made of thousands and thousands of small white flowers. The petals were almost transparent and bright. We can perfectly see how my phone failed to make a sharp image, it came out just blurry .... We'll pretend it was on purpose to be like that, as it would be an impressionist painting.

IMG_20210327_190202.jpg

The same carpet, but with some yellow flowers that made their way into the photo...

IMG_20210327_190210.jpg

We continued our walk, and as the river widens we can see more and more reeds. I've always thought how natural it is to have so much cod around a river. But this variety of cod is invasive and work is currently underway to suppress its growth.

IMG_20210331_090205.jpg

IMG_20210331_090107.jpg

This board explains how they are trying to reduce the growth of invasive reed. A few decades ago, the environment looked different. The town was smaller, of course, and there was more arable land, gardens and fields and orchards.

IMG_20210327_184747.jpg

The next picture, part of the board, shows a map of how the town has expanded and how the whole part around the river is overgrown with cane and greenery, and there are fewer fields where vegetables are planted.

IMG_20210327_184754.jpg

Taking measures to clean the water and to cut where there are too many reeds. When they cut them to the ground, the root is covered with a dark tarp so that it does not get light. The roots of this reed are so widespread that they cannot exterminate it another way.

IMG_20210327_184801.jpg

IMG_20210327_184844.jpg

Shortly after passing by this board, we headed back. Walking back towards the car, I knew I would see another interesting thing. More precisely, I knew that we should pass by the plot where the goats live, with whom I have already made good friends.

IMG_20210327_191619.jpg

IMG_20210327_191627.jpg

Several of them are curious. These always come when I stand by the fence. I can't get my hand through the fence to cuddle them, and they can't come out with their heads either. Just snout and tongue. So our contact is always just like this, my fingers serving as a substitute for food that could first be tasted with the tongue to see if it’s delicious. Not the first time, and I imagine neither the last. As they are there, I hope I will go to visit them each time we go to walk to the river.

IMG_20210327_191623.jpg

And this white goat came to see what was interesting happening there. But she realized it wasn't food, so she gave up quickly.

IMG_20210327_191530.jpg

This one was wiser already. Just looking at me, knowing I am just a passer-by, not the one who brings the food. Although I am not sure if I would be allowed to give them anything, I suppose they have their diet and food so the owner is maybe not happy if someone is giving the goats different things as a snack.

IMG_20210327_191506.jpg

IMG_20210327_191519.jpg

The goats continued their game. Some showed their strength by getting up on two legs, and they played and ran around that yard. Just a few steps away, another friend is waiting for me.

IMG_20210327_191535.jpg

IMG_20210327_191553.jpg

IMG_20210327_191546.jpg

IMG_20210327_191513.jpg

IMG_20210327_191600.jpg

IMG_20210327_191459.jpg

That who was waiting for me was a horse.
Ok, maybe not waiting for me, as he was in his place, but when I went there, to the only angle I can reach him, he came.

IMG_20210327_191650.jpg

IMG_20210327_191705.jpg

IMG_20210327_191706.jpg

IMG_20210327_191709.jpg

Hello sweetheart, how are you? Chilling out on a Saturday afternoon? Yes, oh I am glad to see you! Do you say you want me to cuddle you a little bit? Ok, here comes my hand, give me your snout dear four-legged beautiful friend.

IMG_20210327_191728.jpg

IMG_20210327_191717.jpg

IMG_20210327_191722.jpg

I think I felt better after this encounter, however, there was something else I found in this walk. Something I don't find many times. But, that will come for a special event that is held every Friday. :)))

Sort:  

Is that the Sierra De Bernia in the background? I love the Rio Algar and often used to visit the Font at the start of the river up in Callosa.
Have you seen the talented architect from Barcelona who makes amazing structures from those reeds? Canya Viva I think is their name.

Lovely photos @mipiano and those flower are so beautiful and the animals are so sweet.

Abrazos xx 🤗💚😊

Yes, it is Sierra Bernia :) We walk there usually on weekends. We use to make a big route, all along the river, with the starting point on the mouth of the river into the sea, walk along up to La Nucia, and somewhere in the line between urbanizacion Santa Clara and Bello Horizonte we turn back and take the path between the orchards. I like so much that walks 💚

I am glad you checked this post and hope it brings nice memories to you 😇

It is a beautiful mountain we used to hike up there quite often. I was always fascinated by the Apple tree with the tiny apples in the Car park area at the start of the trail.
I used to live in Urbanización El Tossal. It was such a good location.
I like to look for your Wednesday walk posts as they do bring back happy memories for me.

💚💚🤗🤗

I like to look for your Wednesday walk posts as they do bring back happy memories for me.

Great, I now have homework :D to bring some surrounding area walks too here !

I look forward to seeing more wonderful photos of your walks.
💚🌼🤗

cuddle_teddy2.png

These white flowers are so beautiful, and sometimes it seems to me that they look like water lilies only in a reduced version! In the village, too, I was bitten not only by goats, but by cows when my niece and I gave them apples. And this horse, he is so cute!

I will have to take care then, I need my fingers for the piano playing 😅🎹

Strange, but I didn't see any cow nearby at my place, it seems that sheep, goats, horses and donkeys are more popular.
This horse is just so nice a friendly, he always comes to the fence and stays while I am there. The goats are just curious 😂😁

The cows we have in the next yard don't leave the door until we give away all the apples! 😂

🤣

:):):):):):)😁

a beautiful walk it was!

Thanks, it was. It usually always is... the orchard part, I mention here but we didnt go this time as I was not very well, so that orchard part was the host of one of the shroomies posts hehehe . Mushrooms on the loquat trees.

Thank you for taking this walk with us :)

P.S. I hope you saw the post with the invitation 😇😋 to some muuuuuuusiiiiiiic 🎵🎵

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation