A Visit with an Elderly Friend

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago (edited)

There is a group of elderly women who regularly come to Church. I made friends with them and make it a point to visit with them in their homes. This lady I met some three years ago. She is 80 years old and so full of energy.

Memory is the treasure house of the mind wherein the monuments thereof are kept and preserved. ~ Thomas Fuller

This is the welcome sign by her door.



She loves birds, cats, and plants. In fact, she used to have birds and cats.



Yet at her age, she no longer keep pets. So she makes do with still and inanimate cats and birds.






Her house plants are succulents and those that don't require much care. She likewise changed the landscaping at the back and front of the house.




We dream of having a clean house - but who dreams of actually doing the cleaning? We don't have to dream about doing the work, because doing the work is always within our grasp; the dream, in this sense, is to attain the goal without the work. ~ Marcus Buckingham

What will you consider changing, if any, when you reach the age of 80?


😍#ilikeitalot!😍


Wednesday Walk challenge started by @tattoodjay.

Make me Smile challenge is by @elizacheng.

Dreemport challenge is a challenge by @dreemsteem

Source: https://www.brainyquote.com/topics/house-quotes


I used Pinmapple to pin this post to the world map using a code generated at Pinmapple to mark the place where I traveled and took these photos.

It is so cool! You should try it!

[//]:# (!pinmapple 38.673682 lat -121.770342 long d3scr)

Best Regards,

@silversaver888


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!






Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.


Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!


25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP





Sort:  

At 80 things have to be low maintenance. A lovely home with a characteristic charm.
I dream of a tidy home too, but first UNCLUTTER! It's been a steady work in progress.

Always, with Love 🤗🌺❤️

Will we be stacking at that time sis?
I will die early of cancer, for sure.
It's a matter of time.
Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for joining! hehehehe In order to be an entry in the contest you need to post your steps for Actifit also hehehe (and use their #actifit tag, and also #dreemportchallenge tag - so that we can enter all the entries into DreemPort tonight to be voted on tomorrow hehehe)

If you're just joining for the fun - then what you did is brilliant! I LOVE that she was able to recreate her love for animals by adding them in a way where she didn't have to care for them... but could just enjoy the presence!!! so so so smart!!!

Let me be wise when I get older too! hehehehe I am just smiling ear to ear :)

Tahnk you for supporting this challenge with your presence! hehehe
I'm not giving upvotes today - until the winners are announced - but then I'll be back tomorrow to drop more love! hehehehe

Thank you @silversaver888 !!!!

Hehehe, Okay I did!!!
Have to hurry to work... I check in later!

hehehehe ok awesome! you don't have to actually use the actifit app for the steps - a screenshot added at the end of steps you did is fine! and no specific number! just whatever steps you get in the day hahaha

have a FABULOUS day at work!! Be safe - no rushing on the road heheheheh

Hmmm... I don't have actifit 😕

it's ok! for next week - if you'd like to join in, you can even add in a screenshot of any step tracker hehehe that works for me! :)

I have a step tracker on my phone. I thought you wanted actifit only, hehehe.
In the box, haha 😜😆😅😂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 68 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You Have Good Hobby

Yes, I visit them at least once a month, or often when I have the time.
It's good to have tea with the ladies!
They have all sorts of things to share!

I'm 64 and I am already changing a lot of things. If I had known I was going to live this long, I would have taken better care of myself... LOL ! If I have to climb a ladder to do something or get down on my knees on the ground, it's out !

"We dream of having a clean house - but who dreams of actually doing the cleaning? We don't have to dream about doing the work, because doing the work is always within our grasp; the dream, in this sense, is to attain the goal without the work. ~ Marcus Buckingham" Aint THAT the truth !?

That porch looks like a very pleasant place for a good visit.

Hahaha... you do take care of yourself!
You are still young. They said that 60s are the new 40s. I wonder if that's true.
Then what of the 40s. Does it mean that we are the new 20s? I feel so old already, hehehe!
Nah, forever young!!!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

So nice of you to visit her and what a fun house with all the cats and birds all be it ornamental ones

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Hehehe, I wonder if she talks to them. Well, I should ask her.
Visiting her and the others somehow makes my life worthwhile.

