Wednesday Walk before the rain

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

PXL_20220709_132900691.jpg

The sun was shining brightly outside, but the weather forecast promised rain, rain and rain again. I decided to take a short walk around the central part of the city: along the Neva River embankment, Alexander Gardens - and beyond, depending on the weather. If it started to rain, I would walk to one of the bus stops nearby and go home.

PXL_20220709_125916682.jpg

I started my walk on Konnogvardeyskiy boulevard. You can see from this photo that it really was a sunny morning. If I hadn't read the weather forecast, I could have been in a tricky situation.

PXL_20220709_130655510.jpg

The weather began to change when I reached the end of the boulevard. I turned toward the Neva River and watched the blue sky quickly become covered in a pall of clouds. The building on the left is the Senate and Synod building. Two young artists are painting a view of St Isaac's Cathedral. Hopefully they had time to finish their drawings before the rain started.

PXL_20220709_130751428.jpg

PXL_20220709_131123884.jpg

Although the sky on the river side was covered with clouds almost entirely, on the other side the sky was still blue with occasional white clouds. People were lounging on the lawns of the Alexander Gardens, strolling through the alleys, admiring the flowers. The darkening horizon didn't seem to bother anyone.

PXL_20220709_131530159.jpg

PXL_20220709_131424851.jpg

I reached the Neva River embankment and saw the swirling clouds and the wall of rain approaching from the bay. The rain was still quite far away and I decided to walk along the embankment until it caught up with me.

PXL_20220709_131703945.jpg

The promenade widens at this point and the café took advantage of the free space to set up the tables of the summer terrace. Binoculars allow you to take a closer look at the waterfront views. A seagull has taken over the observation deck on the top edge of the binoculars. It was the seagull I wanted to photograph, but I couldn't get closer: the seagull started to worry and flew away.

PXL_20220709_131913468.jpg

There's always a lot of people wanting to take pictures near the monument to the Carpenter Tsar. This monument is not as solemn as other monuments to Emperor Peter the Great, and you can choose a place for a photo not at the foot of the pedestal, but next to the figure of the emperor.

PXL_20220709_132229642.jpg

PXL_20220709_132733912.jpg

PXL_20220709_132941479.jpg

I kept walking along the embankment and the clouds gradually caught up with me. The blue sky and bright sun were just a memory, and I decided it was time to call it a day.

PXL_20220709_133744694.jpg

PXL_20220709_133912381.jpg

PXL_20220709_134052830.jpg

I swerved onto the embankment of the Winter Canal, toward the bus stop. As it turned out, my timing was perfect: I had barely made it to the bus stop pavilion before it started to rain.

PXL_20220709_140653074.jpg

SmartphoneGoogle Pixel 3a
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia

This is my entry for the #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay and for the #MakeMeSmile challenge by @elizacheng.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wow! amazing skies. good to see so many people enjoying the sights, I am so looking forward to when I can return to your wonderful country.

Thank you very much! I hope it happens soon!

yes, me too !!!

isnt it amazing how the weather can turn so quickly, a beautiful walk and good timing to get tothe bus stop just before the rain

can you send some rain our way :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I'd send you some cool rain with joy:) Thank you so much!

Thanks :)

Cheers

Beautiful to see the weather change from sunny to cloudy all the way to rain @tatdt 😁
Great walk, we saw a lot around us. The park. The river and all the buildings. Stunning.
Luckily you timed it so well that you reached the bus stop with the start of the rain.
Thanks for sharing!
Have a wonderful day today 👋🏻☀️

Those multi-storey clouds and the hoards of rain in the distance looked so majestic! Thank you so much @littlebee4 Have a nice evening!

Yes, beautiful @tatdt 🥰
You are welcome, thank you so much 😁👋🏻

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tatdt.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1623.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much!

The city looks so stunning! I love the vibes!
And it's so clean!

Thank you very much!