Wednesday Walk on a spring evening along the Fontanka River

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

IMG_20210401_173224.jpg

I live in a northern city and the first sign of spring is not the green grass, the first flowers, the buds blooming on the trees - no, not at all. The first sign of our spring is long days and bright evenings. Spring is a time when you don't have to rush home to hide from the darkness and cold. Instead, you can go for a walk.

IMG_20210401_173607.jpg

IMG_20210401_173653.jpg

Today I walked along one of my usual routes. I went out to the Fontanka embankment and walked toward the Kryukov Canal. The weather was sunny and the sky was blue, but it was still pretty cold. The people I photographed were wearing not only jackets, but also warm hats.

IMG_20210401_173724.jpg

I took my time strolling around and looking at the houses I passed by. The Fontanka River embankment in this place is built up with tenement houses, such construction is typical for the second half of the 19th century.

IMG_20210401_173752.jpg

Interesting details were encountered quite often. For example, unknown biology creatures decorating the balcony. I stopped to take a close-up picture of them.

IMG_20210401_173739.jpg

IMG_20210401_174016.jpg

In this house lived the great Russian poet Alexander Pushkin. In his time, the surrounding landscape was quite different from today's. There was definitely no asphalt on the roadway, and I'm not even sure if the street was paved in any way. Many of the houses around were wooden rather than stone.

IMG_20210401_174604.jpg

IMG_20210401_174706.jpg

I approach the descent to the water. In Pushkin's time, barges loaded with firewood were probably moored here. Now there is just a wide expanse of clear water ahead. There is a sign with the text "It is prohibited to cross the ice" attached to the granite pedestal. There is so little ice left on the river that even a pigeon would not be able to cross it on the ice floes. But some other rivers are not yet completely clear of ice.

IMG_20210401_180116.jpg

It's starting to get dark, and I'm about to finish my walk. At the end I reach the St. Nicholas Maritime Cathedral, and take some pictures of the cathedral, the bell tower, and the service cabins.

IMG_20210401_181531.jpg

IMG_20210401_181919.jpg

IMG_20210401_181518.jpg

IMG_20210401_181614.jpg

SmartphoneXiaomi Redmi 3
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia
DateMarch 2021

This is my entry for the #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay and for the #MakeMeSmile challenge by @elizacheng.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It looks nice to live with windows facing the river, a good view. Weather is warming up here in America as well, feels nice to finally talk a walk and not be cold!

Yes, it's very nice to go for a walk in the spring, it's a lot of fun!

The two roads diverging in the first photo reminds me of the poem "The road not taken" by Robert Frost.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

The buildings a concrete forest, casting shadows over the road.

A tourist wishing he could explore both, yet not having the time to do so.

Loading...

Прекрасная прогулка! ЗамечательнО!

Спасибо!