Walking Around Yokohama Port And Tasting Craft Beer

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Yokohama is a famous stop for tourists and Japanese. It's not far from the center of Tokyo, only about 30 minutes. It is a good place for sightseeing and relaxing. In this post, I would like take you on a walk around Yokohama port.

Let's go!

48a95d4a_8b8b_446a_847d_0e87de378850

We started at Yokohama Chinatown, continued on to Yamashita Park, then we stopped at the Red Brick Warehouse, and ended out walk at Cosmo World amusement park.

329b1563_1f89_41e5_9faf_5029dfa99d11

af788a2b_01ab_4aab_bfe8_a418a21ac351

img_3666

img_3664

Yokohama Chinatown is the biggest Chinatown in Japan. There are various Chinese shops and restaurants on the street. It was much more crowded than when I visited last year. I think it was a Japanese holiday and the Covid-19 situation is also back to normal. I noticed some shops selling xiaolongbao (steamed bun), Peking duck, steamed pork buns, and beverages with tapioca. I wanted to have some food here but all of the shops had long lines and I didn't want to wait so I didn't get to try the signature Chinatown foods.

img_3763

img_3765

img_3774

img_3866

img_3868

After that we walked to Yamashita Park, which is near the sea. It's a public park and open all the time. You can see the sea view from the front. The park is decorated with seasonal flowers and there are sometimes events. There is also a big garden with many kinds of roses and other flowers blooming. It's such a beautiful scene with all the colorful flowers.

It was a great day. I saw many people there to relax, have picnics, or do sports. We would have stayed all day if we'd had time.

img_3815

I then strolled around Yokohama Port to the red brick warehouse.

img_3901

img_3871

There seemed to be an event in front of the red brick warehouse. I went inside to see what it was.

img_3878

img_3874

img_3875

img_3873

It was a craft beer festival called the Fruhlings Festival. There were indoor and outdoor seats for eating and drinking. The craft beer was inside a tent which had 10 booths, and the food booths were outside the tent.

img_3898

img_3897

img_3895

img_3882

I'm not a fan of beer so I didn't know which one was best. I wanted to try the cherry & cranberry lager beer, but unfortunately, it was sold out. So I ordered the Yokohama Xpa, which got the world beer award, and my friend tried a mixed berry beer. We each drank a glass of beer. If we drank any more than that, we might be drunk. LOL. Normally, I don't drink beer much because I'm a lightweight.

img_3906

We kept walking to Cosmo World, which is a tiny amusement park located in Yokohama’s bayside Minato Mirai district. The giant diving coaster and Ferris wheel are hard to miss, you can see them from so far away. This theme park is for all ages. It is separated into 2 parts by a river. It was also our final stop before going back to Tokyo.

img_0767

Thank you for stopping by my post. If you enjoyed reading it, please upvote & follow me for more posts and photos about life in Japan 🇯🇵 and Thailand 🇹🇭

Sort:  

Great collection of photos! Of course I like the beer shots ;)

Whenever I see Chinatown photos I am struck by how different the style is from typical Japan. The contrast is interesting!

Thank you for stopping by my post, I know you like craft beer 🍻🤣

WOW what a walk, I never expected a tour there would include a beer fest
Back in the day I would have loved the Beer fest but not having drank any beer or alcohol for a few years I think I too would be a lightweight LOL

Loved how colorful the streets and for that matter the flowers were

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoy it. 😁

Such a great walk… and what a selection of amazing photographs.
Love the lanterns and advertising in the first photos…
Thanks for sharing 👋🏻😁

Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoy it. 😁

You are so welcome @noopu 😁 I sure did.
Have an amazing Friday 👋🏻

I love Yokohama 😍 I had 小籠包 with Brooklyn lager there once! That was the best combination 😉

This time I didn’t eat anything, I just passed because it was crowded. I tried one last year, it was good. 😁

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.