A Walk on the Bob Callan Trail {Atlanta, Georgia}

Bob Callan Trail Post 1.png

Hey friends! Yep, I'm back with another non-food post. Well, can you blame a gal for getting outside when the skies are clear and the weather is perfect for exploring? I've also not joined in with the #wednesdaywalk crew in a while, so I figured I'd make a surprise appearance. 😉

Despite being a pretty large city, Atlanta also is home to many different walking trails to get a taste of nature without even having to venture far from the city limits. I have a few regular favorites that I enjoy mostly for running, but on days when I want to slow it down they are just as enjoyable for a little stroll. One of the trails that isn't too far from where I spend my days is the Bob Callan Trail. Not too long ago they added on a new part of the trail, but between busy life and of course Covid, I hadn't gotten the chance to check it out yet. This week I had time to finally do just that!

IMG_20201019_121755887_HDR.jpg

I'm quite familiar with the 4-mile round trip on the other part of the trail (with some major hills along that way), but I wasn't quite sure how long the addition was or where it lead out to. Both parts of the trail meander close to an offshoot of the Chattahoochee River, called Rottenwood Creek. This part of the trail actually followed closely to the creek, giving very peaceful water sounds as I walked down along the paved path.

IMG_20201019_121901806.jpg

The trail goes underneath a few bridges, which means it's always kind of interesting to see some of the graffiti that pops up, as well. Some is just straight up art, while some makes you think.

IMG_20201019_122238826_HDR.jpg

Back to the other side, I found a little viewpoint tucked into the trail overlooking the creek. That's the nice thing about walking versus running--more time to stop and take in the beauty around you!

IMG_20201019_122322819_HDR.jpg

The other benefit of being close to the water is that it does tend to stay cooler on the trail. Despite it being the middle of October, we're still getting some warm days here. A cool breeze and shade was welcome to keep my walk quite comfortable. I'm sure the few runners passing by appreciated it, as well.
IMG_20201019_122631687_HDR 1.jpg

Though I did come across this little guy above who was enjoying a few bits of sunshine. I love seeing wildlife along the way, though I much prefer turtles to snake sightings. They all serve a purpose in the ecosystem, but snakes kind of give me the shivers. When I turned around to come back this way, the turtle was still there and a gentlemen with two dogs almost stepped on him thinking it was a rock! Luckily he swerved so as not to interrupt my friend's sunbathing.

IMG_20201019_123108606_HDR.jpg

Some more cool scenery before finding where the trail ended up. It was only about a mile from the parking lot, but enough to add some extra distance to the other portion of the trail if you want a longer walk or run. I turned around before the very end and made my way back since I only had about 30 minutes to get my outdoor activity in.

IMG_20201019_123634677_HDR.jpg

The trail was quiet, but not so much so that I felt nervous walking alone. Unfortunately as a female we do have to take care where we choose to get our activities in sometimes. A few of the local office buildings have walkways out to the trail, with some having video cameras for safety. I'm sure it is more for their own safety protocol, but it does make you feel a little more secure passing by and knowing they are there. Being so close to those businesses also means that there are usually at least a small number of employees taking walking breaks that you pass along the way, too. I hate even having to think about it, but it is what it is. At least my joy of the beautiful weather and surrounding nature wasn't tainted in the least.

IMG_20201019_124122911.jpg

Happy to once again share my view with you! I love getting a chance to see all the great trails all around other parts of the world, so it's fun to give you all a taste of what Atlanta has to offer. Hoping for many more days like this one to enjoy ahead...




Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

Very cool photography and beautiful nature.

Thank you @sreypov! Very much enjoying capturing my time outside lately!

Lo9ks lovely. I'm with you on the turtles over snakes.. saw two snakes last week aaaaggghhhhhhhh.

Why do you think I haven't popped in the Nat Med discord lately? You scared me away with that last snake picture, hahaha! I know they are lovely creatures, I just much prefer them from afar. Especially the poisonous ones, of which we do have a few here. Though I know you've got quite a few dangerous ones over there. However it usually just comes down to respecting all beings, and they generally respect you back, right?

hahaha YOU CHICKEN!!!

I know you haven't been there coz you is LAZY, don't blame it on slitherly poisonous things..!!!

Yeah I reckon - Jamie's always 'watch out for the bees' when I walk past our hives and I'm like, nah, me and the bees are homies :P

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 58000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 59000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

Hah, that chelonian is doing a short work of the trail :)

Cool report!

Haha, yeah, don't imagine he went too far, but looked like he was enjoying himself. ;) Thanks!

Oh so gorgeous!

You know there is one thing that I love and miss about the US is the forests. They really are forests with such lovely, soft and dainty vegetation which I found so much in upstate NY/Pennsylvania border area- and which is pretty different to what we have over here.

Our forests- the vegetation here is really quite hard and harsh compared to yours- which is why we call it the bush....unless you're in a rainforesty type area....

I went through Georgia on the way from NYC to Florida and stayed on St Simon's Island for the night and what a gorgeous place that was, but unfortunately did not have the time to go any further into Georgia so next time!

Thanks so much for the tour and that another must see destination that I've just added to my list!

I can't wait to see where you take us next week. 😀

Oh I grew up in New Jersey, so I know that part of the country well! Definitely some similar scenes in forests all along the East coast, though the coastline here further south definitely has some different vibes with some of the more sub-tropical climate. Have you ever been to the west coast? Oregon and Washington have some truly amazing forests, as well. I loved visiting out there for the completely different flora and fauna! Really so many amazing spots to visit all around the country.

I would love to visit out that way, too, though. I'm sure the bush would present so many foreign sights for me to explore for a totally different scene! A girl can dream, haha!

Hiya, @LivngUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1007.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Oh gosh I'm so behind on comments, thank you so much!

Hello dear friend @plantstoplanks good evening
I appreciate that you let us know this beautiful place and all the photographs you have captured, excellent shots. Congratulations
I love nature, I really enjoyed this walk, I even perceived the fresh breeze of nature
have a wonderful night

Thank you so much @jlufer! So glad you enjoyed my post. Always lovely to take a virtual walk around Hive, right? :)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Heck of a tour guide. Pura and I just went for a decent meander ourselves, tough to take bad pictures of nature.

Rottenwood Creek sounds peculiar. 🤔

Snakes--I don't care what kinda snake it is: gardener snake, kissy snake, worlds friendliest snake, yata yata, I don't do snakes! Turtles are lot less difficult to get in focus.

WOW the scenery there is spectacular what a great place for a walk and thanks for joining the walk again :)

Thanks for Joining Wednesday Walk :)

Happy to finally join in again! It's a beautiful time of year for walking. :)

Ohh yeah I love walks at this time of year, trying to get as many in as we can before winter comes