An Old Chicago Wednesday Walk

I found some old photos on my previous phone from a Chicago commute home for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay

ChicagoTheater1.jpg
These photos are circa 2015 and it was on my old Samsung phone so the quality isn't the greatest. One of my friends from work actually went to this Bill Burr show back in the day.

ChicagoTheater.jpg
The classic Chicago Theater sign is a great place to see tourists taking photos. Though in this case I was just a bit late for the train so I had to stretch out my walk on the commute home.

lights.jpg
Here are some random lights just off the side of State street.

cathedral.jpg
Here is a strange outdoor cathedral looking place, possibly some kind of Methodist related church. They call it the Chicago Temple.

stainedGlass.jpg
The stain glass depictions are interesting.

stainedGlass1.jpg
Here's a close-up of one of the windows. Looks like some kind of pilgrim era depiction.

stainedGlass2.jpg
I wonder if these windows depict the early settling of Chicago and this one maybe shows the actual Chicago river in it...

ChicagoAtNight.jpg
Speaking of rivers. Here's the Chicago river at night.

operahouse.jpg
Now I'm almost to the train station, where they lit up the Chicago Opera House entrance in pink for breast cancer awareness month.

train.jpg
Now I made it to the train station. I wish my old phone had taken better pictures at night. Many of the photos look good as tiny thumbnails but once you open them there is tons of grain.

Happy vintage #wednesdaywalk :-)

Sort:  

These are really nice photos! They look very classic and grand!

It was the good old days of Chicago before the pandemic hit.

Will life ever be the same again? sigh! 😭😢

People are wising up that its not as bad as it was hyped to be.

It’s only the beginning of a new chapter of repressive lifestyle and controlled like robots! Hope there’ll be a big glitch in the scheme so there’ll be options for more freedom.

Cool. Some very cool architecture stuff. Great urban atmosphere on these photographs.

If only my old samsung took better pictures.

:) I always think that about moments caught by some of my old compact cameras ... but it's much better than nothing.

They are only good at like 25-50% resolution, maybe I have to do a grid of images to hide the bad quality...

I do that sometimes :) not a bad idea.

I haven't been there in ages. I never heard out the outdoor church, that's very cool. Bill Burr is a legend, would be really cool to have made that show.

I think that outdoor area is just for random people to sit. I don't think they have outdoor services. Though now with covid who knows if they actually do have outdoor services there...

I was almost going to get tickets to that show. Ahh the good old days of being able to go to concerts and comedy shows.

Nice walk and wonderful photos ...😊 I liked the pictures on the glass the most ... and the night on the river.
Have a nice day @sketch.and.jam 🌞

Thanks :-) Maybe later this year I'll be commuting back into Chicago again. I'll need to take a full inventory of those stained glass windows.

Most welcome @sketch.and.jam 🤗
Nice plan, I hope you realize it😊