A Wednesday Morning Walk with Puddles

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

tree_puddle_copyrightrosannedubbeld2.JPEG

Puddle 1 - Wednesday October 28th


An important step in my 'road to better health' is trying to move more. My therapist doesn't want/need me to do heavy sports - just get up from the couch every 30 minutes or at most every hour, and try to do a 5 minute walk each morning.

This step in my treatment arrived after some other processes in my body have gotten better - mostly sleep and stress and even pain levels - and now it's time to trigger the Mitochondria in my body by challenging them - little bits at a time.

It took a while before I was up to walk each morning as I've been sedentary for so long now. First it was because I was actively in rehabilitation, then it was because I wanted to 'save up' steps for bigger activities planned later in the week, then it was a plain depression that kept me from being active.

And now? Now I almost whistle when I go outside for my short walk each morning. Mind you, this is an activity of 8 minutes only. But I'm doing more and more things that count up over the day: I cook 2 bigger meals a day (I need loads of protein so recovery processes in my body will be supported), which means about 2 hours of doing things standing, something that I simply couldn't do even 6 months ago. My feet would sort of 'give up' after standing for too long. But I've clearly been able to train them.

Next to that, the 'seating breaks', which are extra little movements spread over the day.

It's a lot compared to what I was able to do a few months ago. And I'm proud of it :-) It also means I have some actual Wednesday Walk Footage from this morning: two lovely puddles showed themselves during my 8-minute walk. It's actually a challenge to find something to take pictures of a walk that short and that repetitive, because this is the exact walk I've been doing for weeks now. But I'm going to try and keep seeing new things even on this short route and possible share them with you all on Wednesdays.

Until my walks get longer and more exciting... ;-)

puddleslittletreecopyrightrosannedubbeld.jpeg

Puddle 2 - Wednesday October 28th


Look at that lovely bright red tree trying to scream for attention amidst all the green... That one won't be having leafs anymore in a week time.

Sort:  

Glad to see that you're on your way to total recovery, that picture must have been taken off an iPhone right? 8 minutes is not to bad considering it entails a walk that allows you just see the air, breathe take pictures by all means.
Hopefully you'll be involved with a whole lot more soon. Do take care my friend, all the best

Yes, these are taken on my iPhone of 7 years old :D I'm planning on upgrading next month to the most recent one as this one is definitely too slow, the camera is clearly behind a few years as they improved a lot lately, and also I cracked my screen so now it's even more horrible and not worth the money to replace the screen anymore :')

So hopefully I will have better phone shots soonish.

And thanks - yes, it's a luxury, even though I live in the second biggest city of my country right behind where I live is a stretch of green that I can enjoy - seeing trees and grass is good for the mind. Thanks for your support :-)

Ohhh I'll kill for even iPhone 6 lol, so stunning, I guess the images didn't come out too good on your phone because of the crack? Yeah you're right, iPhone has improved a lot recently and the prices are like out if this world
Yeah I guess taking that walk is good for the mind, it seems quite Peaceful and calm and the scenery is lovely.

I am glad you are on your way to recovery. WOW... can you imagine what 15 minutes if walk can do, seeing what 8 minutes produces... beautiful puddle photos, particularly the last one!

Ik heb wat van je geleerd. Zelfs een plas op de weg kan mooi zijn !

Absoluut waar! Ik heb een hele serie van dit soort foto's. Ik geniet altijd als ik een mooie zie - waar de plas en een mooi onderwerp bij elkaar komen voor een shot :-)

I was expecting a walk with your new poodle puppy, called Puddles.
2020 continues to disappoint.

I'm so glad you're seeing progress in your recovery. It takes so long and is so disheartening... but the fact that you know the difference within 6 months is so great! Hope you see progress because, well, we need more pics.

Getting out is so great for your body and mind. Yay for progress!!

Hello dear friend @soyrosa good afternoon
It is good that you are starting to walk slowly, it is better that you start with small sections, especially because you have not been doing it for a long time. Happy to hear an improvement.
Take care dear friend
Have a wonderful trade

That's such good news, I'm really glad you are walking. That seems to me to be one of those fancy feedback loops-the more you walk the better you feel and the more you want to walk.

Not that I'm not plenty heavy now, but several years ago my weight was over the moon. I went on a diet and started walking. Not far, but started. That was in the days before step counting apps so I counted 250 from my house and turned around. Every day for a week I turned right there, then on Monday I'd count 50 more steps for the new turn around. Little bits at a time has worked for me.

I've gotten the Apple SE. It's the budget phone (not cheap, but less than 1/2 the price of an 11). It's the same processor as the 11 and has a camera that is significantly upgraded from the X. I like it a lot. It's mostly software upgrades, a lot better camera in the 11 or 12. But it takes pretty good pictures of Sam.

Once we start to look close at our environment things will pop out, like that tree dressed in fall colors reflecting in the puddle. I am guessing that mushroom season is almost over there, like it is here, but there will be other things to see. I hope the healing continues along at a good pace for you.

Absolutely stellar. Not just the walk - the fact I get two posts from you this week? Will wonders not ever cease? I'm so excited for you. Those 8 minutes must be so miraculous and beautiful, as your photos attest.

You are quite literally taking small steps - but I adore how positive they are, how hopeful!

Lovely news and lovely pictures! I am truly so, so happy for you!!!
One step at a time can get you to the moon :)