Wednesday Walk - Whiteout and Abstract Art

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

Looks like winter finally hit for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay
142654_copy.jpg
The snow finally hit here and I happened to be out in an arboretum to catch the whiteout.

142536_copy.jpg
I love how it changes the mood of the scenery instantly.

snowpano.jpg
Here the snow was really coming down, most of it was still trying to stick at this point.

snowpano3_copy.jpg
The paths around the arboretum started filling up with snow. This is the preferable type of snow to walk in while it is still fluffy. Once it melts a bit then freezes again it is impossible to walk on and you inevitably slip around and fall.

snowpano2_copy.jpg
Now the snow has stopped falling a bit to reveal all the dusted trees off in the distance. It reminds me of a pencil drawing.

snowpano4_copy.jpg
This one has a bit of depth of field almost like a fog.

snowpano1_copy.jpg
I got this panorama as I left the arboretum. I decided to play around with this photo and create some monochrome artwork with it.

snowpano5_copy.jpg
Here is the result of the photoshopping. I did some distortion effects on it and different layer multipliers to create a dimensional ball looking thing with slices in it. Maybe it could become the cover art for some electronic music album.

That's all for now happy #wednesdaywalk :-)

Sort:  

A winter wonderland so beautiful and I agree walking when the snow is soft and fluffy is best later it can be so icy and treacherous to walk on

Love that creative edit

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I need to get some new yak tracks to put on the bottom of my shoes. They work pretty well unless its super slippery ice.

I had some shoe spikes when I worked in the field in Bosnia I guess they must be somewhat like yak tracks they came in handy at times

wow, very cool! I do like a good white out in photography!

It would be interesting to catch this type of whiteout in an old downtown area in a smaller town.

We actually live near the local university, and when these conditions are in play here in the morning and the stadium's lights are on, the look is pretty cool. It's tough to get it photographed though, but the scene is always fantastic on the morning dog walks.

I bet the stadium looks like a landed ufo in the snow with its lights on.

Oh yeah, it's pretty cool

I am very impressed with your work. And you also wrote it very well . Thank you for sharing

Thanks for reading :-)

You're welcome

very cold, great snow, what month does the snow usually end.

Sometimes it goes all they way to May but usually end of March.

It's been a long time, yes, where I don't have snow. what time is it in your area now.

Your walk looks similar to my wintery walk, where the trees are covered with snow.
Beautiful scenery. Walking in the soft, fluffy snow is actually pretty fun.
We on the other hand had the frozen snow, which makes it impossible to walk on.

Somehow your trees are still green and had snow on them.