Wednesday Walk - Frozen Lake

It finally got cold enough to freeze the lake for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay

Almost all the leaves are down and the cold wind is whipping around everywhere. The lake is fully frozen over but still not thick enough for ice skating.


There are plenty of rose hips to harvest this time of year as well.


This amount would last the whole winter for making some rose hip tea. I also see sparrows sometimes eating them.


All sorts of prairie plants are dried out and the seeds are flying everywhere.


Though the sun was out it wasn't quite powerful enough to warm you up in the cold wind. It did highlight these dried out weeds nicely. If I was a squirrel I would be using these as insulation for my nest lol.


The reed seeds would also work well as insulation.


Now time for some serene photos of the frozen lake.


Here's where the shoreline meets the deeper area of the lake.


Oh no, my serene ice photos are polluted by some culprits.


These are the culprits, looks like they have moved on to pooping up the football field too. Poor kids are going to have to slip and slide on the presents the geese have left lol. You wouldn't want to get tackled and land in a bunch of goose poop.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Its been cold enough here the lake is trying to freeze up too. But mostly just thin ice around the shore. No geese around right not to pollute on the ice though lol Just a few ducks.

Your lake is probably much deeper, it will take serious subzero temps to freeze it eventually. I used to walk my neighbor's dog around that park and it was a heck of a time trying to keep the silly dog from eating all that goose poop. For some reason they removed the coyote statues off the football field and that was an open invitation for the geese to go and poop up the all grass field.

Such a beautiful captures @sketch.and.jam 😎
Is the lake fully frozen already?
It does look stunning, and all leaves are almost gone. Such a different sight.
Thanks for sharing your walk around the lake. Have a great evening!

The ice is still pretty thin, it can only support the weight of a plump goose right now.

Yep… it need to grow a bit more in thickness.
Still cool to see 😎

I really do not like the cold so much as I get older, but the frozen lake does look beautiful

love all the shots of the plants

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk :)

Arizona is the place to be right now, nice and warm during the day. It does get cold there at night though.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks @bhattg :-)

!giphy welcome

!PIZZA

wow... The place is very beautiful, if the house is on the water.feels cool when we sleep, as well as other pictures, very interesting to see.

It used to be a boathouse but now you can schedule events there as it s part of a park now. Lots of people have weddings there.

wow... It looks good,if the house is rented out,I can't wait to stay a few nights there.

Oh nice! You have frost already. I wish to get some snow this year here too 💙

It's snowed lightly a couple times too, nothing too deep yet though.

Great photos of such magical colours (but not the ice....Brrr..)
i mean it looks cool- from a distance. You know- Across the oceans...🤣

And speaking of cool, it is still freezing here- 14/15/16 c and it would normally be 30-35+- even higher....so sick of winter and rain!

I'm just getting started with winter here, it will be a good three months of darkness and snow soon lol. After walking a few times out in the cold I get acclimated. There's a nice custom here where you pig out on Thanksgiving dinner then go on a long hike the next day in the cold to burn off calories.

I know that you guys are just coming into winter and I fee so sorry for you to ave to out up with that cold, though I'm sure by now you're probably so used to it that you don't really notice it and maybe even enjoy it...

But if you ever want to escape your winter you always welcome to my spare bedroom and to my summer here!

(when it eventually happens here...)

Oooh and while I was away I thought of you and got some photos of mushrooms too!

And I didn't even eat them...not these days...Blue meanies and gold tops are not on my menu anymore...shame about that, they were fun- magic even...🤣😂😅

Yeah the winter has killed all the mushrooms around here, if I'm lucky I might be able to find some enokitake growing aka winter mushrooms. I've never heard of the gold tops before are they amanitas?

Lolzs...not sure what species the Gold tops are, but they are in the same magic family as the Blue Meanies (if that's even THEIR real names...) 🤣😃😀

Well I'll sift through my photos and hopefully find the fungi that I found for you on my holiday and share it with you when you're getting the DT's!

Ah so the golden tops are cubensis as well like the blue meanies.

Well that's a pretty magical name for a magical adventure! 😃

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

This amount would last the whole winter for making some rose hip tea.

A hot tea with lemon juice and honey is delicious and healthy. Especially when the temperature is cold outside. Stay warm.

Lots of vitamin C in rose hips from what I read, good for helping keep your immune system up in the winter for sure.

What a lovely collection of photos. I like the bullrushes.

I've never had rose hips tea before but I've heard of them. Can you eat them off the vine or do they taste terrible like that?

Had a laugh at the geese and them being the naughty culprits. They're very pretty when up close.

Aha so that's what those fluffy things are called, thanks for the ID. For the rose hips I just pull them off the stem and boil them as a tea. By themselves they taste a bit tangy because they have lots of vitamin c, but if you add some herbal tea with them and some honey they taste amazing. As for the geese I wonder if one of them could work as a Thanksgiving turkey lol.

You're welcome. Thanks for teaching me about rose hips, I'll be keeping a look out to see if I can find them here. I probably have walked past them before not recognising them.

Oh for sure, I'm sure that a Thanksgiving goose would hit the spot nicely. I don't know how much difference there would be in taste, think they may even taste better than turkey does.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@bhattg(5/10) tipped @sketch.and.jam (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Oh, you have rosehip too! The earth is very small. We are on different sides of the globe, but nature is so similar sometimes.

Yeah the wild roses are quite common here, plenty to harvest in most of the wild areas. We also have loads of other edible plants that grow everywhere here too like burdock root and of course dandelions. I'm still mostly just good at knowing edible mushrooms though.

Burdocks and dandelions grow in great abundance here. But no one collects them.

I prepare rosehip for the winter to cook compotes.

I've only ever used them for tea but that compote looks really good too, bad for my cavities though lol.

Great details of the plants around the lake. Beautiful!