Wednesday Walk in Photos and Verse

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

Two weeks ago, everything was covered with a thick layer of beautiful, pure white, snow. Now the snow is slowly melting in the warmer air, oozing water from the tops of the drifts, making the once light snow drifts into sodden snow-mud, and water is streaming out their bottoms, The bits of leaves, needles, twigs and other detritus that had been suspended throughout the drifts are now left on top, as if floating there. In other spots, the snow was gone, leaving impossibly vibrant life in its wake.

As I took a walk yesterday in the bright sun, I was struck by the beauty of the things at my feet. I present some of those photos here, the ones that captured the subtle colors. Hopefully I have turned nature's roar into human art.

I've added short poems to each photo, because in everything there is a poem.

IMG_20210301_125320983.jpg

others marvel at edifices,
visages,
or clouds in the sky,
but I see wonderful things
at my feet


IMG_20210301_125928221.jpg

snow slowly melts
leaving natures detritus
to float on top


IMG_20210214_142739206.jpg

I wonder who idled long enough
in my driveway
to leave this gorgeous oil slick,
resplendent one day,
and gone the very next


IMG_20210301_125617259.jpg

The first bloom of 2021
is life saving.

Chickweed


IMG_20210214_142628322_HDR.jpg

outsmarting snow
is easier
if you team up with stone

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

images are mine


Sort:  

Oh how I love this! I love the stones outsmarting the snow on the muddy pathways, and the way you sum it up in a few concise syllables. And this - this!!

others marvel at edifices,
visages,
or clouds in the sky,
but I see wonderful things
at my feet


You captured the conflict in my novel: the father, a farmer, rooted to the earth. His offspring, pilots, at home in the sky, restless, discontented to be stuck on a farm, mired in dirt and chores.
Poets capture everything better than novelists, especially poets like you!
Earth, Air, Fire, Water - no one element is more vital than another. Most of us tend to identify with, or "embrace," one more than another. I'm a little too fond of fire.
There are whole books about the very existence of life on planet earth being entirely a result of ice.
Of course I cannot think of a single title now. Later. (Someone stop me from searching online for obscure facts nobody needs to know at this hour!)

#chickweed - life saving, like water and earth. How is Jimmy today???

lovely images. I can feel some poetry, indeed :P

Your trouble is you will not accept a paradox

The one thing I could count on was my cube!

I love this video. Thanks for providing it.

Make sure you download a copy and save it.

It's banned.

image.png

It's funny how pollution can be so beautiful sometimes.

As a lifelong Earthgazer, I find this truly beautiful 💛✨