🌳 🌲 Birdwatcher's Log : 18.05.23 🐦🐿️

in Wednesday Walk11 months ago

This is a post of #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay.
Hello everyone!🖐️

It's been a long time since I've been to the coastal forest. It is located on the very outskirts of the city along the coastline.

While I was taking out my camera, a squirrel was running around me. She ran down the hill, dug something in the foliage and grass. I managed to take this photo. She has some kind of hazelnut in her mouth.

Pied flycatchers have already arrived

I went down the hill. The river flooded the shore.

The willow warbler fussed in the bushes, examining the branches for the presence of something tasty.

Right by the water, almost by the flooded bushes, I heard the voice of a nightingale. I had to jump off a cliff to find this singer. However, it was difficult, he hid well. But nearby was a yellow wagtail. Which is amazing. They are rare in these places.

I tracked the thrush nightingale for a very long time, and yet I managed to find him!

Satisfied, I jumped back up and walked along the cliff. But then I heard another nightingale - bluethroat. And again jumped down to the bushes.

While I was enjoying the bluethroat's songs, a wryneck flew in and sat down nearby.

After climbing up again, I saw a white wagtail on the path.

And over a small lawn, this eurasian hobby falcon was flying. He alarmed all the little birds, they screamed and hid.

Then I met a very rare bird, which I had only met once before in 2019. This is a pine bunting.

At the very water's edge, in the bushes, the lesser whitethroat muttered softly.

In the same place, I accidentally saw two starlings, probably a male and a female, they walked together.

It was not in vain that I came so close to the water, especially to photograph these common sandpipers. I turned on their sounds on my new bluetooth speaker and one of them flew in.

And then a sudden event happened. I met a lady who also took pictures of birds. And so it turned out that I know her! The fact is that we have a local community about ecology, animals, nature protection, etc., in which I am a moderator. And I publish photos of birds that this lady makes with us. That's the meeting!

I showed her the place where the kingfishers live. This place is located in a ravine where a small stream flows. She was very grateful to me!

Here is that kingfisher by the way.

Then together we found a burrow of kingfishers. One bird flew there, and threw out some root or branch from there and did not appear again.

And after a while we saw a chipmunk walking along this loose slope and dragging something big in his mouth. He hid out there. Honestly, a dangerous neighborhood.

We said goodbye and I moved on. I climbed up the hill from which I usually like to look out for water birds on the river.

I went down the hill and went through the lawns into the coniferous part of this forest.

On the way I met a white-backed woodpecker.

I did not find anyone in the coniferous part of the forest and, already tired, went back. On the way I met a great tit.

And also the willow tit.

And to the fervent song of the Siberian Chiffchaff, I put the camera in my backpack and went home.

CameraLens
Nikon D5200Tamron SP AF 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD
SamsungGalaxy S22 Ultra
Sort:  

@ratel I loved the photo of the squirrel. It looked great🙌

Wow, you spoted so many birds, but squirrel picture definitely is a “winner” in this post 😅

Классная белка!

Your photos are so beautiful.I feel the excitement from your trip

WOW you got so many birds and great shots of them :)

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, its my pleasure to host it and see all the posts each week from all around the world, including yours, if you have time visit some of the other walks this week there are so many interesting ones