It just shows what a good person you are visiting her and others and yes I wonder dies age talk to them

Ms. Saver You Know Me, I will still be Playing Monsters at 80.......... @silversaver888
Collecting SPS is just Plain Smart !

Yes, collecting SPS just for playing, hehehe!

!LUV

LUV

Connect

Trade


@silversaver888, you've been given LUV from @stokjockey.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

Thanks for the token, @stokjockey!

Hello dear friend @ silversaver888 good night
I love the space that this lady has to receive her guests, it looks very cozy
I wish you a splendid night

During winters I visit inside the house, but in summer it is good outside!
Have a nice day, @jlufer!!

She sounds like a very spry 80 years young @silversaver888!😀 Funny how time slips by so quickly my friend...
No more mowing the grass at 80 my friend...."Liz so we need a bigger concrete patio Lol"!!😇

Yes, no more mowing of grass!
With the profits of cryptos, you can have someone come to do that for you, hehehe!
@silvertop 😀

My next door neighbor that is a retired Pastor, loves to mow......
Maybe I will let him mow MY yard Lol!!😇😀

Hahaha! If he knew what you were thinking 😆😜!

Jim as a sense of humor....when we voted for our new pastor after Church one Sunday, I told Jim I was going "ADD" his name on the voting ballot.
He is very happy to be retired....he said " Double salary for me Lol, and Mike and Liz will now be doing music EVERY week Lol!😳

Oh my!!
!Practice, practice... every Saturday, hehehe 👍😀!

🤣🤣🤣

"We dream of having a clean house - but who dreams of actually doing the cleaning? We don't have to dream about doing the work, because doing the work is always within our grasp; the dream, in this sense, is to attain the goal without the work. ~ Marcus Buckingham"-----I LOVE this! I can SO relate!

I like the atmosphere of her home; inviting and she still has her 'pets' just a different version of them!

It's also nice that you take the time to go and visit these ladies! Way to go @silversaver888- thanks for caring for them!🤗🤗🤗💕💕💕😘😘😘🌸

Hehehe, you like that saying!
To make sure my house is clean, I do a chore a day.
It's a matter of habit already!
And so are my visits to the elderly.
Do you know that in my faith, it is a corporal act of mercy?
Hugs and Kisses sis 🥰🌺🤙!

We are all charged to take care of widows and orphans, and each other!😇.

I need to make a few new habits! Maybe someday when the reno's done, then it will feel more balanced. Take care sis!🤗😘🌸

At 80 and full of energy?! I admire this lady. She has a beautiful home and keeps her love close to her - I mean the small statues of cats, birds and her plants are lovely.

I'm sure I would change a lot of things when I get older. I would want to be surrounded by nature and it's beauty!

Oh yes! And there are five of them! Two still drive their vehicles, would you believe!
When they were younger, they did exercise classes, and cruised often, and enjoyed their lives.
Her garden gets tended to by a professional gardener once in a while!
Thank you, @kemmyb, for visiting my blog.
I appreciate it!

Age 80 for me is in 22 years and we have no kids. WHo's gonna take care of my garden and shoppings?

That seems so far away still!
Don't hurry it up~
YOU will do your own garden still, and shopping!!!
If not your wife, then you will be strong for you are your wife, hahaha!
Or by then, having a maid will help.

Why can't she keep pets? if I may ask.

Oh! Is it to avoid the burden of having to take care of those?

Well I like her collections of plants.

Meanwhile you do well to visit them.

A personal choice? Maybe she has allergies? hahaha.
One of the things I learned in dealing with friends is
I don't ask questions. I wait for information to be volunteered.

Have a nice day, @mmykel!

Thank you so much for this entry! It was lovely! The announcement post is up with the winners! Would love to see you next week!

Thank you, @dreemport!

Very welcome! so happy that we had such a nice turnout!!! your presence was so appreciated :)

If you'd like to join again, please feel free! :) or spread the word!! hehehe

Yes, I'll spread the word! And I'll join again!!!

wonderful!!! thank you so much! :)