Wednesday Walking (Back) Through the Marsh

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

turtles on a log.JPG

For this week's #wednesdaywalk, as hosted by @tattoodjay , I went back to the place that brings me much joy. That place, as usual, the local marsh located only a 10 minute walk away from our home.

twp geese swimming.JPG

This area is actually undergoing a bit of a drought. I don't know if it is the lower water levels that is attracting so much wildlife activity of late or what, but there is a lot of wildlife activity. Lots of noises, sounds, and smells...all of it is wonderful and ready to be enjoyed. More importantly, all of it is ready to be photographed.

geese on a log.JPG


white bird.JPG

Not only were the geese and herons at it, but the bees were at it too. As always, I've learned to appreciate those pollinators. They make great photos, but more importantly, keep the world and the earth alive.

bee on plant.JPG


I also managed a few photos of the wood duck. I don't remember ever seeing this type of duck in this part of the world or marsh when I was younger. Maybe it's a new visitor with all the changes in the world.

orange duck 2.JPG


organge billed duck.JPG

The of course there ist he wonderful pastoral of algae; like oil on paper, each one of these is like a painting in and of itself.

IMG_1021.JPG


algae.JPG

What can I say? The marsh is the gift that keeps on giving. The green, despite the drought, is still in full effect. Honestly, even watch the Canadian geese eating is a relaxing endeavor to watch from afar.

geese eating.JPG

More to come soon! I promise! Thanks for stopping by to check out my #wednesdaywalk share...I hope everyone had a wonderful Wednesday too!

Sort:  

I can see why you love this area there is something special about marshy areas always so much going on if you pay attention

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

This place really is a gift that keeps on giving, to be honest...thanks for the support as always!

The geese have clamed the log from the turtles. Quite a few of the lakes look just like that over here except in the morning there are hundreds of turtles.

The geese are certainly back here...and in a "more than usual" aggressive phase, from what I can tell from the hissing spewed at me as I walk by

They like to hiss especially loud when there are kids or dogs around over here.

I like the color of the marsh... the pale light green hue compliments the natural surroundings with the animals and looks like a healthy eco system.

many thanks...this sits literally in the middle of a town of roughly 100k folks. It's pretty cool, all things considered!